Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
milesharrison
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2020 9:40 pm

Chateau LTE12 Dead on Arrival?

Mon Dec 14, 2020 10:06 pm

Hi,

Got a Chateau LTE12 today and it seems to have died within an hour of first trying it. It worked fine, got 4g signal etc and then could no longer see the wifi. Noticed all the LEDs seemed to be cycling so assumed it was stuck in a boot loop. Tried the settings reset button according to the manual, no sucess. Then tried to get it into etherboot mode for netinstall. It seems to work for a second (light turns pink) and then the device resets itself again and all the lights display. A video is attached below, but before I send it back for being dead on arrival, has anyone got any suggestions?

Dissappointing as it's my first Mikrotik device but perhaps I just got a dud?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QjF2qSmkWBM
 
User avatar
SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1314
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Chateau LTE12 Dead on Arrival?

Wed Dec 16, 2020 12:07 am

It's look like Boot Loop.

You can give back that unit to seller. Do you buy it from one of distributors https://mikrotik.com/buy ? They must give you a support and warranty and accept RMA.

About netinstall, it's some tricky process and all tips I know I write here: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=167360&p=821518#p821518
In your case it's only one firmware: https://download.mikrotik.com/routeros/7.1beta3/routeros-7.1beta3-arm.npk
MTCNA + MTCRE + MTCINE | ~600 users at ~150 RouterBoards in EMEA | Telegram: @SiB_PL
WinBox Tip: F6 works as ALT+TAB | Gliffy.com - free network schematic | prnt.sc - free ScreenShot software
At vacation until 15.jan.2021
 
milesharrison
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2020 9:40 pm

Re: Chateau LTE12 Dead on Arrival?

Thu Dec 17, 2020 2:34 am

Hi, thanks for the info and cheers for the write-up. I'm afraid it didn't help. Windows would only register that an ethernet cable was connected for about a second (on the 3 different cards I have) so it gave no time for PCAP to register anything. Sadly, I have returned it. Fortunately I got it from Amazon (EuroDK was the retailer) and have returned it as faulty with no questions asked.

It shouldn't have gotten in to that loop frankly given my VERY basic adjustment of settings (all I had done is set a wifi password and put a sim card in it!) so am rather lacking faith in the build quality etc which is a shame as Mikrotik was so well reviewed and I had been looking forward to trying a new European brand! Howeer, in about 20-30 similar routers I have used over the last 15 years, never had one dead on arrival (near enough!). Perhaps I'll try again in the future but I have supplied a LTE router elsewhere.

I will add, in the 30 mins or so of pouring over the options with RouterOS, it looked streets ahead of my Ubiquity gear in terms of GUI config, which for a more casual enthusiast was very welcome!

Thanks again for the reply SiB!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 48 guests