Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
blackbox100
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:20 am

CRS354 not full gigabit on ethernet ports

Thu Mar 26, 2020 11:52 am

Hi All, is anyone experiencing the same issue

when testing we only get around 800/800 on gigabit ports

it looks like the same issues, as when the crs326 first came out, it couldn't do gigabit either, not before after many beta releases?

why on earth does the new crs354 suffer the same problem, is it because its a MIPSBE processor, rather than the ARM Processor on the CRS326

please fix this soon, because I just bought 20 x CRS354 switches to implement, but for now can't use them, because they don't offer full gigabit connectivity on ether net ports?

sincerely

Carsten Larsen
Denmark
 
EdPa
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:05 am
Location: Riga
Contact:

Re: CRS354 not full gigabit on ethernet ports

Thu Mar 26, 2020 12:19 pm

Please describe in more detail how did you test the throughput on the switch - share some basic network diagram, the actual test results (as a screenshot or terminal output) and the CRS354 configuration export.
 
blackbox100
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:20 am

Re: CRS354 not full gigabit on ethernet ports

Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:37 pm

Hi Edpa

the basic network is this

CRS1036-8G-2S+ (10G internet connection) ---------> CRS317 Core Switch ---------> CRS354 (user switch)

All the devices are connected together by DAC Cables. and are linking with 10G

I have MacBook connected directly to the CRS354 and by doing a speedtest, I only reach about 711/744Mbps

See Screenshot

If I connect the MacBook to the following setup

CRS1036-8G-2S+ (10G internet connection) ---------> CRS317 Core Switch ---------> CRS326 (user switch)

I get speedtest of 940/940Mbps, this I reproduced several times, and I have about 300 x CRS326 in my network, so I´m well wandered in the switch.

I have about 6000 users, which all are connected to the CRS326 Switched, and no-one has trouble reaching speeds of around 950/950Mbps


The setup is the same, the only difference is the end user switch being either the CRS354 or the CRS326

here is the export of the CRS354, and I will post one for the CRS326 so compare

CRS354 Config

# mar/26/2020 14:27:36 by RouterOS 6.47beta49
# software id = 79G8-8TJW
#
# model = CRS354-48G-4S+2Q+
# serial number = B8450B60831D
/interface bridge
add fast-forward=no name=bridge1 protocol-mode=none vlan-filtering=yes
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether5 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether6 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether7 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether8 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether9 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether10 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether11 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether12 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether13 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether14 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether15 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether16 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether17 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether18 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether19 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether20 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether21 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether22 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether23 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether24 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether25 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether26 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether27 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether28 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether29 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether30 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether31 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether32 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether33 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether34 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether35 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether36 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether37 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether38 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether39 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether40 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether41 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether42 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether43 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether44 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether45 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether46 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether47 ] loop-protect=on
set [ find default-name=ether48 ] loop-protect=on
/interface vlan
add interface=bridge1 name=vlan10 vlan-id=10
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=flash/hotspot
/system logging action
add name=dude remote=192.168.23.5 target=remote
/user group
set full policy="local,telnet,ssh,ftp,reboot,read,write,policy,test,winbox,pas\
sword,web,sniff,sensitive,api,romon,dude,tikapp"
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether2 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether3 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether4 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether5 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether6 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether7 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether8 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether9 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether10 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether11 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether12 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether13 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether14 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether15 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether16 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether17 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether18 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether19 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether20 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether21 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether22 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether23 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether24 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether25 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether26 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether27 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether28 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether29 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether30 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether31 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether32 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether33 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether34 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether35 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether36 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether37 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether38 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether39 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether40 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether41 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether42 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether43 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether44 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether45 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether46 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether47 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether48 pvid=68
add bridge=bridge1 interface=sfp-sfpplus1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=sfp-sfpplus2
add bridge=bridge1 interface=sfp-sfpplus3
add bridge=bridge1 interface=sfp-sfpplus4
/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=bridge1 tagged=\
sfp-sfpplus1,sfp-sfpplus2,sfp-sfpplus3,sfp-sfpplus4,bridge1 vlan-ids=10
add bridge=bridge1 tagged=\
sfp-sfpplus1,sfp-sfpplus2,sfp-sfpplus3,sfp-sfpplus4,bridge1 vlan-ids=11
add bridge=bridge1 tagged=\
sfp-sfpplus1,sfp-sfpplus2,sfp-sfpplus3,sfp-sfpplus4,bridge1 vlan-ids=68
/ip address
add address=192.168.2.100/22 interface=vlan10 network=192.168.0.0
/ip dns
set servers=8.8.8.8
/ip route
add distance=1 gateway=192.168.0.1
/snmp
set contact="Carsten Larsen" enabled=yes location="Norgesgade 10"
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Europe/Copenhagen
/system identity
set name=CRS354-TEST
/system logging
add action=dude prefix=01NORG10 topics=critical
add action=dude prefix=01NORG10 topics=error
add action=dude prefix=01NORG10 topics=info,!interface
add action=dude prefix=01NORG10 topics=warning
/system ntp client
set enabled=yes primary-ntp=213.83.176.71
/system package update
set channel=testing
/system routerboard settings
set boot-os=router-os
#error exporting /system swos
/system watchdog
set ping-timeout=5m watch-address=192.168.23.1
/tool romon
set enabled=yes





CRS326 Config

# mar/26/2020 14:34:40 by RouterOS 6.45.3
# software id = WGZ2-2H8D
#
# model = CRS326-24G-2S+
# serial number = 94550BCB9106
/interface bridge
add fast-forward=no name=bridge1 protocol-mode=none vlan-filtering=yes
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether1 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=6h \
speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether2 ] loop-protect=on speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=6h \
speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=6h \
speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether5 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=6h \
speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether6 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=6h \
speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether7 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=6h \
speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether8 ] loop-protect=on speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether9 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=6h \
speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether10 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=\
6h speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether11 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=\
6h speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether12 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=\
6h speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether13 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=\
6h speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether14 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=\
6h speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether15 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=\
6h speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether16 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=\
6h speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether17 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=\
6h speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether18 ] loop-protect=on speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether19 ] loop-protect=on speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether20 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=\
6h speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether21 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=\
6h speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether22 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=\
6h speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether23 ] loop-protect=on loop-protect-disable-time=\
6h speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=ether24 ] comment=RPI loop-protect=on \
loop-protect-disable-time=6h speed=100Mbps
set [ find default-name=sfp-sfpplus1 ] speed=10Gbps
set [ find default-name=sfp-sfpplus2 ] speed=10Gbps
/interface vlan
add interface=bridge1 name=vlan10 vlan-id=10
/interface ethernet switch port
set 0 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 1 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 2 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 3 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 4 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 5 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 6 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 7 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 8 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 9 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 10 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 11 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 12 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 13 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 14 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 15 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 16 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 17 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 18 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 19 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 20 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 21 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
set 22 egress-rate=225.0Mbps ingress-rate=400.0Mbps
/interface list
add name=backbone
/interface wireless security-profiles
set [ find default=yes ] supplicant-identity=MikroTik
/ip hotspot profile
set [ find default=yes ] html-directory=flash/hotspot
/system logging action
add name=dude remote=192.168.23.5 target=remote
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=sfp-sfpplus2
add bridge=bridge1 interface=sfp-sfpplus1
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether1 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether2 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether3 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether4 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether5 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether6 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether7 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether8 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether9 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether10 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether11 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether12 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether13 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether14 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether15 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether16 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether17 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether18 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether19 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether20 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether21 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether22 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether23 pvid=88
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether24 pvid=88
/ip neighbor discovery-settings
set discover-interface-list=backbone
/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=bridge1 tagged=sfp-sfpplus1,sfp-sfpplus2,bridge1 vlan-ids=10
add bridge=bridge1 tagged=sfp-sfpplus1,sfp-sfpplus2,bridge1 vlan-ids=11
add bridge=bridge1 tagged=sfp-sfpplus1,sfp-sfpplus2,bridge1 vlan-ids=88
/ip address
add address=192.168.2.40/22 interface=vlan10 network=192.168.0.0
/ip dns
set servers=8.8.8.8
/ip route
add distance=1 gateway=192.168.0.1
/ip ssh
set allow-none-crypto=yes forwarding-enabled=remote
/snmp
set contact="Carsten Larsen" enabled=yes trap-generators=\
temp-exception,temp-exception
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Europe/Copenhagen
/system identity
set name=02HVEEN17
/system logging
add topics=interface
add action=dude prefix=02HVEEN17 topics=critical
add action=dude prefix=02HVEEN17 topics=error
add action=dude prefix=02HVEEN17 topics=info,!interface
add action=dude prefix=02HVEEN17 topics=warning
/system ntp client
set enabled=yes primary-ntp=213.83.176.71
/system routerboard settings
set boot-os=router-os
/system watchdog
set ping-timeout=5m watch-address=192.168.23.1
/tool graphing interface
add
/tool romon
set enabled=yes


Perhaps you can find the missing piece, to why the CRS354 won't give full gigabit.

I remember when the CRS326 came out, it had the exact same problem, which was resolved after a few months, but I didn't expect the CRS354 to have the same issues

I have just purchased 15 X CRS354 that I need to put into use very soon, but I can't as they are right now, because my users will complain of only getting 700´ish Mbps

If you need further info, please let me know, I have the setup running in my lab, so I can test further

Sincerely Carsten Larsen
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
EdPa
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:05 am
Location: Riga
Contact:

Re: CRS354 not full gigabit on ethernet ports

Mon Mar 30, 2020 9:29 am

Configuration wise, cannot see any issues on the CRS354 device. I would only recommend enabling RSTP or MSTP, but this should not affect the throughput if there is no active loop. But on the CRS326 device, don't the ingress and egress rate properties limit the throughput?

Have you checked if there are any Ethernet errors on CRS354 or CRS317 devices?

Please run the tests again using the same client on CRS326 and CRS354 devices and create supout.rif files after the tests are finished on both devices. Please report this and attach the supout.rif files on https://help.mikrotik.com/servicedesk/
 
blackbox100
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:20 am

Re: CRS354 not full gigabit on ethernet ports

Mon Mar 30, 2020 1:39 pm

you are right the egress rate and ingress rate is enabled on the crs326, I will disable it for the test, and send you both support files after the speedtest is done

there are no ethernet errors on either switches

will send you the files in 10 minutes

sincerely

Carsten
 
blackbox100
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:20 am

Re: CRS354 not full gigabit on ethernet ports

Mon Mar 30, 2020 2:07 pm

files sent

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests