Community discussions

 
Gerard
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 4:21 am
Location: Kentucky, USA
Contact:

Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Thu Jan 24, 2008 3:48 pm

Routerboard RB1000 spec's were released to distributors today.

The heart of this device is a new state of the art
PowerPC networking processor which makes the
RB1000 faster than any other MikroTik product.
Our tests have shown that it can throughput up to
400000pps or 3.2Gbps full duplex!
Two CompactFlash slots for webproxy cache and
configuration backups of the User Manager database or
The Dude server are also present.
RB1000 includes RouterOS - the operating system,
which turns this powerful system into a highly
sophisticated router/firewall/bandwidth manager.
The unstopabble power of RouterOS and
RouterBOARD combined, we bring you the fastest
MikroTik router yet.

CPU PPC8547 1333MHz network processor
Memory SODIMM DDR Slot, 512MB installed
Boot loader RouterBOOT, 1Mbit Flash chip
Data storage Onboard NAND memory chip
Ethernet Four 10/100/1000 Mbit/s Gigabit Ethernet with Auto-MDI/X
miniPCI none
Compact Flash Two CompactFlash slot (TrueIDE Microdrive supported)
Serial port One DB9 RS232C asynchronous serial port
Beeper Present
Power options Power jack: 12V DC (includes power supply)
Fan Dual fan with failover support
Case Desktop case included
Dimensions 14 cm x 16 cm
Operating System MikroTik RouterOS v3, Level6 license

Desktop case and power supply is included. Rackmount case will be available Mid April.
List price is $895

Mikrotik has a very limited quantity of these so we will only have 5 or 6 of these available for sale so place your preorders now at http://www.quicklinkwireless.com/default.asp?pid=1252

-Gerard

I'll post the brochure soon as I can.. Teaching a Mikrotik class right now..

EDIT: Got them online...
EDIT2: Fixed the links
http://www.quicklinkwireless.com/rb1000brochure.pdf
http://www.quicklinkwireless.com/rb604brochure.pdf
Last edited by Gerard on Fri Jan 25, 2008 1:53 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Certified Mikrotik Trainer
 
User avatar
jordantrx
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:58 pm
Location: WAY upstate NY

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Thu Jan 24, 2008 4:23 pm

ITS A COMPUTER!!!! But as a routerboard!!!!
~Agricultural WISP "ZONE"~ Beware of oncoming cattle and dont hit the farmer!!! I need to ask him about using his silo for an AP first"~

*Automated Billing Installer* http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/AutomatedBilling Built by Krige ;-)
 
jober
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 688
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:16 pm
Location: Louisiana,USA

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Thu Jan 24, 2008 5:39 pm

Holy crap! That seems kinda pricey for Mikrotik. :shock:
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24206
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Fri Jan 25, 2008 9:18 am

Just the level6 license + cpu make more than half of this price. It's a very high performance device, did you see the test results?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Ozelo
Member
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 3:56 am

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:46 am

Guess its broken, clicking on the links above says "the page cannot be found"... :)
MTCRE - 1104RE006
MTCINE - 1104INE001
 
Gerard
Trainer
Trainer
Topic Author
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 4:21 am
Location: Kentucky, USA
Contact:

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Fri Jan 25, 2008 1:55 pm

Sorry, I fixed the links..

-Gerard
Certified Mikrotik Trainer
 
jober
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 688
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:16 pm
Location: Louisiana,USA

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:48 pm

Yes it does look fast,but at that price I would have thought there would be an expansion slot for T1,T3 or fiber cards. Or a Daughter board for more Ethernet ports
But then again it is a lower price then Cisco with the same set of features. :)
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1962
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:11 pm

....or a miniIDE connector for a 2.5' HDD for cache...I wonder who will keep cache on CF or microdrive...this is stupid.
 
