Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
lormar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:28 pm

Help! 433 I did something really stupid!

Fri Aug 08, 2008 3:22 pm

I have a 433 and one r52 and one xr2. I was trying to get eoip to work with an original hotspot/AP running and using the r52 to connect/eoip and the xr2 as an AP. Well I put in an Ip address it didn't like and I see the wireless side for the XR2 10.10.10.1 but cannot connect to the rb with winbox. I tried going through the lan but same story. I am on an island and cannot find a null modem serial cable (who has these anymore anyway?) and tried to reset the RB using the switch but it doesnt work at all. Anyone have any ideas that I can try to get into the rb433 to fix my stupid?

Mark
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24425
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Help! 433 I did something really stupid!

Fri Aug 08, 2008 3:25 pm

try using the MAC address in the winbox connection window. clicking on the [...] button will scan for the mac if you don't know it.

also try to hold down a metal object inside the metallic reset hole on the board, while booing. this will reset all config. it's not the button, but a small hole! check manual
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
lormar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:28 pm

Re: Help! 433 I did something really stupid!

Fri Aug 08, 2008 3:35 pm

I did try discovery and the MAC addy but to no avail. I did not realize that the links were seperate for the manual and specs on Routerboard.com. Looking now and thanks for the fast reply!
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24425
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Help! 433 I did something really stupid!

Fri Aug 08, 2008 3:48 pm

try another ethernet port if the MAC is not found. you need to be directly connected to it via ethernet
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
lormar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:28 pm

Re: Help! 433 I did something really stupid!

Fri Aug 08, 2008 3:51 pm

Got It! Thanks for your help and also for a very reliable and full featured product. Have a few spots running and they have been 100% so far. Now to see if I can configure this without messing it up again.

Mark
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24425
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Help! 433 I did something really stupid!

Fri Aug 08, 2008 3:52 pm

do it step by step, you can make export files ("/export file=conf") to save configuration at each step. try to utilize the Safe Mode (ctrl+x) which will undo the last step in case a config change disconnects you (as it happened for you now)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
lormar
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:28 pm

Re: Help! 433 I did something really stupid!

Fri Aug 08, 2008 3:56 pm

I will be cautious this time. Thanks again.
 
Hellbound
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 509
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 11:21 am

Re: Help! 433 I did something really stupid!

Thu Aug 21, 2008 8:22 pm

1. START + R
2. cmd > click ok
3. ping 10.10.10.1
4. arp -a
5. get mac address
6. paste in winbox
7. click connect
 
boardman
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 260
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:10 pm
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: Help! 433 I did something really stupid!

Mon Aug 25, 2008 3:44 am

Don't forget about CTRL-X (Safe Mode feature) for next time, if you screw things up, just power-cycle your Mikrotik and it will be just as it was before you started to mess with it. =)


Best Regards


Jorge Boardman

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BartoszP, dylan2228 and 18 guests