Page 1 of 1

RB493

Posted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 10:32 am
by hilton
Looks nice but a pity it doesn't have a slot for microSD as this would have been the perfect LAN router.

Maybe in time there will be a RB493AH with more memory, faster processor and additional cache slot.

Re: RB493

Posted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 6:27 pm
by HaQs
And without:
Power issue in HARDWARE RB4XX http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=24661

Re: RB493

Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:31 pm
by interlink
Does this unit work as a switch like the old RB 192?.

Re: RB493

Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:34 pm
by normis
yes it does

Re: RB493

Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:32 pm
by mstead
Can I ask if the RB493 will work as a fully unified 9 port switch? I know someone just asked this but the old 192 board only had 4 ports within the switching chip (lan2 -> lan5). It was not possible to use all in one switching group.

Also can it work as a vlan tagged switch?

Regards,

Malcolm

Re: RB493

Posted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:45 pm
by roc-noc.com
I just received our first shipment of RB493 boards and am playing with one today.

It looks like eth2 through eth9 will work as a unified switch. eth1 is independent but can be bridged to that switch if you want all 9 together as switch ports.

Yes it supports VLANs.

Tom

Re: RB493

Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 5:46 am
by DockLine
Can more than 1 switch be created on a rb493? Example, can 2-5 be one switch, and 6-8 be a different switch? Or, can only one switch be created on a rb493?

I'm glad the product is now shipping.

Re: RB493

Posted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 5:54 pm
by roc-noc.com
Yes, you can create multiple switches. Any port from ether2 through ether9 can be master port. Then assign the other ports to the master. You can have multiple masters. Obviously the assigned ports can only serve one master. That is how the switches are created.

ether1 (the POE port) is not tied into the same switch IC so it cannot join as a master or slave through hardware. However, it can be bridged (software).

Tom

Re: RB493

Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:10 am
by ginovilla
following on this topic,

If I would like to expand the RB493 ethernet ports, would anyone have a source for MiniPci to Pci adapters?

I would like to add 2 Mikrotik 4Port Pci cards to a Rb493

Re: RB493

Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 6:01 am
by roc-noc.com
following on this topic,

If I would like to expand the RB493 ethernet ports, would anyone have a source for MiniPci to Pci adapters?

I would like to add 2 Mikrotik 4Port Pci cards to a Rb493
Or better yet, I would like to see a Mikrotik 24 port Routerboard/Switch. But first we need better ethernet port diagnostics. Something like what ifconfig (Linux) gives us so we can see ethernet errors. That is long overdue.

Tom

Re: RB493

Posted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 12:50 pm
by amorsen
But first we need better ethernet port diagnostics.
I was somewhat shocked today when I realized that there are no ethernet diagnostics in routeros. Ouch. This is certainly making me reevaluate whether the RB1000 is an appropriate platform for our customers. For the customers with RB450 it's a nice-to-have, but I am not sure we can justify RB1000 without it.