Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
NetworkPro
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1370
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:23 pm
Location: Worldwide
Contact:

Huge problems with a couple of RB433AH 10km p2p

Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:25 pm

> Hello,
>
> We have a couple of RB433AH - one in the City connected to two ADSL
> modems and the other in the near small town connected to ~100 clients.
> The wireless link is 10Km but performance is poor. I tried to turn on
> turbo and the bandwidth test went from 4~5Mbps to 8~9Mbps, per
> direction in a "direction=both, tcp" BWTest ran at the RBs themselves.
> But later the whole thing crashed, the RB in the city with the two
> ADSLs connected gives a lot of problems. Attached is a autosupot.rif I
> found on it after it crashing. And a supout.rif which I just
> generated. After a lot of problems we restored a backup which is now
> active, so you can see what currently works (supout.rif) but with very
> poor Wi-Fi performance and what crashed the router several hours before
> (autosupot.old.rif). I hope you can tell me what's happening here,
> where do we have problems, where can we improve, do we need to replace
> the RB or what to do? Another thing we must consider is that my
> colleague told me that when enabling ADSL1 PPPoE connection - the RB
> crashed and with ADSL2 the RB was OK.
>
> In my opinion the current configuration is not correct but works and
> we need to improve it a lot. wlan1 and wds1 do not need to be in a
> Bridge, right? The Wi-Fi link is p2p.
>
> We will try to improve the config, doing a QoS, load balancing,
> fail-over, Web Proxy on the RB which seems to save some bandwidth
> across the slow ADSLs without making much CPU usage and without
> writing to the Flash which is good.
>
> After the last crash the station-wds RB433AH in the small town could
> not request a wds type link and IP connection was lost. Could this be
> a problem in WDS implementation combined with specific
> (mis)configuration?
>
> By the way, after the one of the recent crashes, the graphs were lost
> and I turned them off.
>
> Thanks for the help.
>
> Regards.
>
> NetworkPro.
Hello,

Note, that -55 signal strength is not poor wireless configuration. It is very
good wireless signal indeed, -40 signal is too good. When you have wireless
link with -40 signal, tx-power of the wireless card should be decreased and
you should get about -50 to -60. Too good signal can cause problems and
latency too.

Make sure you need WDS for the wireless link, WDS is required when transparent
bridging is necessary on your network. Otherwise you can simply use
mode=bridge and mode=station on the other end and IP addresses, when bridging
is not required.

Do not run bandwidth test, but send real data (FTP transfer, HTTP download)
over the wireless link and check the throughput.


Regards,
Sergejs
I changed signal strength to -55dBm by reducing the tx power of the RB that is OK. Reducing the tx power of the problematic RB in the city does not change signal strength and it's always at -66/67dBm. Right now both are set at 12dBm, default was ~24. Currently running v3.18.

Please if anyone has some suggestions, we would appreciate any help. Thanks :?
wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/NetworkPro_on_Quality_of_Service
 
User avatar
NetworkPro
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1370
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:23 pm
Location: Worldwide
Contact:

Re: Huge problems with a couple of RB433AH 10km p2p

Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:48 pm

from manual:
Example
To check system health:
[admin@MikroTik] system health> print
core: 1.32
3.3v: 3.26
5v: 4.97
lm87-temp: -0.9
cpu-temp: -0.9
board-temp: -0.9
state: enabled
state-after-reboot: enabled
[admin@MikroTik] system routerboard health>
no such entries in CLI on v3.18 on RB433AH :(

How can I check temperature?
wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/NetworkPro_on_Quality_of_Service
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Huge problems with a couple of RB433AH 10km p2p

Wed Jan 14, 2009 9:35 am

there are no temperature sensors on routerboards now. only on RB230 I think
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
NetworkPro
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1370
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:23 pm
Location: Worldwide
Contact:

Re: Huge problems with a couple of RB433AH 10km p2p

Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:35 pm

Thanks. Here are some quotes from support:

Sergejs
In case you there is anything to do with the configuration, you may run
/interface wireless reset-configuration wlan<number> to reset wireless
interface configuration, just make sure you are not connected to the wireless.

Correct WDS configuration example is given here,
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Transpare ... o_Networks
before selecting frequency for the wireless link, run /interface wireless
snooper to scan and find less overloaded frequency on which to run link.
RB433AH does not provide information for the temperature, only RB230 provides
information for the temperature.
There should not be any hardware problems on the RB433AH, if you can switch it
on, wireless card is recognized and wireless link can be established.
Mostly hardware problems can be related for situation, when RouterBOARD is not
switching on or wireless cards are not recognized.
I remind you that for now the biggest problem is that the RB in the city is not stable. Around 17:00 it starts trying to restart or something, and with a cold restart with a 1 minute off time its operational again. We will see what will happen today..
wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/NetworkPro_on_Quality_of_Service
 
User avatar
NetworkPro
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1370
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:23 pm
Location: Worldwide
Contact:

Re: Huge problems with a couple of RB433AH 10km p2p

Wed Jan 14, 2009 6:10 pm

The router has just been restarted without proper shutdown by watchdog timer. What gives?!
/system watchdog export
...
/system watchdog
set auto-send-supout=no automatic-supout=yes no-ping-delay=5m watch-address=none watchdog-timer=yes
wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/NetworkPro_on_Quality_of_Service
 
User avatar
NetworkPro
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1370
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:23 pm
Location: Worldwide
Contact:

Re: Huge problems with a couple of RB433AH 10km p2p

Wed Jan 14, 2009 8:24 pm

In latest discoveries, it seems that when internet is going through ether1 to ADSL1 the watchdog reboots every ~ 3 mins and when using ether2 to ADSL2 there is no such problem.
wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/NetworkPro_on_Quality_of_Service
 
User avatar
NetworkPro
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1370
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:23 pm
Location: Worldwide
Contact:

Re: Huge problems with a couple of RB433AH 10km p2p

Thu Jan 15, 2009 2:54 pm

I meant that watchdog reboots every 3 mins when it start rebooting. There is like 15 hour uptime without problems and then it start happening. Today watchdog rebooted at 13:00 and right now we are back to ADSL2 on ether2.
wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/NetworkPro_on_Quality_of_Service
 
User avatar
NetworkPro
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1370
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:23 pm
Location: Worldwide
Contact:

Re: Huge problems with a couple of RB433AH 10km p2p

Sat Jan 17, 2009 6:35 pm

Problem must be due to imesh layer 7 recognition rule. Problem known to Linux community since 2007. Sad.
Last edited by NetworkPro on Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/NetworkPro_on_Quality_of_Service
 
User avatar
Equis
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 888
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 6:48 am

Re: Huge problems with a couple of RB433AH 10km p2p

Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:32 am

I also have a problem on a 433AH can go days but then watchdog timer reboots (because it can't pass traffic on ether1
 
gmidia
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 3:28 pm

Re: Huge problems with a couple of RB433AH 10km p2p

Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:37 pm

have the rb433AH do the PTP bridging . With the ADSL side have the routing done on a an RB1000 or RB600 as opposed to having the rb433AH handling the routing load balancing ptp at the same time. the client end can do the ptp and hotspot comfortably
 
User avatar
NetworkPro
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1370
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 6:23 pm
Location: Worldwide
Contact:

Re: Huge problems with a couple of RB433AH 10km p2p

Wed Jan 21, 2009 11:46 pm

have the rb433AH do the PTP bridging . With the ADSL side have the routing done on a an RB1000 or RB600 as opposed to having the rb433AH handling the routing load balancing ptp at the same time. the client end can do the ptp and hotspot comfortably
I disagree. RB433AH is more than enough to do everything. Until we see 98% CPU usage we do not need to change the device. We can put the money to better use.
wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/NetworkPro_on_Quality_of_Service

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests