Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
dingsingo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:47 pm
Location: Germany

CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS with more RAM ?

Sat May 02, 2020 12:16 pm

Hi,

is known if you can use more than 4GB in the CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS ? For BGP, 4GB is not that much. Unfortunately I found a picture of the board itself on the net. My 2004er ordered is still on the way to me. Because you can surely use a DDR4 bar with 8GB?

Thx
Dingsingo
 
Zacharias
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2271
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:58 am
Location: Greece

Re: CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS with more RAM ?

Sat May 02, 2020 12:59 pm

I think you should better contact Mikrotik support for that question...
 
wpeople
Member
Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 6:36 pm

Re: CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS with more RAM ?

Sun May 03, 2020 1:04 pm

Just interested how many full views would like to handle on this device? A full view takes less than 500MB of RAM nowdays.
You need to handle more than 2 full views?
 
dingsingo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:47 pm
Location: Germany

Re: CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS with more RAM ?

Sun May 03, 2020 1:46 pm

Hi,

we have currently processed a CCR1072 in use of the 4 full and a few more peerings. 2.6GB are currently used there. I will test the 2004 times, but I suspect that even with the 500Mhz more clocking, the calculation of the table only gets a little faster.
Our biggest problem is when one of the uplinks fails. Then the 1072 with the V6.x sometimes takes 15 to 20 minutes until the routing has changed accordingly. This means that customers have only a very limited connection during this time.

In the end there will be only two solutions. Either wait for V7 and the multicore in the BGP process. Or switch to other hardware such as Juniper, Cisco or the same.
 
Paternot
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 697
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:01 am
Location: Niterói / Brazil

Re: CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS with more RAM ?

Sun May 03, 2020 9:00 pm

Hi,

we have currently processed a CCR1072 in use of the 4 full and a few more peerings. 2.6GB are currently used there. I will test the 2004 times, but I suspect that even with the 500Mhz more clocking, the calculation of the table only gets a little faster.
The ARM used on the CCR2004 has far more processing power per core than the Tile used on the CCR1072. The BGP convergence times should be far better, even (especially) with RoS v6. Routing speed is another matter: the CCR1072 should run circles around the CCR2004, while routing multiple connections.
 
dingsingo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:47 pm
Location: Germany

Re: CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS with more RAM ?

Wed May 06, 2020 7:35 pm

Hi,

For those who want to know more about 2004. just got the first one in the mail. An ARM64 is installed, the ARM firmware package for the ARM, which was previously linked on the MT side, does not run there. There is probably something here for the 64bit version.

According to MT, the 4GB memory in the V6.x cannot be expanded. If you look at the picture, it's also clear why. The DDR4 RAM is not inserted :-)

2004er.jpg

Thx
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
mada3k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:53 am
Location: Sweden

Re: CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS with more RAM ?

Wed May 06, 2020 10:06 pm

Thanks for the picture. Yes the memory is indeed soldered in.

Isn't it a bit strange to have both fans and passive radiator on the back?

I mean, either you have a fan or you don't. Either you have it in a quiet place (like home/office), or you have it a noisy place (witch is more likely because of the high speed interfaces)
Manages some CCR's, RB750Gr3, RB922 and wAP's
 
onnoossendrijver
Member
Member
Posts: 419
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:10 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS with more RAM ?

Fri May 08, 2020 6:17 pm

Can someone measure its idle power usage? Preferably with one or two 10g ports connected (optical sfp+ or DAC).
Also, how loud is it under low load circumstances?
Linux/network engineer: ITIL, LPI1, CCNA R+S, CCNP R+S, JNCIA, JNCIS-SEC
 
User avatar
pcunite
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 5:13 am
Location: USA

Re: CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS with more RAM ?

Fri May 08, 2020 6:51 pm

Can someone measure its idle power usage? Preferably with one or two 10g ports connected (optical sfp+ or DAC).
Also, how loud is it under low load circumstances?

I would like to know as well. Also, if I disconnect the fans, or redundant power, can I get the power usage down?
 
dingsingo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:47 pm
Location: Germany

Re: CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS with more RAM ?

Sat May 09, 2020 11:02 am

the fans are not idle, they only seem to be activated in an emergency. I have to try to measure power consumption when I can find the time.
 
mmc
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:44 am

Re: CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS with more RAM ?

Tue May 19, 2020 5:55 pm

i don't get it somehow - the box is supposed to have 4gig ram, but reports only less than 1,8g to the ros6:
[admin@rr] /system resource> pri
             uptime: 3m21s
            version: 6.46.6 (testing)
         build-time: Apr/27/2020 10:32:16
   factory-software: 6.46.3
        free-memory: 1736.0MiB
       total-memory: 1792.0MiB
                cpu: ARMv7
          cpu-count: 4
      cpu-frequency: 1700MHz
           cpu-load: 0%
     free-hdd-space: 92.7MiB
    total-hdd-space: 129.0MiB
  architecture-name: arm64
         board-name: CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS
           platform: MikroTik
any ideas?
 
psannz
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 3:52 pm
Location: Renningen, Germany

Re: CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS with more RAM ?

Tue May 19, 2020 6:10 pm

i don't get it somehow - the box is supposed to have 4gig ram, but reports only less than 1,8g to the ros6:

any ideas?
The full 4 GB RAM will only be available with RouterOS 7. Sadly, that's still in beta.
"Size of RAM: RouterOS v6 1792MB ECC / RouterOS v7 4GB ECC"

Source: the routers brochure: https://i.mt.lv/cdn/rb_files/CCR2004-1G ... 074167.pdf
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4221
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS with more RAM ?

Wed May 20, 2020 12:01 am

i don't get it somehow - the box is supposed to have 4gig ram, but reports only less than 1,8g to the ros6:
Memory size detected at slightly less than 2GB is typical for 32-bit linux kernel (non-PAE). I guess ROSv7 on these devices will be 64-bit.
BR,
Metod
 
guipoletto
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 5:31 am

Re: CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS with more RAM ?

Wed May 20, 2020 12:53 pm

Isn't it a bit strange to have both fans and passive radiator on the back?
The heatpipe/radiator are for cooling the CPU. This is 100% passive, dependent on ambient convection. (should get quite toasty in cabinet environments, might force us to adapt some fans on the back).

the internal(infernal?) fans, are there to force airflow in the front-->back direction.
there needs to be some airflow arround the SFP modules, so i believe that the fans should activate in response to (the maximum? / an average?) temperature reported by the inserted modules, and completelly ignore the CPU. (maybe some input from the 25Gbit PHY).

Now, with that much space, i wonder why couldn't mikrotik give us some blowfan-based cooling solution, so it doesn't sound like the router is taking off.

Image
 
mada3k
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 10:53 am
Location: Sweden

Re: CCR2004-1G-12S+2XS with more RAM ?

Thu May 21, 2020 11:03 am

I agree with guipoletto. The cooling solution is a bit odd.

Since both 25G and 10G SFP's might get quite hot, running fans is probably mandatory.
But the running fans won't be able to cool the switch ASIC since it has it's fins/radiator on the back.

This category of device isn't typically a devices that needs passive or silent cooling. No one will probably care.
Manages some CCR's, RB750Gr3, RB922 and wAP's

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 34 guests