Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
nathanscottgrey
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 5:31 pm

Upgrading to 3.0 on a RB500

Wed Jan 16, 2008 6:29 pm

I downloaded the torrent of RouterOS 3.0 and see there are 4 different types:

ppc
mipsbe
mipsle
x86

Which do I use for a routerboard 500?
 
dawam
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 1:40 pm
Location: Malaysia

Re: Upgrading to 3.0 on a RB500

Wed Jan 16, 2008 6:52 pm

if you go to the the download page and select RouterBoard 500 series, file to be downloaded is displayed as Router0s-mipsle-3.0.npk

so mipsle is for rb500 series.
ppc - rb333 & Rb 600
mipsbe - Rb400 series
 
User avatar
nathanscottgrey
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 5:31 pm

Re: Upgrading to 3.0 on a RB500

Wed Jan 16, 2008 6:55 pm

Many Thanks!
 
gimmepatiencequickly
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 1:00 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: Upgrading to 3.0 on a RB500

Wed Jan 30, 2008 1:13 pm

ok, I downloaded http://www.mikrotik.com/download/all_pa ... le-3.1.zip

These are the files in the archive.

advanced-tools-3.1-mipsle.npk
calea-3.1-mipsle.npk
dhcp-3.1-mipsle.npk
dude-3.1-mipsle.npk
gps-3.1-mipsle.npk
hotspot-3.1-mipsle.npk
ipv6-3.1-mipsle.npk
LICENSE.TXT
mpls-3.1-mipsle.npk
multicast-3.1-mipsle.npk
ntp-3.1-mipsle.npk
ppp-3.1-mipsle.npk
routerboard-3.1-mipsle.npk
routing-3.1-mipsle.npk
security-3.1-mipsle.npk
system-3.1-mipsle.npk
ups-3.1-mipsle.npk
user-manager-3.1-mipsle.npk
wireless-3.1-mipsle.npk

Alot of them are self explanatory, but I am not sure which file to upload for an upgrade to V3.1
I am currently running V2.9.50, I assume that the file "routerboard-3.1-mipsle.npk" would be the correct file to use.
If that is the case... What is "system-3.1-mipsle.npk" for? or would I need to upload both files?

Thank you kindly
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Upgrading to 3.0 on a RB500

Wed Jan 30, 2008 1:51 pm

upload the same files that you have in your router now! just check in "/system packages" menu
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
gimmepatiencequickly
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 1:00 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: Upgrading to 3.0 on a RB500

Wed Jan 30, 2008 3:28 pm

upload the same files that you have in your router now! just check in "/system packages" menu
Thank you Normis, will do that.

/system/packages (RB500)---------->Corresponding files in archive

system--------------->system-3.1-mipsle.npk
security------------->security-3.1-mipsle.npk
ppp------------------>ppp-3.1-mipsle.npk
user-manager--------->user-manager-3.1-mipsle.npk
routerboard---------->routerboard-3.1-mipsle.npk
advanced-tools------->advanced-tools-3.1-mipsle.npk
ntp------------------>ntp-3.1-mipsle.npk
wireless------------->wireless-3.1-mipsle.npk
hotspot-------------->hotspot-3.1-mipsle.npk
dhcp----------------->dhcp-3.1-mipsle.npk
routeros-rb500------->WHAT ABOUT THIS? --> integrated in "routerboard-3.1-mipsle.npk"?
X routing-------------->DO NOT SEEM TO BE USING THIS... DOING UNINSTALL
X wireless-legacy------>DO NOT KNOW WHAT THIS IS FOR... DOING UNINSTALL
routing-test--------->DO NOT KNOW WHAT THIS IS FOR... DOING UNINSTALL
webproxy-test-------->DO NOT KNOW WHAT THIS IS FOR... DOING UNINSTALL
X rstp-bridge-test----->DO NOT KNOW WHAT THIS IS FOR... DOING UNINSTALL
X wireless-crd--------->DO NOT KNOW WHAT THIS IS FOR... DOING UNINSTALL

/system/packages (RB133c)---------->Corresponding files in archive

system--------------->system-3.1-mipsle.npk
security------------->security-3.1-mipsle.npk
routerboard---------->routerboard-3.1-mipsle.npk
advanced-tools------->advanced-tools-3.1-mipsle.npk
dhcp----------------->dhcp-3.1-mipsle.npk
wireless------------->wireless-3.1-mipsle.npk
ntp------------------>ntp-3.1-mipsle.npk
routeros-rb500------->WHAT ABOUT THIS? --> integrated in "routerboard-3.1-mipsle.npk"?
routing-test--------->DO NOT KNOW WHAT THIS IS FOR... DOING UNINSTALL

The following are extra files, will be doing research to see what they are for.

calea-3.1-mipsle.npk--------------->Not using this now.
dude-3.1-mipsle.npk---------------->Server or client?
gps-3.1-mipsle.npk----------------->Do not need this now.
ipv6-3.1-mipsle.npk---------------->Do not need this now.
mpls-3.1-mipsle.npk---------------->Don't know what this is... will study(I am a noob)
multicast-3.1-mipsle.npk----------->Not using this now.
routing-3.1-mipsle.npk------------->Not using this now.
ups-3.1-mipsle.npk----------------->Must get this implemented ASAP
Last edited by gimmepatiencequickly on Wed Jan 30, 2008 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Defer not till tomorrow to be wise, tomorrow's sun to thee may never
rise.
--- William Congreve
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Upgrading to 3.0 on a RB500

Wed Jan 30, 2008 3:44 pm

routeros-rb500------->WHAT ABOUT THIS? --> integrated in "routerboard-3.1-mipsle.npk"?
this one includes the basic set of packages, it's a combined package. a better option for you is use ONLY THIS package so there is no confusion.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
gimmepatiencequickly
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 1:00 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: Upgrading to 3.0 on a RB500

Wed Jan 30, 2008 4:33 pm

ok, now I am confused, LOL

So you are saying that for my basic config, I must only upload "routerboard-3.1-mipsle.npk"
I will however be using NTP, so I will upload "ntp-3.1-mipsle.npk" too.
I use DHCP, for CPE so "dhcp-3.1-mipsle.npk" must also get U/Led

I am first going to try it on a CPE(RB133c), before U/Ling to my AP(RB500)

Thanks

Ok, success upgrade from V2.9.50 to V3.1

/system package>

#-->NAME-------------------------------------->VERSION SCHEDULED
0-->system------------------------------------>3.1
1-->routerboard------------------------------->3.1
2-->advanced-tools---------------------------->3.1
3-->ntp--------------------------------------->3.1
4-->security---------------------------------->3.1
5-->wireless---------------------------------->3.1
6-->dhcp-------------------------------------->3.1
Defer not till tomorrow to be wise, tomorrow's sun to thee may never
rise.
--- William Congreve
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Upgrading to 3.0 on a RB500

Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:33 am

NO!!!

I mean this one: routeros-rb500

It includes the other packages inside it.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
gimmepatiencequickly
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 1:00 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: Upgrading to 3.0 on a RB500

Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:32 am

Ok, Normis...

I am apologizing for any emotions I may have already poked, or are going to poke in Pandora's box, but

I think you are confused with the files from V2.9.50.

V3.1 does NOT have the file "routeros-rb500" in the archive.
It does have "routerboard-3.1-mipsle.npk"

V2.9.50 archive has "routeros-rb500-2.9.50.npk"
and I am trying to upgrade from V2.9.50 to V3.1

So routeros-rb500-2.9.50.npk is not going to work for me, as it is already on the system.

Any way, it does not matter as I successfully upgraded the router to V3.1

Thank you for your patience
Defer not till tomorrow to be wise, tomorrow's sun to thee may never
rise.
--- William Congreve
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Upgrading to 3.0 on a RB500

Thu Jan 31, 2008 2:37 pm

Please just follow the instructions on the mikrotik download page.

1. Go to Download page
2. Select RB500
3. Download the Combined Package
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
gimmepatiencequickly
newbie
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 1:00 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: Upgrading to 3.0 on a RB500

Thu Jan 31, 2008 3:14 pm

I did, this is the file list and directory structure...

\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\CHANGELOG_rc
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\routeros-mipsle-3.1.npk <----- take not, this is not routeros-rb500
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\advanced-tools-3.1-mipsle.npk
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\calea-3.1-mipsle.npk
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\dhcp-3.1-mipsle.npk
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\dude-3.1-mipsle.npk
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\gps-3.1-mipsle.npk
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\hotspot-3.1-mipsle.npk
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\ipv6-3.1-mipsle.npk
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\mpls-3.1-mipsle.npk
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\multicast-3.1-mipsle.npk
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\ntp-3.1-mipsle.npk
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\ppp-3.1-mipsle.npk
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\routerboard-3.1-mipsle.npk
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\routing-3.1-mipsle.npk
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\security-3.1-mipsle.npk
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\system-3.1-mipsle.npk
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\ups-3.1-mipsle.npk
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\user-manager-3.1-mipsle.npk
\routeros-mipsle-3.1\all_packages_mipsle\wireless-3.1-mipsle.npk


It does not matter anymore, as I have done the upgrade, I know which file you meant for me to upload which was routeros-mipsle-3.1.npk

Thank you for your help, I think we can close this discussion now.

Oh, and in my Network I use RB500 for AP's, and RB100 for CPE's, and they both use the same basic files.
Defer not till tomorrow to be wise, tomorrow's sun to thee may never
rise.
--- William Congreve
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Upgrading to 3.0 on a RB500

Thu Jan 31, 2008 3:31 pm

in v2.9 the file was called "routeros-rb500", now in v3 it is called "routeros-mipsle". it is the same combined package
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
jordantrx
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:58 pm
Location: WAY upstate NY

Re: Upgrading to 3.0 on a RB500

Thu Jan 31, 2008 4:05 pm

Hey Hey anybody,This is how you install router os 3.1 or usermanager... Just copy the file called routeros-mipsle-3.1.npk (will not be in all packages folder) and paste it in your file section in winbox. And NOW if you want to say use usermanager, you go into the packages section and find the user-manager.npk file copy and paste that into the files section in winbox, and restart your router, and then you will have usermanager! thats how it works, and it works the same with all the other packages in that all-packages folder... Those are optional packages you can install on your Router os routerboard...



Edit: didnt see that you already accomplished install... So editing for anybody else having troubles installing..... -Jordan
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
~Agricultural WISP "ZONE"~ Beware of oncoming cattle and dont hit the farmer!!! I need to ask him about using his silo for an AP first"~

*Automated Billing Installer* http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/AutomatedBilling Built by Krige ;-)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests