Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
mikruser
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:28 pm

GPeR question

Mon Jul 29, 2019 12:20 pm

Hello,
1) at what OSI layer this device work? at L1 like hub, or at L2 like switch?
2) what delay does this device add?
3) why distance is limited to 1500 m?
do not ask me why it is necessary.
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1391
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: GPeR question

Mon Jul 29, 2019 4:02 pm

1) at what OSI layer this device work? at L1 like hub, or at L2 like switch?
Does that really matter for a two-port device?

3) why distance is limited to 1500 m?
That's because of the power drop. Check the official brochure for the details. You can build a link up to 3000m long if you provide power from both ends of the link (you will also need to adjust jumpers on GPeR devices in the center of the link).
 
mikruser
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:28 pm

Re: GPeR question

Mon Jul 29, 2019 10:31 pm

1) Of course it matters (and two port has nothing to do with it)
2) ???
3) Ok
do not ask me why it is necessary.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5043
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: GPeR question

Mon Jul 29, 2019 11:16 pm

1) Of course it matters (and two port has nothing to do with it)
Really ... what's the big difference between 2-port ethernet hub and 2-port ethernet switch?
And yes, port count has everything to do with it.

Instead of forwarding frame to the other port because forwarding table (MAC address list) of the second port contains the destination MAC (or sending it to all one port other than ingress if dst-MAC address is not there) ... the hub just forwards the fscking frame to the other port. Without adding a microsecond delay needed to consult forwarding table.
The only case I can think of where the MAC table would be handy is if there was some switching problem elsewhere (so that GPeR would receife frame through one port and its own forwarding table said dst-MAC was accessible through ingress port ... so that switch would reject to forward such a frame. But then, is this duty of a range extender?
BR,
Metod
 
msatter
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1979
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:56 am
Location: Netherlands / Nīderlande

Re: GPeR question

Mon Jul 29, 2019 11:25 pm

Look at it as a media converter. It only put out what came in and the other way and amplify the voltage to make the next leg of the cable.

Is a delay a big criteria? Before then it even never arrived.
One RB4011 (cooled) and a RB760iGS (hEX S) in series. The 4011 Does PPPoE/IKEv2.
The cooler: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=138613&start=300#p799879
Running:
RouterOS 6.48beta58 / Winbox 3.27 64bits / MikroTik APP 1.3.15
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24751
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: GPeR question

Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:57 am

The GPER is a passive device that connects wires together, you can call it Layer1. This is not really a hub.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Guntis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:40 pm

Re: GPeR question

Tue Jul 30, 2019 1:58 pm

Regarding second question, GPeR doesn't add any noticeable delay, for example, at 1500m you have 0ms ping response time and you still can push 1Gbps.
 
mikruser
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:28 pm

Re: GPeR question

Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:39 pm

If GPER is just a passive device that connects wires together, then the price is perplexing (50% of Raspberry Pi 4 computer)
do not ask me why it is necessary.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24751
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: GPeR question

Thu Aug 01, 2019 1:17 pm

Can you name any other alternatives that allows to extend ethernet cable, without sacrificing PoE?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5043
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: GPeR question

Thu Aug 01, 2019 3:10 pm

I can see a communication noise happening around here. How about MT guys writing a few lines of technical description about GPeR ... what is it, how it works. Doesn't really have to disclose some patented technology ... I guess it's about a fairly simple (electrical) signal shaper with some DC bypass (to allow PoE to pass), but still far more complex than a RJ45 coupler ...
BR,
Metod
 
User avatar
sebastia
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1797
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:23 am
Location: Antwerp, BE

Re: GPeR question

Thu Aug 01, 2019 11:39 pm

It's an active device, product page mentions it already = Gigabit Passive Ethernet Repeater. repeater = 2-ports switch => datagram receiver and re-transmit.
I don't see how this would introduce noise.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24751
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: GPeR question

Fri Aug 02, 2019 4:14 pm

Yes, there is a basic switch chip inside.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
mikruser
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:28 pm

Re: GPeR question

Sun Aug 04, 2019 7:41 pm

normis
Tue Jul 30, 2019 9:57 am
The GPER is a passive device that connects wires together, you can call it Layer1. This is not really a hub.

normis
Fri Aug 02, 2019 3:14 pm
Yes, there is a basic switch chip inside.


Two completely different answers.
You are Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde??
do not ask me why it is necessary.
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1391
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: GPeR question

Sun Aug 04, 2019 7:58 pm

Well, take it this way. Mikrotik is marketing this as "passive" since they are trying to compete with various passive optical solutions here. The whole GPEN product line is just about that. But technically, none of the products in this line are really passive, IMO.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24751
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: GPeR question

Wed Aug 07, 2019 9:28 am

Sorry about confusion. I meant to say that it's not a smart device, no software. Also, yes, "passive" is a bit confusing, as it does need the PoE power in to function. There is no delay though.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
rsaf
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 1:37 am

Re: GPeR question

Mon Sep 16, 2019 6:26 pm

Why you're lying to us?
There is Marvell 88E6341 (6port) switch inside so it's not repeater, it's 2-port switch. And it's using store&forward so it add some delay (like any other switch).
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1772
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: GPeR question

Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:54 pm

Why you're lying to us?
There is Marvell 88E6341 (6port) switch inside so it's not repeater, it's 2-port switch. And it's using store&forward so it add some delay (like any other switch).
going back to the basics of networks:

what is a hub? is a multiport repeater, because that it can only work in half duplex, for obvious reasons

its a fact you can't do repeating in a full duplex gigabit ethernet segment, you have to do switching

i think its obvious gper is a switch because of the extended reach only achievable electrically regenerating the signal

this topic has become a very Byzantine discussion

a lot of questioning and criticisms for a 15 USD device you have not tried

i have tried it and works well, its a very useful and innovative device, its a matter of time to see it allow diverse and innovative solutions and designs

with the new GPeR IP67 Case, the possibilities are endless !!!

i think Mikrotik do a Good job whit this kind of disruptive devices, maybe too disruptive to be properly understood by some people
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24751
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: GPeR question

Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:14 am

Who is lying to whom?

Passive means it is without configuration interface, just plug in and use it. There is no GUI to control it, it just works.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1127
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: GPeR question

Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:59 am

Hello,
1) at what OSI layer this device work? at L1 like hub, or at L2 like switch?
2) what delay does this device add?
3) why distance is limited to 1500 m?
1) L2 although think of it more like L1.
2) None
3) Voltage droop

It's actually incredible that the device is on the market. The closest I have seen to this is a Veracity Outreach extender which is often more than 10 times the price.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials
 
ik3umt
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 3:58 pm

Re: GPeR question

Wed Oct 30, 2019 7:20 pm

Who is lying to whom?

Passive means it is without configuration interface, just plug in and use it. There is no GUI to control it, it just works.
I think the misunderstanding is because "Passive" is referred usually to a device that DOESN'T require power to be supplied....
 
marekm
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:27 pm

Re: GPeR question

Wed Oct 30, 2019 8:04 pm

Good to know what the GPER really is - it was a valid question, and should be clearly answered in the documentation.
Actually it is possible to make a repeater without a switch chip, by connecting two PHY chips back-to-back.

https://e2e.ti.com/support/interface/f/138/t/675991

There is still some delay as the PHY chips have internal FIFOs to handle small differences between asynchronous clocks at both ends, but much less than whole frame time.
It is true that we are talking microseconds where which can be ignored in most cases, but these microseconds add up and could still make a difference in some special applications.
 
kiwistag
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 12:53 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: GPeR question

Mon Mar 30, 2020 6:45 am

On the specs page for power it seems very odd and I suspect it's wrong!
https://mikrotik.com/product/gper
Max out per port output (input < 30 V) 0.7 A
Max out per port output (input > 30 V) 2 A

So at 48V it allows 2A to pass through, yet at 24V it only allows 700mA through??!!

Regards,
Bevan
 
askasd
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2020 12:55 pm

GPeR question

Wed Sep 30, 2020 1:11 pm

Hi I am having a problem with gper here is my setup
Modem/router --) poe(46v 1a) --1m--) gper1 --90m--) gper2 --90m--)gper3--70m--) ubiquity switch.
My problem is that in number 2gper everything is fine good speed no data loss while in gper number 3i have disconnections and when I ping my router I have data loss and when I connect to the switch at the end everything is very slow and I have bad speed lots of disconnections and it's almost impossible to use the internet my cable is cat6 they are brand new and I changed them again to be sure. Also I have tested the gpers by plugging a laptop at every end. I first used a 46v 0,5a poe and then I changed it to what I have now. Please someone help me am I doing something wrong or do I need to do something else;
 
ggrifoni
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 6:15 pm

Re: GPeR question

Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:00 pm

Did you solve? I need to install similar layout and I have bought several repeaters. Testing with 50 m we have problems, but may be because cable is partially rolled up. Same cable is working well connecting a switch (and my laptop to switch) to router/modem.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 64 guests