Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
xandor
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:29 pm

RouterBoard 532 and CM-9 performances

Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:42 pm

HI guys,

We have tested new routerboard 532 with one CM-9 radio module at 333MHz CPU.
We have obtain from bandwidth-test:

UDP-Receive mode: 30.7 Mbps CPU load: 50%
TCP-Receive mode: 23.3 Mbps CPU load: 94-97%
UDP-Send mode: 30.8 Mbps CPU load 100%
TCP-Send mode: 23.3 Mbps CPU load 100%
UDP-both mode: 15.6/15.6 Mbps CPU load 100%
TCP-both mode: 14.7 Mbps CPU load 100%

Regards
Xandor
 
User avatar
lastguru
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 435
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 9:04 pm
Location: Certified Trainer/Consultant in Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Wed Mar 30, 2005 7:06 pm

It is better to test the performace through the router, as the bandwidth tester program itself uses some CPU power.
International MikroTik Certified Trainer and Consultant form Latvia.
I do RouterOS Training and Certification worldwide!

skype: lastguru
 
phendry
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 4:42 pm

Fri Apr 01, 2005 2:11 pm

Anyone tested it properly yet?
 
User avatar
dwright
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 1:10 pm
Location: Mchenry, Il

Sun Apr 10, 2005 1:13 am

How do you know that you have a 333Mhz version? Is this one of the pre-mass production boards with the low voltage, and missing daughter card connector?

I received mine today and the print out that came with it says that it is a 266 Mhz board. Upon reading the manual, I see that you can change the clock rate in the bios. I am looking into this right now. I will be doing some wireless, and ethernet tests. I will post the results when I am finished.

D~
 
OrCAD
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 12:37 pm

Fri May 27, 2005 4:31 pm

I have same board... how to increase clock speed? 266 -> 333?
10x
 
cmit
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1552
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:49 pm
Location: Germany

Fri May 27, 2005 4:56 pm

Either from within RouterOS in the "/system routerboard settings" command hierarchy, or from the BIOS (hit any key wihtin 1 second during boot to enter the bios - connect with a serial console and see yourself... ;) )
Best regards,
Christian Meis
 
User avatar
rickard
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 1:29 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Sun May 29, 2005 9:57 pm

I have 4 RB532 3 of them is running well in 399 Mhz. but in RC4 only 333Mhz. But one of them is only running in 266 Mhz. it cant get higer.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24383
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Mon May 30, 2005 9:47 am

default is 266mhz, max is 333mhz.
 
gianluca
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: Italy - Spain - USA

Mon May 30, 2005 10:47 pm

I tried all but my RB532 are not changing the cpu freq. it stays at 266.

I tried by console and by command. By command it says 333 but dont change in the systems resources and after reboot all back to 266

why ?
 
gianluca
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: Italy - Spain - USA

Tue May 31, 2005 11:34 am

once important thing, after setting Rb must be shut down and power cable must be disconnected. after rebooting cpu mhz will be fixed to new value and you should use keep frequency to fix it forever.
 
OrCAD
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 12:37 pm

Tue May 31, 2005 12:16 pm

Nice,
option 4 in boot menù (f) is 399Mhz, next power shutdown and..... work fine! :wink:
CPU load % decrease but I think to add a fan for the continuosly operation mode.

Regards
 
gianluca
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 258
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: Italy - Spain - USA

Tue May 31, 2005 12:24 pm

we are going to install these RB532 into outddor antenna enclosure. Here summer goes up to 40 ºC and winter is around 5-10 ºC.

It would be nice to have a relation or test results (if any available) about CPU settings and temperature. Also, is temperature lowing performance, i.e. at 40ºC works better with 266 then 333 ?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 49 guests