Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1969
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

RB450 High temperature !

Fri Aug 22, 2008 12:37 am

I just install an RB450 and is really hot with or without configuration or traffic, with 12v, 18v, 24v power. I mean is so hot you could not keep your hand on; on the other side, also today i've installed an RB433 and it's not burning! Same power sources. On RB450 all the chips are hot including the CPU. Is it normal?
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1969
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:19 pm

Today I have found the router shutdown. Is it possible to autoshutdown because of high temperature?
 
Gerard
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 336
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 4:21 am
Location: Kentucky, USA
Contact:

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Sat Aug 23, 2008 2:41 am

RB450's run very hot. Not sure why as they are the same processor as the rest of the 400's..

I have trouble with some of them in unventilated outdoor enclosures rebooting/locking up on really hot days..

-Gerard
Certified Mikrotik Trainer
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1969
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Sat Aug 23, 2008 4:44 am

Here every day is a very hot day :lol:
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1969
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:10 am

The cpu in RB450 is the same like in 433
MIPS 24K V7.4 in RB450
MIPS 24K V7.4 in RB433
MIPS 24K V7.4 in RB411
and still the operating temperature is very high than the rest and is the only one without a cooler connector!!!
 
alvils
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 11:58 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Tue Aug 26, 2008 9:56 am

Mine is quite hot as well. Yet, it hasn't locked up. The only thing that crashes is the management service, but I don't think that's because of high temperature.
 
zipo
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:34 pm

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:09 pm

hi i.m new here but i had some experiment regarding the restart and the cpu heat
i took out from my router board rb133c3 the dude its working fine since then
all mpsle rev has same problem i tried thim all so fare working correct without the dude and faster and take out unnecessary packeg to free the some mem
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1969
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:12 pm

you are not helping....Rb133c has nothing to do with RB450
 
zipo
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:34 pm

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Thu Aug 28, 2008 1:06 am

you AR right the reason i post my experiment to ya for you to try them since your problem is similar
dose not hurt ..that way we can put together to get close to the issue we all have and correct the cos
 
conjurer
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 9:46 pm

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Thu Aug 28, 2008 1:30 pm

I left two 450's with speed test on, going 100mbps FD for a night, and they didn't crashed.
But i was thinking to put biger heatsink on its procesor, anyone has done that?
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1969
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Fri Aug 29, 2008 4:22 am

The problem is that all the chips are hot...not just the cpu. The hole board is hot.
 
conjurer
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 9:46 pm

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:56 pm

Well i found a solution. Its titan pc case single slot cooler. It blows air into routerboard and cools all system. Just use 12V adapter (from switch or something). Air goes out from lan ports and other side holes. Screws fits perfectly. It just get bigger and noisier and cool. And needs 2 electricity outlets.
Sad that rb450 hasn't thermometer.
rb450eee.jpg
rb450.jpg
P.S. sorry for big images.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Sun Jun 07, 2009 2:14 pm

Over the past year the RB450 boards have proven to be very reliable. So I guess your concerns about the temperature that they run at are not something to worry about.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
suguz
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 8:39 am

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Thu Aug 13, 2009 9:13 am

I have three RB450s running in my office.
two of them cannot boot up because of over heat temperature
I already check one to my mikrotik distributor, and they found it has leaked capacitor components

I suggest not to buy RB450 again because i already had two bad experiences with rb450
dont know if rb450g better than rb450 in temperature
 
jasejames
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:04 am

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Thu Aug 13, 2009 5:39 pm

I don't know if this is related, but I have noticed that the 433UAH gets warm (very warm under load), but that if the stock 24V PSU is swapped out for a 12V one of the correct rating the temperature drops considerably.

Could this just be a case of the regulator IC being worked too hard?
 
User avatar
NetworkPro
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1370
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:23 pm
Location: Worldwide
Contact:

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Thu Aug 13, 2009 6:05 pm

Very interesting. Could be overvolting some parts ... the main chip maybe ? :) Entertaining sutff LOL

edit: what csickles sais in the post BELOW is true, I agree totally :)
Last edited by NetworkPro on Thu Aug 13, 2009 11:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/NetworkPro_on_Quality_of_Service
 
csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Thu Aug 13, 2009 10:47 pm

If the CAPs are "leaking" and bulging... they are bad.

If the caps are "leakey" physicaly then they are "leakey" electricaly.

Cooling them will only mask the problem for a while...

Leakey caps will cause heat probelems on any charge pump design (swithing power supply)...

The regulater system and charge pump componants must work MUCH harder to overcome the bad Cap..

Loweing the input voltage "CAN" have some affect based on how the circuit is designed...

My guess is that you simply have a bad board.. (bad caps)..

I would contact the Disti and see about a replacement.

If the unit is no longer covered, have the caps replaced (Values and Polarity MUST be correct)..

I see this same type of issue all the time on main boards and some power supplies..

Usualy the supply can be repaired by replacing the bad Cap, and all is well, usualy the rest of the supply is undamaged by the bad componant..
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig
 
iuli4u2003
newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2012 10:13 am

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Thu Aug 09, 2012 6:38 pm

Well i found a solution. Its titan pc case single slot cooler. It blows air into routerboard and cools all system. Just use 12V adapter (from switch or something). Air goes out from lan ports and other side holes. Screws fits perfectly. It just get bigger and noisier and cool. And needs 2 electricity outlets.
Sad that rb450 hasn't thermometer.
rb450eee.jpg
rb450.jpg
P.S. sorry for big images.
Hi, I have the same model of router rb450g and I would like to mount a cooler, please tell me what model is that cooler you installed. thanks
 
User avatar
NetworkPro
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1370
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:23 pm
Location: Worldwide
Contact:

Re: RB450 High temperature !

Thu Aug 09, 2012 7:02 pm

I use a 120mm general purpose/PC fan powered by 5v instead of 12v. This makes it close to noiseless. This is mounted ontop of the PCB with the top aluminium cover removed. I haven't solved the dust problem though but I am solving the entire problem by smashing the 450g into pieces and replacing it with 2011.
wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/NetworkPro_on_Quality_of_Service

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mkx and 23 guests