Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
sirca
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 4:11 am

crs317 routeros/switchos wrong fan readings?

Sat Dec 12, 2020 6:14 am

Hi!
I purchased a new CRS317-1g-16s+ and all seems ok BUT...
If I boot SwitchOS, latest release 2.12, health menù reports both fan at 0 rpm speed.
If I boot RouterOS, latest stable release 6.47.8, immediatly after boot system/health menù reports both fan at about 3800 rpm speed. Then after a minute both reported speed become 0 rpm.
In both scenario I cant hear both fans are in slight rotation (checked with a light paper sheet).
Moreover googling/surfing forums I found some crs317 system/health print reporting cpu-temperature AND a generic temperature together with fans speed and power supply status: my device reports fans speed, power supply status, cpu-temperature BUT no (generic) temperature.
Is this fans behavior just "normal" and the fans speed readings right?
Can a crs317 owner/user check the reported values in his/her system/health ??
Thank you in advance
Best Regards from Rome

PS I have also a crs305-1g-s4+ and a crs326-24g-s2+ and both reports only the cpu-temperature value (NO generic temperature).
 
biomesh
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:25 pm

Re: crs317 routeros/switchos wrong fan readings?

Sat Dec 12, 2020 2:23 pm

Some devices will have multiple sensors or sensor output. Both my ccr1009 and crs317 have cpu temp and device temp while my other crs devices have only cpu temp.

My crs317 shows:

Device temp
Cpu temp
Fan speed for each fan(if they are running)
Psu status for each power supply

If you do not see all of the temp info in ROS then I suggest making sure the firmware is up to date(not just the ROS version)
 
sirca
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 4:11 am

Re: crs317 routeros/switchos wrong fan readings?

Sat Dec 12, 2020 8:30 pm

Hi!
Thank you for reply
I tried ROS 6.46.8 long-term and 6.47.8. I upgraded both package AND firmware.
[admin@MikroTik_CRS317] /system health> print
  cpu-temperature: 35C
       psu1-state: ok
       psu2-state: ok
       fan1-speed: 4080RPM
       fan2-speed: 3855RPM

[admin@MikroTik_CRS317] /system health gauges> print
 # NAME                 VALUE      TYPE
 0 cpu-temperature      36         C   
 1 fan1-speed           0          RPM 
 2 fan2-speed           0          RPM 
 3 psu1-state           ok             
 4 psu2-state           ok   
I tried with only PSU 1 and with both PSUs 1 & 2
Same result... No device temperature...
Any idea??
Best Regards from Rome
 
biomesh
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:25 pm

Re: crs317 routeros/switchos wrong fan readings?

Sun Dec 13, 2020 4:13 am

Sounds like there could be a new hardware revision for the crs317. The current specs pdf does show operating temperature changes from September.

It would be best to confirm with mikrotik support.

What does /system/routerboard/print show?
 
sirca
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 4:11 am

Re: crs317 routeros/switchos wrong fan readings?

Sun Dec 13, 2020 7:13 am

Hi!
I purchased the crs317 December 1 2020, so it may be a new hardware version (I think).
These the routerboard info
[admin@MikroTik_CRS317] /system routerboard> print
       routerboard: yes
             model: CRS317-1G-16S+
     serial-number: D7EB0D8B6F5C
     firmware-type: dx3230L
  factory-firmware: 6.45.9
  current-firmware: 6.47.8
  upgrade-firmware: 6.47.8
[admin@MikroTik_CRS317] /system routerboard> 
But I can not see info about HW revision...
Is the device temperature sensor shown in "old" device spec pdf??
As you wrote, in "new" found at https://i.mt.lv/cdn/product_files/CRS31 ... 200843.pdf only CPU temperature sensor is reported (but neither PSU or Fan sensors).
Sorry for my bad english, I am italian :)
Thank you
 
biomesh
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:25 pm

Re: crs317 routeros/switchos wrong fan readings?

Sun Dec 13, 2020 3:01 pm

Sometimes there is a hardware revision shown (if there is one). The documentation - from what I found - only showed the cpu temp sensor.

At this point you should contact mikrotik support to see what they say.
 
sirca
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 4:11 am

Re: crs317 routeros/switchos wrong fan readings?  [SOLVED]

Tue Dec 15, 2020 8:42 pm

Hi!
I contacted Mikrotik suppot, and they report there is not a board temperature sensor.

"[...]
This model does not have a temperature sensor that measures board temperature (datasheet also does not say it supports such an option).
The device can show the temperature parameter (only under one condition) - if you install an SFP module that reports this temperature.
[...]"

I've always heard complaints about Mikrotik support, but in my case they were fast, efficient, and accurate.

Thanks to you too for the reply :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mixig, uldise and 41 guests