Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
citizen25
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:10 pm

Can Dual LTE Modems be used in Active Active Configuration?

Wed Jun 17, 2020 3:12 pm

Can Dual LTE Modems be used in Active Active Configuration? I see RBM33G supports two modems and two sim cards but every time I have worked with a MikroTik it only allows one sim at a time? is it possible to say LTE modem 0 use Sim Down and LTE modem 1 use Sim UP? https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Dual_SIM_Application shows some good real world uses but only in a fail over or roaming configuration not allowing for an ACTIVE ACTIVE configuration.

If possible desired setup Dual WAN LTE and LTE (Active -ACTIVE) having them load balance each other. They would be aimed at different Cell towers with different carriers two allow for the home network of both towers.

I understand this may need a lot of scripting but since the LTE modem configurations do not allow choosing of which sim making this a global setting instead of a port setting how is what I said achieved.

(if both LTE modems can read same SIM card (No carrier i know supports this) carrier 1 allows roaming on tower 2 (they own tower 1))
 
User avatar
krafg
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 687
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 7:36 pm

Re: Can Dual LTE Modems be used in Active Active Configuration?

Wed Jun 17, 2020 10:30 pm

Is possible.

On last (not published) version of ROS 6 was solved an issue that makes that R11e-LTE-US not runs with R11e-LTE (International).

Both interfaces I get running on RBM33G and LtAP (not mini).

In addition you can configure Failover or Load Balancing or both.

Image

For now, you can try this while next beta is published or next stable version with it fixed.

Regards.
If you want to know my network, you can find it here.

Image
 
citizen25
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:10 pm

Re: Can Dual LTE Modems be used in Active Active Configuration?

Fri Jun 19, 2020 11:01 pm

So soon will be possible with no scripting 1-4 months. (Via update cited above) Or wait tell 7.x 1-10 years. Not in the time frame I was hopping but can be done. I had forgotten about LtAP but client will probably stay with other board to be able to use external Antennas other wise it would be perfect.


Thank you for confirmation that this is possible as long term I will have no choice but to set this up.
 
User avatar
krafg
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 687
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 7:36 pm

Re: Can Dual LTE Modems be used in Active Active Configuration?

Sat Jun 20, 2020 2:13 am

I use my LtAP with external antennas (2x L-COM HG72710XP-065).

Image

Regards.
If you want to know my network, you can find it here.

Image
 
anicedoll123
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 07, 2018 7:44 am

Re: Can Dual LTE Modems be used in Active Active Configuration?

Mon Dec 28, 2020 8:49 pm

I use my LtAP with external antennas (2x L-COM HG72710XP-065).

Image

Regards.
Hi krafg. Can you give me your contact? Thank you
 
User avatar
krafg
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 687
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 7:36 pm

Re: Can Dual LTE Modems be used in Active Active Configuration?

Wed Dec 30, 2020 4:58 pm

If you want to know my network, you can find it here.

Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 39 guests