Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
toxicfusion
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:02 pm

PowerBox Pro Poe Input

Tue Jul 09, 2019 5:21 pm

Hello,

Question - looking at documentation and datasheet. Can anyone confirm or deny if the PowerBox Pro can be Powered UP by 802.3af POE input?

Looking to power up the Powerbox Pro with POE 802.3af input, and have it output the same voltage as applied to downstream devices attached to it. Otherwise, Will need to plan accordingly or use an upstream Netonix switch and set appropriate output voltage.

Curious if I was to apply 57v 802af to the powerbox Pro, would it by default output that on the ports, or can I power up a 48v phone or POE camera off it? (have it auto detect power needs). This would be similar to Netonix ability.
 
User avatar
krafg
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 672
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 7:36 pm

Re: PowerBox Pro Poe Input

Tue Jul 09, 2019 9:48 pm

Apparently it only says that only supports passive PoE. I have it, but I haven't a PoE switch that uses the IEEE 802.3 af/at to test it.

Regards.
If you want to know my network, you can find it here.

Image
 
newranman
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:53 pm

Re: PowerBox Pro Poe Input

Fri Sep 06, 2019 10:05 am

It works fine. Tested with Cisco SG-200 P models. It’s better to get the Mikrotik 48v adapter though, it has higher output if you will be using multiple ports.
 
toxicfusion
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 6:02 pm

Re: PowerBox Pro Poe Input

Sat Aug 22, 2020 6:40 am

It works fine. Tested with Cisco SG-200 P models. It’s better to get the Mikrotik 48v adapter though, it has higher output if you will be using multiple ports.
I’m just getting to this and was able to deploy this to the site. 1year after...

Ironically, this site Also uses that same Cisco SG200-P as you have and I’m able to power the PowerBox Pro with its 802af input on ether1.

However does not seem stable and started flapping. I feel I need to use 24v passive or swap to a MikroTik CRS Switch that does 802af/at as well as Passive.

What is your experience ?
 
Elans
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 12:41 pm

Re: PowerBox Pro Poe Input

Mon Aug 24, 2020 7:02 am

@toxicfusion
As stated in PowerBox Pro description: Ethernet ports 2-5 can power other PoE capable devices with the same voltage as applied to the unit. PoE-in supports passive PoE, however, if you find a PSE device which supports 802.3af/at on poe-out and PowerBox Pro powers from it - it is nothing harmful and you can use it.

Other options with more PoE-out ports:
https://mikrotik.com/product/crs112_8p_4s_in
https://mikrotik.com/product/netpower_16p
https://mikrotik.com/product/crs328_24p_4s_rm
https://mikrotik.com/product/crs354_48p_4s_2q_rm

Note that CRS112-8P-4S-IN and netPower 16P devices does not have onboard voltage converter.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests