Community discussions

 
Gerard
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 4:21 am
Location: Kentucky, USA
Contact:

RB600 Released

Wed Nov 28, 2007 4:48 pm

Mikrotik announced the RB600 to distributors this morning.

CPU MPC8343E 266/400MHz network processor
Memory 64MB DDR SDRAM onboard memory
Boot loader RouterBOOT, 1Mbit Flash chip
Data storage 64MB onboard NAND memory chip
Ethernet Three 10/100/1000 Mbit/s Gigabit Ethernet with Auto-MDI/X
miniPCI Four MiniPCI Type IIIA/IIIB slots
Expansion Daughterboard support, including RB500 daughterboards
Compact Flash Two independent CompactFlash slots (TrueIDE Microdrive supported)
Serial port One DB9 RS232C asynchronous serial port
Speaker Mini PC-Speaker
Power options IEEE802.3af PoE: 38..56V DC including over datalines.
Power jack: 10..56V DC
Fan control Two 5V DC fan power output headers with rotation sensor and automatic
fan switching (maximum output current - 300mA total)
Dimensions 14 cm x 20 cm (5.51 in x 7.87 in), 227 g (8 oz)
Power consumption ~9W without extension cards, maximum – 35+ W
Operating System MikroTik RouterOS v3, Level4 license

Brochure: http://www.quicklinkwireless.com/rb600.pdf
Pre-Order: https://www.quicklinkwireless.com/default.asp?pid=1185

We would also like to inform you that the manufacturing of RB532 (32MB RAM) has been discontinued and this model of RouterBOARD is not available anymore.

-Gerard

Edit: Only the RB532(with 32MB RAM) has been discontinued. The RB532A(with 64MB RAM) will continue to be manufactured.
Last edited by Gerard on Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
Certified Mikrotik Trainer
 
User avatar
roadrunner
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 11:22 pm
Location: US

Re: RB600 Released

Thu Nov 29, 2007 3:41 am

Mikrotik announced the RB600 to distributors this morning.

CPU MPC8343E 266/400MHz network processor
Power options IEEE802.3af PoE: 38..56V DC including over datalines.
Power jack: 10..56V DC
Fan control Two 5V DC fan power output headers with rotation sensor and automatic
fan switching (maximum output current - 300mA total)
So 802.3af is supported again after the rb192,rb133/c & rb333 not supporting more than 28v. :shock:
And it doesn't support less than 38V on POE? I'm not going to be able to standardize on one power supply ever again :?

Hopefully the Gigabit ports are more stable than the ones on the rb44G.
 
doush
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:11 pm

Re: RB600 Released

Thu Nov 29, 2007 1:17 pm

impressive..
It would be good for them to support 2.9x instead of only 3.0 .. im scared to give the new ros 3.0 a try after the bugs i read on the forum..

Nevertheless, 4mpci and 400mhz rocks...
 
User avatar
ghmorris
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 284
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:14 pm
Location: Minden, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: RB600 Released

Thu Nov 29, 2007 2:31 pm

PowerPC architecture so will never be supported under 2.9.

I'm very pleased to see full 802.3af support, now we should be able to pull power from an 802.3af switch. Well done MT!!

George
 
ste
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1813
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:21 pm

Re: RB600 Released

Thu Nov 29, 2007 3:09 pm

Hi,

I'm wondering wether 4 cards on one board in one housing can
work without interfering each other.

RB600 would give the possibility to handle one uplink and
3 120degree sectors in one box.

Does this make sense using 5GHz?

Stefan
 
miahac
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 513
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Wichita, KS
Contact:

Re: RB600 Released

Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:03 pm

The IEEE 802.3af standard supports delivery of Power over Ethernet up to 15.4W per port that may be used to deliver power to a variety of devices (figure 1.) The IEEE 802.3af standard also defines the concept of power classes including a reserved class that may be extended to support increased power delivery to PDs in the future. As an example, this class may be expanded to support the power requirements of a laptop PC that typically draws much more than the 15.4W currently allowed for within IEEE 802.3af.
So your POE switch may not be able to power this device.
Network Administrator
Kansas Hosting and Wichita Data Centers
 
BurstNET

Re: RB600 Released

Sun Dec 02, 2007 4:19 am

Not happy they are discontinuing RB532 because of this.
Atleast give us 6 months of a known working product before such is done.
Right now we don't have a replacement for RB532 that is 100% tried and true in the field :-(
RB333 and RB600 are NOT at that point yet.

SMA
 
Gerard
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 4:21 am
Location: Kentucky, USA
Contact:

Re: RB600 Released

Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:06 am

They only discontinued the RB532 and not the RB532A.

-Gerard
Certified Mikrotik Trainer
 
BurstNET

Re: RB600 Released

Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:39 pm

<< They only discontinued the RB532 and not the RB532A. >>

Oh...good...whew... :-)

Thanx...

SMA
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Re: RB600 Released

Mon Dec 03, 2007 10:12 pm

They only discontinued the RB532 and not the RB532A.
Even so it would still make sense that as these new boards are V3 only that they didn't discontinue products that work in favour of ones that are still at an RC stage.
 
Hellbound
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 509
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:21 am

Re: RB600 Released

Tue Dec 04, 2007 5:05 am

shame,
look what froogle brings for rb600

http://www.google.com/products?q=rb600
 
danletkeman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:42 pm

Re: RB600 Released

Tue Dec 18, 2007 6:54 am

What happened to the 600-666mhz cpu? Will using this board for a wireless bridge actually be better than a 532?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB600 Released

Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:57 am

What happened to the 600-666mhz cpu? Will using this board for a wireless bridge actually be better than a 532?
of course it will be. compare throughput:
http://www.routerboard.com/pdf/tests_dec_2007.pdf
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
kapusta_kiszona
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 12:48 pm
Location: Poland

Re: RB600 Released

Wed Dec 19, 2007 1:00 am

Well. I'll tomorrow install my first RB600 in a important location, where was 532 before. Wish me luck. :-)
 
User avatar
Hammy
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:53 pm
Location: DeKalb, IL
Contact:

Re: RB600 Released

Sat Dec 22, 2007 5:45 pm

What happened to the 600-666mhz cpu? Will using this board for a wireless bridge actually be better than a 532?
of course it will be. compare throughput:
http://www.routerboard.com/pdf/tests_dec_2007.pdf

What do those numbers indicate? pps? mbit/s?
-----
Mike Hammett

The Brothers WISP
 
Hellbound
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 509
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:21 am

Re: RB600 Released

Sat Dec 22, 2007 6:26 pm

What happened to the 600-666mhz cpu? Will using this board for a wireless bridge actually be better than a 532?
of course it will be. compare throughput:
http://www.routerboard.com/pdf/tests_dec_2007.pdf

What do those numbers indicate? pps? mbit/s?

that is pps , u have to calculate mbit... I wonder why!
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB600 Released

Fri Dec 28, 2007 4:36 pm

that is pps , u have to calculate mbit... I wonder why!
because of test method, we get test resaults in pps, so we post them as is.
 
User avatar
Giepie
Member
Member
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:33 pm
Location: Western Cape, South Africa
Contact:

Re: RB600 Released

Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:35 am

Hi all

This is perhaps off topic, but I decided to ask anyway due to the fact that the RB600 specs are being discussed over here.

What I need to know, is wheter you can install MT on a CF using the RB600. I have tried this with an RB532A, it didn't work, I contacted MT support and they said it won't, as the board was designed in such a way that MTROS can only be run from the NAND.

What I ideally would like to do, is to install MTv3.1 level6 on a CF, and use the second CF slot for Usermanager data. The main and most important reason for this is in order to run the UM off a 12VDC battery backup.

Our South African power provider ran into magor problems and apparently we'll have to live with these problems for years to come. Some days we have power outages for 2 to 4 hours in one go, usually at the peak hours for business. Our entire system is on battery backup, highsites, core routers, switches, PSTN routers etc, only UM is not.

Any help on this will be appreciated.

Regards, Giepie
The only thing Mikrotik lack, is to send power to your High Sites wirelessly.....
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB600 Released

Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:06 am

no, RouterOS can only be installed on a NAND
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3803
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: RB600 Released

Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:09 am

The main and most important reason for this is in order to run the UM off a 12VDC battery backup.
NAND and CF take about the same amount of power I am guessing... and neither of those take power directly, it's the routerboard itself. Whats the goal ?
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
User avatar
Giepie
Member
Member
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:33 pm
Location: Western Cape, South Africa
Contact:

Re: RB600 Released

Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:17 am

Hi changeip

The point is not what uses less power, I just mentioned my reason for wanting to run UM off a RB and not on a PC.

1) I need to have UM running off a RB600 - (for power backup reasons. RB run off 12VDC, Desktop PC does not)
2) I need to have MT/UM running off a CF - (NAND does not have enough space for user DB and logs)

So my question is, WILL MT RUN OFF A CF ON A RB600?

Like I said, with RB532/A it does NOT work.

Thanks for the help!

G
The only thing Mikrotik lack, is to send power to your High Sites wirelessly.....
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24268
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB600 Released

Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:52 am

we will make it possible to store UM DB and other data on the CF. booting from it will not be possible
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Giepie
Member
Member
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:33 pm
Location: Western Cape, South Africa
Contact:

Re: RB600 Released

Fri Jan 25, 2008 10:57 am

Hi Normis

Thanks for the info.

I was really hoping it might work with the new ROS.

Could you perhaps tell me by which version it would be possible to save UM DB to CF?
The only thing Mikrotik lack, is to send power to your High Sites wirelessly.....
 
heiko_s
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:02 am
Location: germany

Re: RB600 Released

Fri Jun 20, 2008 11:16 pm

we will make it possible to store UM DB and other data on the CF. booting from it will not be possible
Hi,
i'm also looking foreward of storing the UM database on a CF card.
Is it already possible?
Or, if not, when will it be?

Thanks in advance

Heiko
 
User avatar
Giepie
Member
Member
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:33 pm
Location: Western Cape, South Africa
Contact:

Re: RB600 Released

Fri Jun 20, 2008 11:28 pm

Hi Heiko

You should perhaps follow this thread too:
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 59#p118659

Apparently the new UM would have many new features, but it sounds like it has more to do with the GUI.

Mikrotik really like keeping us in despense! :) At least they never dissapoint us!
The only thing Mikrotik lack, is to send power to your High Sites wirelessly.....
 
heiko_s
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:02 am
Location: germany

Re: RB600 Released

Sat Jun 21, 2008 12:08 am

Hi Giepie,
Thanks for the tip ;o)

the only thing i really suffer from is the small harddisk-space and the missing feature to store the database and the logs on a CF card.
:?

Good night 8)
 
User avatar
Giepie
Member
Member
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 12:33 pm
Location: Western Cape, South Africa
Contact:

Re: RB600 Released

Sat Jun 21, 2008 2:23 am

Aparently one of the new features of the new UM is to save your DB to another drive. I honestly can't wait!

G
The only thing Mikrotik lack, is to send power to your High Sites wirelessly.....
 
heiko_s
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:02 am
Location: germany

Re: RB600 Released

Sat Jun 21, 2008 10:15 am

Hi "G" ;o)

...but you either don't know in which decade the new version will be released, don't you?

I too a look on the RadMan. apart from their strict licensing and the encrypted php code, it has not alle the features UM has. Not forget the great advantage to run UM from a powersaving RouterBoard.. 8)

All we can do is "sit'n'wait" 8)

Have a nice time!

Regards
"H"

:D

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests