Community discussions

MikroTik App

BigSky
Topic Author

CRS112 switch low throughput

Thu Sep 09, 2021 12:45 am

I'm seeing performance issues with a few CRS112-8P-4S I've installed this summer. I've never used these switches before, but thought I'd try them.

I'm not using any vlans or routing, just using them as a PoE switch. In the setup I'll talk about here, I have the CRS112 switch (6.48.3) connected to a hEX S router (6.48.3) through the SFP ports on both. There's 6 AP being power up from this switch (48V PoE). The CPU load is running between 15-20% constantly, without much traffic running through the switch.

I'm using the default bridge configuration, that has hardware offload enabled on the ports and fast forward enabled on the bridge.
Screenshot 2021-09-08 153021.png
When I run a bandwidth test between the switch & the router, it maxs out at 30Mbps x 19Mbps.

I'm getting the same results from setups at different locations with ethernet connections between the router & switch, and also with wireless PtP connections between the router and switch.

Is this the limitation of this model? Or is there a programming issue?
Screenshot 2021-09-08 154148.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

biomesh
Long time Member
Long time Member

Re: CRS112 switch low throughput

Thu Sep 09, 2021 1:06 am

1) Don't run a speedtest / bandwidth test directly on the devices themselves. These are very slow CPU - 400Mhz. Instead run iperf tests on two devices connected to the switches/routers.

2) If you just connect via winbox, and don't have any interface window open, CPU utilization is under 10%. if you open a window with the interface stats/counters, it will increase the CPU by 10%. I have a ticket open on this, but it probably won't go anywhere. When you disconnect the CPU will run normally.

If you still have issues, post your config.

BigSky
Topic Author

Thu Sep 09, 2021 1:14 am