Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Paestum
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 8:11 pm

NetPower 16P ipcam / access point

Thu Nov 12, 2020 10:29 am

Hello, I would like to ask for technical information about the NetPower 16P, by connecting two power supplies, the 24HPOW and the 48POW. Can PoeOut ports power both an access point which usually has a voltage of 24v and an ip camera which usually uses a voltage of 12v?
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5228
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: NetPower 16P ipcam / access point

Thu Nov 12, 2020 9:24 pm

NetPower will not convert voltages, it will always output one of supply voltages. According to product brochure this even happens automatically.

Probably it'll supply 48V for 802.3af/at PoE clients and 24V for other PoE clients (and none for non-PoE clients). If clients are made according to IIIE standard (802.3af/at), then this will be fine as they are required to take 48V. If clients are passive, then you have to check if they can take 24V (or 48V, not many passive PoE devices handle it). Also check that IP camera ... what kind of PoE standard it works with and whether it can take 24V.
BR,
Metod
 
User avatar
Maggiore81
Member
Member
Posts: 361
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:10 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: NetPower 16P ipcam / access point

Sat Nov 14, 2020 11:25 am

Hello.
So I can power the Netpower BOTH with 24V and 48V?
Then from the Menu I choose wich power output to powerup my devices?
I may have devices with 48V and devices with 24V passive?

It seem a kind of "copy" of Ubiquiti Edgepoint S16P that we use for years.
Sometimes the docs of MT is incomplete IMHO.
thank you
Dott. Elia Spadoni
---
Network Administrator
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCTCE, MTCINE, MTCWE, MTCSE
Spadhausen Internet Provider
Ravenna, ITALY
http://www.spadhausen.com
 
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5228
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: NetPower 16P ipcam / access point

Sat Nov 14, 2020 12:40 pm

I don't have any NetPower 16P, I pointed out what product brochure says. I just hope product brochure is not complete marketing BS....
BR,
Metod
 
Elans
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 90
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 12:41 pm

Re: NetPower 16P ipcam / access point

Mon Nov 16, 2020 9:42 am

Hello,
Yes, you can use both power sources at the same time. If device settings are not changed, by default it is "auto" mode - it will automatically detect what type of the device is attached and provide necessary output. If the PD works with both low/high input, you can specify which output from PSE you want to use, by default the device will be powered with high voltage.
Device itself does not have any onboard voltage converter. If the device will be powered with 24V PSU and/or 48V PSU - it will also provide 24V and/or 48V on poe-out.

All information you can find in link below:
https://mikrotik.com/product/netpower_16p

If you need any other information, let us know https://mikrotik.com/support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mbovenka, tdw and 43 guests