LaSolitaire
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:22 pm

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Sun Jan 27, 2008 12:28 pm

I think you should describe how you tested throughput and make comparision with other RBxxx.
And you should use RouterOS BWtest too.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24206
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:24 am

....or a miniIDE connector for a 2.5' HDD for cache...I wonder who will keep cache on CF or microdrive...this is stupid.
A lot of time has passed since that was true. We are using cache on RB1000 with CF drives, it works great. Modern CF drives don't have this problem that you are worried about.
I think you should describe how you tested throughput and make comparision with other RBxxx.
And you should use RouterOS BWtest too.
http://www.routerboard.com/pdf/tests_jan_2008pps.pdf
http://www.routerboard.com/pdf/tests_jan_2008mbps.pdf

How we tested? RouterOS config is described in the documents, the bandwidth tester is a professional Agilent system.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1962
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Wed Jan 30, 2008 1:52 am

....or a miniIDE connector for a 2.5' HDD for cache...I wonder who will keep cache on CF or microdrive...this is stupid.
A lot of time has passed since that was true. We are using cache on RB1000 with CF drives, it works great. Modern CF drives don't have this problem that you are worried about.
I have 50Gb of cache. Do you have 50GB CF?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24206
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Wed Jan 30, 2008 11:11 am

yes, there are 64Gb:
http://gadgets.fosfor.se/64-gb-compact- ... m-samsung/

and 48Gb:
http://www.engadget.com/tag/48gb/

tip: you don't need so much cache, because most of the web objects today are not cachable, everything is dynamic and built on php + javascript. you can only cache images and static files, but those are few.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1962
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:01 pm

I don't want to think about the price.
...and still the cache is filled up by mikrotik not by me :?
 
esn.toolz
newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 6:52 am

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:28 pm

This girls could be sent with L4 license? or something like that?

Regards.
 
Znuff
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 139
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 2:42 am
Contact:

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Thu Jan 31, 2008 4:33 am

yes, there are 64Gb:
http://gadgets.fosfor.se/64-gb-compact- ... m-samsung/

and 48Gb:
http://www.engadget.com/tag/48gb/

tip: you don't need so much cache, because most of the web objects today are not cachable, everything is dynamic and built on php + javascript. you can only cache images and static files, but those are few.

Those things aren't out yet. And it will probably cost more than 10 x 500GB Hard Disks.

And yes, you can have a cache like that (and this is only 5 days only)
big-proxy.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24206
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:32 am

As I said, even if you do cache these things, there is no guarantee that they will be used from there. Most things are dynamic and change all the time. You don't want to serve your customer yesterdays news, do you?

16Gb CF costs $65, which is not expensive at all.
32Gb: http://cgi.ebay.com/ADATA-32GB-COMPACT- ... dZViewItem
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
ibliz
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 2:30 pm

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:27 pm


A lot of time has passed since that was true. We are using cache on RB1000 with CF drives, it works great. Modern CF drives don't have this problem that you are worried about.
I can tell you that my recent experience in using even brand name CF card as cache storage has not been pretty. Are you implying that today's CF card are capable of 6 billion write cycle ? If so, can you please recommend a brand ?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24206
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Fri Feb 01, 2008 9:51 am

The way proxy works is it caches the static object that your customer downloads, to serve it later when another client requests the same exact file. this can only work for static non-changing objects, which are images and static html files (which are becoming a rarity).

1. If your customers browse all the same sites - there are not many writes, just reads.
2. If your customers browse different sites all the time - there is no use for cache.

Even if you have a lot of data in your cache - it doesn't mean it's used all the time.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
esn.toolz
newbie
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 6:52 am

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Fri Feb 01, 2008 9:53 pm

Can anybody tell me if the RB1000 gonna come with L4 licence?.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24206
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Mon Feb 04, 2008 9:07 am

Can anybody tell me if the RB1000 gonna come with L4 licence?.
it will come with a LEVEL6. it is written in the original post
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
hci
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 594
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:10 pm

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Tue Feb 05, 2008 12:37 am

The way proxy works is it caches the static object that your customer downloads, to serve it later when another client requests the same exact file. this can only work for static non-changing objects, which are images and static html files (which are becoming a rarity).

1. If your customers browse all the same sites - there are not many writes, just reads.
2. If your customers browse different sites all the time - there is no use for cache.

Even if you have a lot of data in your cache - it doesn't mean it's used all the time.
Last time I checked it seemed like 50 percent of our traffic was http on my main router. I have Mikrotik redirect/DST-NAT port 80 traffic to a Squid. I typically see 20-30 percent byte hit or bandwidth savings on that traffic. It seems to speed up some slow websites as well. On another site with a 6mbps link(we are in process of updating) at peak times we can see uplink maxed at 6mbps but out interface occasionally jumps and hangs at over 7mbps. CPU load on the Squid box is usually 1-3 percent. It has a single SATA drive.

I really wish Mikrotik supported WCCP like Cisco did though. I have not tried the proxy built into Mikrotik for some time but I figure the router has enough to do and it would be better on a seperate box especially with a large number of clients.

Matt
Squid Object Cache: Version 2.6.STABLE17
Connection information for squid:
Number of clients accessing cache: 600
Number of HTTP requests received: 89107264
Number of ICP messages received: 0
Number of ICP messages sent: 0
Number of queued ICP replies: 0
Request failure ratio: 0.00
Average HTTP requests per minute since start: 1735.3
Average ICP messages per minute since start: 0.0
Select loop called: 1155379705 times, 2.667 ms avg
Cache information for squid:
Request Hit Ratios: 5min: 43.1%, 60min: 43.4%
Byte Hit Ratios: 5min: 25.0%, 60min: 15.8%
Request Memory Hit Ratios: 5min: 0.7%, 60min: 1.0%
Request Disk Hit Ratios: 5min: 37.0%, 60min: 36.3%
Storage Swap size: 88501112 KB
Storage Mem size: 7876 KB
Mean Object Size: 21.79 KB
Requests given to unlinkd: 0
Median Service Times (seconds) 5 min 60 min:
HTTP Requests (All): 0.05633 0.05633
Cache Misses: 0.19742 0.15888
Cache Hits: 0.01235 0.01035
Near Hits: 0.16775 0.10281
Not-Modified Replies: 0.00091 0.00179
DNS Lookups: 0.02336 0.02683
ICP Queries: 0.00000 0.00000
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Mon Feb 11, 2008 7:38 am

Can anybody tell me if the RB1000 gonna come with L4 licence?.
it will come with a LEVEL6. it is written in the original post
I think esn.toolz was asking for a reduced price version Normis. You stated that the L6 license and cpu were a major part of the cost. Many people don't need your level 6 license but only need the features of the L4.

Have you thought about releasing a cost reduced lite version with L4? You are competing with x86 based routers and the RB1000 seems high to many people.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24206
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Mon Feb 11, 2008 9:57 am

Sorry, I misunderstood the question. Right now I don't have any information about RB1000 with L4 license. But as RB1000 is without wireless part, There are not many uses for this device that work with L4. If you need less than 200 PPPoE users, or less than 20 User Manager sessions - you can buy a cheaper RouterBOARD.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Jrslick22
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:25 am

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Sun Sep 07, 2008 12:09 pm

Where has the web-proxy package gone for RB1000?

I did not see it in the "all packages" download for v3.13 even though its listed under "view content".

cheers
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24206
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Mon Sep 08, 2008 9:13 am

proxy package is now integrated, there is no separate download for it. just go to "/ip web-proxy"
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
jberen
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 9:16 pm
Location: Argentina - Monte Caseros
Contact:

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Mon Sep 15, 2008 4:20 pm

I have a rb1000 with a CF 4 gb, for a small proxy, but I need to mark the layer 7 and make more power routing, believe that it is necessary to increase the RAM memory from 512 to 1024?
thanks

Javier
8) ISP Juan Pujol
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24206
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Routerboard RB1000 and RB604 announced

Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:14 am

you can even increase it to 2Gb.

but why do you need L7 marking for routing? that will be too much unnecessary resource wasting. you can use regular mangle to mark by protocol/port/source/destination and use those marks for policy routing. please avoid l7 as much as possible, it's a real resource killer
No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests