Page 1 of 1

CRS326-24S+2Q+RM Question

Posted: Thu Aug 15, 2019 8:26 pm
by smccloud
Hello,

I'm in the planning stages of a core network upgrade at work and as part of that, we are looking to replace our ProCurve Switch 2824 (J4903A), which is currently configured to route all traffic between our subnets. I have a couple of questions about the CRS326-24S+2Q+RM.
  • Can it be used to route traffic between subnets without a performance penalty?
  • Can it use SFP to RJ-45 transceivers like these to provide connectivity to our older equipment that does not have an SFP port at all?
  • Can it use 1G SFP transceivers to provide connectivity to older equipment that is not 10G capable?

Re: CRS326-24S+2Q+RM Question

Posted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 12:13 am
by emunt6
Hi!

The "CRS326-24S+2Q+RM" is an L2 switch.
Do not consider as an L3 routing core - CPU resurces is not enough - you will end up serious lags/packet drops.

Re: CRS326-24S+2Q+RM Question

Posted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 8:36 am
by Guntis
CRS326-24S+2Q+RM is meant to be used primarily as a switch. You can use 1000Base-T transceivers, we have our own as well - S-Rj01 and S+Rj10. And you can also use SFP modules in SFP+ cages, you will just have to disable auto-negotiation on the port and set the speed manually to 1Gbps.

Re: CRS326-24S+2Q+RM Question

Posted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 3:09 pm
by smccloud
Ok, I will look at other options for a core switch then.