Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Best Voltage

Mon Apr 14, 2008 4:45 am

Hello

Most routerboards run between 16 - 28v

Is there a prefered voltage.

I need to order 100 PSU's and am not sure to choose 15v 18v or 24v

Thanks :-)
 
netrat
Member
Member
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: Virginia

Re: Best Voltage

Mon Apr 14, 2008 10:08 am

What routerboards do you have? I'd recommend getting the 24v PSUs. You can run longer cable runs with higher voltage.
 
User avatar
jordantrx
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:58 pm
Location: WAY upstate NY

Re: Best Voltage

Mon Apr 14, 2008 3:51 pm

Hello

Most routerboards run between 16 - 28v

Is there a prefered voltage.

I need to order 100 PSU's and am not sure to choose 15v 18v or 24v

Thanks :-)
Not to get off Topic But where do you order the PSU From Equis? Thanks -Jordan
~Agricultural WISP "ZONE"~ Beware of oncoming cattle and dont hit the farmer!!! I need to ask him about using his silo for an AP first"~

*Automated Billing Installer* http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/AutomatedBilling Built by Krige ;-)
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: Best Voltage

Mon Apr 14, 2008 4:18 pm

Hi Equis. Hey jordantrx!

The PSU voltage depends on the application. As netrat stated, the longer your supply line is, the higher voltage you should use. But a higher voltage puts a little more stress on the voltage regulator. This is not as bad as it used to be, now that almost everyone is using the PWM voltage regulators instead of the linear type.

My RB133s will operate down to 9vdc. I use 12vdc 500ma supplies on them if connected directly to the box.
 
User avatar
jordantrx
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:58 pm
Location: WAY upstate NY

Re: Best Voltage

Mon Apr 14, 2008 7:51 pm

Hi Equis. Hey jordantrx!

The PSU voltage depends on the application. As netrat stated, the longer your supply line is, the higher voltage you should use. But a higher voltage puts a little more stress on the voltage regulator. This is not as bad as it used to be, now that almost everyone is using the PWM voltage regulators instead of the linear type.

My RB133s will operate down to 9vdc. I use 12vdc 500ma supplies on them if connected directly to the box.
I have a 15V 1a Power supply on my Rb133 with one sr2 and one 8602+ One backhaul one AP. Using POE at 40 feet. -Jordan
~Agricultural WISP "ZONE"~ Beware of oncoming cattle and dont hit the farmer!!! I need to ask him about using his silo for an AP first"~

*Automated Billing Installer* http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/AutomatedBilling Built by Krige ;-)
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: Best Voltage

Tue Apr 15, 2008 1:46 am

I use mostly the 133 or 333

I get PSU from http://www.amtex.com.au/
I buy 100 at a time for good price.

Also electus distribution have a 12v model for less than $15

Opps, just read where you are from, I'm in Australia to most likley not the best option for you.

:-)
 
ainop
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 6:45 pm

Re: Best Voltage

Fri Apr 25, 2008 7:01 pm

I am using the new Crossroads boards to repair dead CPE's from other companies. The first couple I just used the 48vdc supply settings. The other setting for the Crossroads board is for 12vdc. They don't give a range out for these boards, so is it safe to assume that 9-24vdc would be ok on that board? I have a ton of 9-24vdc bricks laying around that I can use.. hate to order more 48vdc supplies if I don't have to.

Thanks in advance.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests