Page 1 of 1

PowerBox Pro not powering with POE in

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:47 pm
by patrickmkt
I just received a new PowerBox Pro this morning. I can power it through the power jack without problem, however, when I plug eth1 into a POE switch (even with a short cable), the Powerbox Pro does not power on.
Is there a hidden setting somewhere that I need to change to accept 802.3af for POE in?
Or did I get a faulty unit?

Re: PowerBox Pro not powering with POE in

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:54 pm
by normis
Your switch is most likely not Passive PoE, but 802.3af/at. This device must receive Passive PoE:

PoE in Passive PoE
PoE in input Voltage 12-57 V

Re: PowerBox Pro not powering with POE in

Posted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:24 pm
by patrickmkt
Then you would need to revise the brochure as it is clearly stated:
"It also supports passive or standard 802.3at/af PoE input/output."

That was for me the main interest of the Powerbox Pro compared to the standard one (in addition to the sfp).

Re: PowerBox Pro not powering with POE in

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 12:22 am
by krafg
I power on my PowerBox pro using Passive PoE IN (Power Supply + PoE Injector) and works OK. I no have any PoE switch to do the test.

Regards.