Community discussions

 
rwf
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:38 pm

RB153 Performance

Wed Jun 27, 2007 2:57 pm

I normally use MT software on a PC to make a router.
Recently we purchased an RB153. It is the one with 5 Ethernet ports and 3 mini-PCI slots.

I configured it as a hotspot. I am not using radios in it at all, only an Ethernet port on the WAN side and one on the LAN side.

In bench testing at home on my DSL line, which is 8 Mb/S, I noticed that a reliable speed test I use shows that the RB153 is cutting my speed in half.
Remember this is without anything special going on other than the hotspot on port 2. The WAN is on port 1. No radios or anything special going on- only a hotspot interface on Ether2

Is the nature of the beast? If so, I find this board to be completely useless. I have read the docs and cannot find anything referencing this issue.

Someone please tell me what I can do to speed things up. Junk this and go back to a PC? Go to the RB532?


Ralph
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB153 Performance

Wed Jun 27, 2007 2:59 pm

no, 100mbit thoughput should be no problem. is that 8mbit number something a provider gave you, or do you actually get the same speed when using another kind of router
 
rwf
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:38 pm

Re: RB153 Performance

Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:24 pm

Laptop sitting here on test bench, running through cable modem to a speed test facility. Doesn't matter which one- It can be my provider's, Speakeasy, Another known accurate one. They are all the same. Eith RB153 in line: speed 50% of what it is without it.
 
rwf
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:38 pm

Re: RB153 Performance

Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:26 pm

What I did not do is configure it only as a router with no hotspot. The purpose was to be a hotspot controller so there wasn't much point.

At the moment, it is sitting at a remote site, on a backbone. I believe it has turned a 4 Mb connection into a 2Mb one.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB153 Performance

Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:34 pm

I hope you didn't configure rate limitations in the hotspot user settings :) ? try to reset the config, upgrade, and try it without hotspot first.
 
rwf
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:38 pm

Re: RB153 Performance

Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:39 pm

It did this from the first day I got it, through numerous resets/reconfigurations.
All hotspot settings are default, except for putting in the default route. The setup wizard does not leave you with a working hotspot until you do that.

The firmware running is 2.9.29
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB153 Performance

Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:42 pm

it definitely is not causing the slowdown, but upgrade anyway. newest one is 2.9.43
 
rwf
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:38 pm

Re: RB153 Performance

Wed Jun 27, 2007 4:16 pm

Never upgraded before.
Can you give simple steps?
The router is 1.5 hour drive away from me.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB153 Performance

Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:58 am

download new NPK packages from our webpage, upload them to the router via FTP, reboot
 
rwf
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 11:38 pm

Re: RB153 Performance

Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:58 pm

Thanks

Did that, the upgrade didn't seem to do any good from what I can tell remotely.
Saturday I will be able to try some more actual physical testing on the unit. I will do my same original tests: Known good speed test on link without router in line and then the same with the router inline. Should be pretty conclusive.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests