Community discussions

 
upower3
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 11:46 am

CRS317-1G-16S+RM as 10G core switch (no features needed but VLANs)

Fri Jul 05, 2019 4:11 pm

I'm looking for some 10G switch to connect several 1G switches (that's my access level) over SPF+ copper links. Looks like CRS317-1G-16S+RM is something that fits well, but I got almost no recommendations for it.

So I want to ask you, if you have any experience with this switch, and, moreover, have negative experience? The network is kind of very simple, so getting $1000+ core switch is a bit complicated for budget.

Please share what you think!
 
vgdorneles
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 4:27 pm

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM as 10G core switch (no features needed but VLANs)

Sat Jul 06, 2019 7:40 am

CRS317-1G-16S+RM is a great switch. I have 4 on the network running perfectly.

Just not a perfect switch, why does not do MPLS on the switch chip.
 
upower3
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 11:46 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM as 10G core switch (no features needed but VLANs)

Sat Jul 06, 2019 7:53 am

The consern is i need to connect it to other equipment over copper sfp+, and really worry will it be comparable. No point in optical links, too close.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2569
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM as 10G core switch (no features needed but VLANs)

Sat Jul 06, 2019 4:03 pm

The consern is i need to connect it to other equipment over copper sfp+, and really worry will it be comparable. No point in optical links, too close.

Why no point in optical links? With optical patch cord (can even be only a metre long) you can select different types of SFP/SFP+ modules on each end to get better compatibility with each switch, those SFPs usually consume less power and are cheaper. The only drawback is patch cord fragility and possibility to contaminate optical connectors, OTOH DAC cables are quite thick and thus hard to organize.

Not to forget that data travelling speed is higher with optics, so you can gain a nanosecond or two in round-trip-time when using optics :mrgreen:
BR,
Metod
 
upower3
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 11:46 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM as 10G core switch (no features needed but VLANs)

Sat Jul 06, 2019 4:13 pm

But optical sfp+ modules are quite expensive on some of our existing equipment and it is out of our budget so far. This is the reason, sad to say.

I can see problems of copper links incomparable on one end, this is the risk, yes.

Btw, will this switch be able to handle broadcast storms in hardware?
 
User avatar
kosyot
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 1:28 pm
Contact:

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM as 10G core switch (no features needed but VLANs)

Sat Jul 06, 2019 6:21 pm

1. Optical modules now it’s very affordable https://www.fs.com/products/11552.html
2. More stable and without any limitations (for example 1500 MTU on S+RJ10 and other)
3. On my opinion S+RJ10 has a lot other problems - overheating, length and type of cable, cooper connector on front and etc.

We use many CRS317 on backbones, data centers and clients with big external storages. Handle without problem heavy traffic > 100Gbps and hundreds of VLANs.

Recommendation:
Use SwOS 2.7 and not upgrade it till MikroTik fix all known bugs. Before use it update to latest available RouterOS and upgrade firmware too, after that switch it to SwOS. (That fix FANs firmware on switch).
If you plan to use RouterOS for switching be sure that you know how to do it (double check the manuals) and there is known bug with port flapping on 10G links with CRS328 and TX/RX pauses with other MikroTik switches with 10G ports.

Cheers
 
vgdorneles
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 4:27 pm

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM as 10G core switch (no features needed but VLANs)

Mon Jul 08, 2019 10:51 pm

I use copper attaching cable. They are cheap and reliable. I've never had a problem with anyone.

But they only serve if they go to the same rack.
 
upower3
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 11:46 am

Re: CRS317-1G-16S+RM as 10G core switch (no features needed but VLANs)

Mon Jul 08, 2019 10:58 pm

I use copper attaching cable. They are cheap and reliable. I've never had a problem with anyone.

But they only serve if they go to the same rack.
This is my case. I need to interconnect several servers within the same rack (so optics looks a bit overkill), or several 1G switches with SFP+ uplink ports. Both cases won't requre too much from interconnect switch, but simple pass packets and allowance for monitoring.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests