Community discussions

 
mikruser
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:28 pm

GPeR question

Mon Jul 29, 2019 12:20 pm

Hello,
1) at what OSI layer this device work? at L1 like hub, or at L2 like switch?
2) what delay does this device add?
3) why distance is limited to 1500 m?
do not ask me why it is necessary.
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1177
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: GPeR question

Mon Jul 29, 2019 4:02 pm

1) at what OSI layer this device work? at L1 like hub, or at L2 like switch?
Does that really matter for a two-port device?

3) why distance is limited to 1500 m?
That's because of the power drop. Check the official brochure for the details. You can build a link up to 3000m long if you provide power from both ends of the link (you will also need to adjust jumpers on GPeR devices in the center of the link).
 
mikruser
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:28 pm

Re: GPeR question

Mon Jul 29, 2019 10:31 pm

1) Of course it matters (and two port has nothing to do with it)
2) ???
3) Ok
do not ask me why it is necessary.
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2910
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: GPeR question

Mon Jul 29, 2019 11:16 pm

1) Of course it matters (and two port has nothing to do with it)
Really ... what's the big difference between 2-port ethernet hub and 2-port ethernet switch?
And yes, port count has everything to do with it.

Instead of forwarding frame to the other port because forwarding table (MAC address list) of the second port contains the destination MAC (or sending it to all one port other than ingress if dst-MAC address is not there) ... the hub just forwards the fscking frame to the other port. Without adding a microsecond delay needed to consult forwarding table.
The only case I can think of where the MAC table would be handy is if there was some switching problem elsewhere (so that GPeR would receife frame through one port and its own forwarding table said dst-MAC was accessible through ingress port ... so that switch would reject to forward such a frame. But then, is this duty of a range extender?
BR,
Metod
 
msatter
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1219
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:56 am
Location: Netherlands / Nīderlande

Re: GPeR question

Mon Jul 29, 2019 11:25 pm

Look at it as a media converter. It only put out what came in and the other way and amplify the voltage to make the next leg of the cable.

Is a delay a big criteria? Before then it even never arrived.
Two RB760iGS (hEX S) in series. One does PPPoE and both do IKEv2.
Running:
RouterOS 6.46Beta / Winbox 3.19 / MikroTik APP 1.3.4
Having an Android device, use https://github.com/M66B/NetGuard/releases (no root required)
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24186
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: GPeR question

Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:57 am

The GPER is a passive device that connects wires together, you can call it Layer1. This is not really a hub.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Guntis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 1:40 pm

Re: GPeR question

Tue Jul 30, 2019 1:58 pm

Regarding second question, GPeR doesn't add any noticeable delay, for example, at 1500m you have 0ms ping response time and you still can push 1Gbps.
 
mikruser
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:28 pm

Re: GPeR question

Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:39 pm

If GPER is just a passive device that connects wires together, then the price is perplexing (50% of Raspberry Pi 4 computer)
do not ask me why it is necessary.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24186
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: GPeR question

Thu Aug 01, 2019 1:17 pm

Can you name any other alternatives that allows to extend ethernet cable, without sacrificing PoE?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2910
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: GPeR question

Thu Aug 01, 2019 3:10 pm

I can see a communication noise happening around here. How about MT guys writing a few lines of technical description about GPeR ... what is it, how it works. Doesn't really have to disclose some patented technology ... I guess it's about a fairly simple (electrical) signal shaper with some DC bypass (to allow PoE to pass), but still far more complex than a RJ45 coupler ...
BR,
Metod
 
User avatar
sebastia
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1776
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 3:23 am
Location: Antwerp, BE

Re: GPeR question

Thu Aug 01, 2019 11:39 pm

It's an active device, product page mentions it already = Gigabit Passive Ethernet Repeater. repeater = 2-ports switch => datagram receiver and re-transmit.
I don't see how this would introduce noise.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24186
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: GPeR question

Fri Aug 02, 2019 4:14 pm

Yes, there is a basic switch chip inside.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
mikruser
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:28 pm

Re: GPeR question

Sun Aug 04, 2019 7:41 pm

normis
Tue Jul 30, 2019 9:57 am
The GPER is a passive device that connects wires together, you can call it Layer1. This is not really a hub.

normis
Fri Aug 02, 2019 3:14 pm
Yes, there is a basic switch chip inside.


Two completely different answers.
You are Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde??
do not ask me why it is necessary.
 
andriys
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1177
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:59 pm
Location: Kharkiv, Ukraine

Re: GPeR question

Sun Aug 04, 2019 7:58 pm

Well, take it this way. Mikrotik is marketing this as "passive" since they are trying to compete with various passive optical solutions here. The whole GPEN product line is just about that. But technically, none of the products in this line are really passive, IMO.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24186
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: GPeR question

Wed Aug 07, 2019 9:28 am

Sorry about confusion. I meant to say that it's not a smart device, no software. Also, yes, "passive" is a bit confusing, as it does need the PoE power in to function. There is no delay though.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
rsaf
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 1:37 am

Re: GPeR question

Mon Sep 16, 2019 6:26 pm

Why you're lying to us?
There is Marvell 88E6341 (6port) switch inside so it's not repeater, it's 2-port switch. And it's using store&forward so it add some delay (like any other switch).
 
User avatar
chechito
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1736
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 3:14 am
Location: Bogota Colombia
Contact:

Re: GPeR question

Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:54 pm

Why you're lying to us?
There is Marvell 88E6341 (6port) switch inside so it's not repeater, it's 2-port switch. And it's using store&forward so it add some delay (like any other switch).
going back to the basics of networks:

what is a hub? is a multiport repeater, because that it can only work in half duplex, for obvious reasons

its a fact you can't do repeating in a full duplex gigabit ethernet segment, you have to do switching

i think its obvious gper is a switch because of the extended reach only achievable electrically regenerating the signal

this topic has become a very Byzantine discussion

a lot of questioning and criticisms for a 15 USD device you have not tried

i have tried it and works well, its a very useful and innovative device, its a matter of time to see it allow diverse and innovative solutions and designs

with the new GPeR IP67 Case, the possibilities are endless !!!

i think Mikrotik do a Good job whit this kind of disruptive devices, maybe too disruptive to be properly understood by some people
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24186
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: GPeR question

Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:14 am

Who is lying to whom?

Passive means it is without configuration interface, just plug in and use it. There is no GUI to control it, it just works.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Steveocee
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1108
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: GPeR question

Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:59 am

Hello,
1) at what OSI layer this device work? at L1 like hub, or at L2 like switch?
2) what delay does this device add?
3) why distance is limited to 1500 m?
1) L2 although think of it more like L1.
2) None
3) Voltage droop

It's actually incredible that the device is on the market. The closest I have seen to this is a Veracity Outreach extender which is often more than 10 times the price.
Steve "Steveocee" Carter
PC Gamer, Airsofter, MikroTik Nerd
My Website - My MikroTik Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests