Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Cablenut9
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2021 5:30 am

Powering cAP ac from another cAP

Wed Feb 17, 2021 4:16 am

I want to power a cAP ac from another cAP ac with the included 24v power supply, but I noticed that its listed maximum power output on the second port is 500mA. A cAP ac takes up to 13w, which equates to 540mA with 24 volts. Is this power requirement close enough, or is it too risky? Note that the 13w is under maximum load, and you'd only get that maximum load with lots of routing activity (which I wouldn't be doing).
 
mistry7
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1467
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:57 am
Location: Germany

Re: Powering cAP ac from another cAP

Wed Feb 17, 2021 9:49 am

You only get the maximum load at booting, under load we never saw more then 5w
 
quackyo
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 10:14 am

Re: Powering cAP ac from another cAP

Wed Feb 17, 2021 10:06 am

It'll probably be fine, but to stay in spec you should get a higher voltage PSU.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24824
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Powering cAP ac from another cAP

Wed Feb 17, 2021 10:59 am

You can power the in a chain, it works. maximum power is really only reached when all interfaces are at maximum load, in real life, that doesn't happen
No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests