Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

RB450G is here!

Sun Mar 08, 2009 5:01 am

RB450G is here!

I got my hands on the new RB450G today. It looks like an awesome value. 680MHz Atheros AR7161 (MIPS big endian), 256MB RAM, 512MB flash (data sheet says 64MB), 5 Gig-ethernet ports, microSD slot (supports SDHC 2.0), and RouterOS level 4, all for $99!

I tested the microSD slot with a Lexar 8GB microSDHC card. It formatted and mounted just fine.

The boards shipped with ROS 3.21 which has a 'store' menu for the microSD card. There was also a 'mesh' menu that will be fun to play with on a RB433ah when they release 3.21.

The only negative that I found was that the master port assignment doesn't work. I am hoping that it will be fixed/supported in future software releases.

Tom
Last edited by roc-noc.com on Sun Mar 08, 2009 5:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
msundman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 2:44 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: RB450G is here!

Sun Mar 08, 2009 1:04 pm

Cool! I can't wait to get my hands on one of those as well.

Shipped with ROS v3.21 you say? Is it not a GA version of RB450G you got, or are they distributing it with 3.21 before releasing that version for download from the website?

I guess RB450G will be a great box to run MetaRouter on aswell with its plenty of RAM (compared to the other RB4XX products). Was MetaRouter enabled on your device?
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB450G is here!

Sun Mar 08, 2009 8:19 pm

Cool! I can't wait to get my hands on one of those as well.

Shipped with ROS v3.21 you say? Is it not a GA version of RB450G you got, or are they distributing it with 3.21 before releasing that version for download from the website?
Don't know the meaing of "GA version" but these are production RB450G boards that came with ROS 3.21 and 2.20 firmware installed. And yes, 3.21 is still not available to download from the MT website.
I guess RB450G will be a great box to run MetaRouter on aswell with its plenty of RAM (compared to the other RB4XX products). Was MetaRouter enabled on your device?
No metarouter yet. I am guessing that they needed 3.21 (or a new ROS version) to support the ethernet ports but metarouter probably was not ready for release yet.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
QpoX
Member
Member
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:42 pm
Location: Lemvig, Denmark

Re: RB450G is here!

Sun Mar 08, 2009 8:48 pm

Where is the micro sd slot located? i can't really see it on photos there is of it...
But it sounds really nice :)
 
msundman
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 2:44 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: RB450G is here!

Sun Mar 08, 2009 10:20 pm

Cool! I can't wait to get my hands on one of those as well.

Shipped with ROS v3.21 you say? Is it not a GA version of RB450G you got, or are they distributing it with 3.21 before releasing that version for download from the website?
Don't know the meaing of "GA version" but these are production RB450G boards that came with ROS 3.21 and 2.20 firmware installed.
GA=General Availability, ie available for the public.
I guess RB450G will be a great box to run MetaRouter on aswell with its plenty of RAM (compared to the other RB4XX products). Was MetaRouter enabled on your device?
No metarouter yet. I am guessing that they needed 3.21 (or a new ROS version) to support the ethernet ports but metarouter probably was not ready for release yet.
Sad, it says in the Wiki that Metarouter would be included in 3.21. And as it only ships with a Level4 license we can't play with the 4.0beta :(
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB450G is here!

Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:44 am

Where is the micro sd slot located? i can't really see it on photos there is of it...
But it sounds really nice :)
The bottom side of the PCB has the microSD slot and it does fit inside the indoor case with card installed.
(The slot is mounted under the smaller heat sink... you plug in the card from the edge of the board opposite the power jack).

There are also three other ICs on the bottom side center of the board. They are either flash or RAM chips.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
QpoX
Member
Member
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:42 pm
Location: Lemvig, Denmark

Re: RB450G is here!

Mon Mar 09, 2009 2:01 am

Where is the micro sd slot located? i can't really see it on photos there is of it...
But it sounds really nice :)
The bottom side of the PCB has the microSD slot and it does fit inside the indoor case with card installed.
(The slot is mounted under the smaller heat sink... you plug in the card from the edge of the board opposite the power jack).

There are also three other ICs on the bottom side center of the board. They are either flash or RAM chips.

Tom
ok thx...
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB450G is here!

Mon Mar 09, 2009 2:15 am

Sad, it says in the Wiki that Metarouter would be included in 3.21. And as it only ships with a Level4 license we can't play with the 4.0beta :(
I suspect that they left the package out if it is not yet ready. Details below. I am sure that we will be able to add it when available.

[admin@MikroTik] > system package print
Flags: X - disabled
# NAME VERSION SCHEDULED
0 routeros-mipsbe 3.21
1 system 3.21
2 X mpls 3.21
3 X ipv6 3.21
4 security 3.21
5 dhcp 3.21
6 wireless 3.21
7 ppp 3.21
8 hotspot 3.21
9 routerboard 3.21
10 routing 3.21
11 advanced-tools 3.21

[admin@MikroTik] > system resource print
uptime: 21m49s
version: "3.21"
free-memory: 245904kB
total-memory: 257388kB
cpu: "MIPS 24K V7.4"
cpu-count: 1
cpu-frequency: 680MHz
cpu-load: 1
free-hdd-space: 484920kB
total-hdd-space: 520192kB
write-sect-since-reboot: 56
write-sect-total: 56
bad-blocks: 2
architecture-name: "mipsbe"
board-name: "RB450G"
[admin@MikroTik] >

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB450G is here!

Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:14 pm

Update.

Mikrotik support confirmed that 512MB NAND Flash is correct for the RB450G and the data sheet will be updated.

Also switch port assignment to master ports should be fixed in ROS 3.22 and Metarouter support will be added in an upcoming ROS release.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
believewireless
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 6:30 pm

Re: RB450G is here!

Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:19 am

I'm guessing it's the ethernet drivers but this board is performing worse than the 493AH with 10/100 ports. Running a TCP btest to a 493AH shows 93Mbps while the same test to a 450G shows 58Mbps.
 
QpoX
Member
Member
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:42 pm
Location: Lemvig, Denmark

Re: RB450G is here!

Sat Mar 14, 2009 7:28 am

I'm guessing it's the ethernet drivers but this board is performing worse than the 493AH with 10/100 ports. Running a TCP btest to a 493AH shows 93Mbps while the same test to a 450G shows 58Mbps.
What ethernet port did you test with on the 450G?
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB450G is here!

Sun Mar 15, 2009 6:23 pm

I'm guessing it's the ethernet drivers but this board is performing worse than the 493AH with 10/100 ports. Running a TCP btest to a 493AH shows 93Mbps while the same test to a 450G shows 58Mbps.
Please describe your test setup. What is your host device running to the RB450G and what ports are connected?

I suspect that things will improve with ROS 3.22 which is supposed to be released on Monday. I'm excited to try out the ethernet stats command that I saw in the changelog posted in another thread. I am hoping that it finally shows us ethernet errors.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
hedele
Member
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:23 pm

Re: RB450G is here!

Sat Mar 21, 2009 8:33 am

Any information on what MTU Size is supported by the Ethernet Ports?
 
brotherdust
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:31 am

Re: RB450G is here!

Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:37 am

I too am experiencing slowness. Same speeds as stated in the above posts.
I tested using Btest on port 2 which is a switch master. Same results if it's not a switch master. Anyone have any ideas? This is kinda discouraging.
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB450G is here!

Mon Mar 23, 2009 3:38 pm

Any information on what MTU Size is supported by the Ethernet Ports?
1500 is the default. 1520 is the max mtu that you can set.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
hedele
Member
Member
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:23 pm

Re: RB450G is here!

Mon Mar 23, 2009 7:59 pm

OK thanks, i actually hoped the Gigabit Ports would allow for Jumbo Frames like the RB600 does, but then again - that 450G still does more than one would expect for the price :)
 
jboehle
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 3:22 am
Location: Lawrence, KS, USA

Re: RB450G is here!

Thu Mar 26, 2009 3:32 am

Hi all! I work at home and need to be pretty much connected to my work via PPTP VPN constantly. I used to have a router that could act as a PPTP client, a Netopia R910, but I sold it long ago, plus it's LAN side was only a 10Mbs hub. I've been searching around for a consumer router that can act as a PPTP client, but haven't had much luck.

I was thinking about buying a used Cisco 1711 off eBay, but I haven't been able to find convincing evidence that it can in fact act as a PPTP client (everything I've found says that it might work but it's unsupported).

I need to have the PPTP connection dialed on demand when traffic is detected to certain networks (192.168.2.x, 10.20.10.x), or to just keep the PPTP connection up all the time, and reconnect immediately if it goes down for some reason.

I ran across MikroTik/RouterOS/RouterBoard in my Google searches, and this RB450G certainly looks like an affordable device that hopefully can do what I need it to.

So, my question to you guys is: can the RB450G act as a PPTP client, routing only certain traffic over the VPN link, routing all my normal internet traffic out my DSL connection directly? Can the RB450G keep the PPTP connection up all the time (or demand dial it), reconnecting automatically if it goes down?

Thanks!
 
csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: RB450G is here!

Thu Mar 26, 2009 4:44 am

Yes it can act as a pptp client..

I use a "split" VPN via IPSEC.

The default fraffic to the internet leaves the wan regularly, traffic destined to the other VPNd net is forced into the IPSEC tunnel and over the VPN...

WORKS GREAT !!!!
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig
 
jboehle
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 3:22 am
Location: Lawrence, KS, USA

Re: RB450G is here!

Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:45 pm

I found out I may be able to get AT&T U-Verse DSL soon (18 MBit down, 1.5 MBit up). Since my last post, my work has also agreed to implement an IPSec VPN for me. Can the RB450G fully utilize that bandwidth? What kind of throughput can I expect to see on an IPSec AES tunnel while the RB450G is also performing firewall and normal routing duties? Would it be 10Mbit+ on the IPSec tunnel?
 
CarulloS
Member
Member
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 5:52 am

Re: RB450G is here!

Thu Apr 02, 2009 9:35 am

Any word on throughput issue?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450G is here!

Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:00 am

I found out I may be able to get AT&T U-Verse DSL soon (18 MBit down, 1.5 MBit up). Since my last post, my work has also agreed to implement an IPSec VPN for me. Can the RB450G fully utilize that bandwidth? What kind of throughput can I expect to see on an IPSec AES tunnel while the RB450G is also performing firewall and normal routing duties? Would it be 10Mbit+ on the IPSec tunnel?
Every RouterBOARD have all the features of the RouterOS (licensing restrictions apply) that way you can have pptp client, pptp server, ipsec etc. (just see RouterOS manual)

also, i am using RB450G and i cannot report any slowness (had RB600 before and speeds are the same)
(downloading 40 files with sizes from few bytes to few MB i can get 12MBytes/s of TCP/IP traffic)
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450G is here!

Wed Apr 08, 2009 10:23 am

Can you please post how you did the test? I can't imagine why you get this speed, are you testing with 64Byte packets TCP? If so, then this is normal speed, look at this for comparison:

http://www.routerboard.com/pdf/tests_july_2008.pdf

This is our result with RB450G:
Firewall	Conntrack	Mode	64 byte packets	512 byte packets	1500 byte packets
N/A	Off	Routing	92000	91000	77000
N/A	On	Routing	74000	70700	64000
Off	Off	Rstp-bridge	128500	120500	83200
On	Off	Rstp-bridge	85000	79500	68500
On	On	Rstp-bridge	61000	61000	55500
(these pps results translate to ~40-85Mbps for 64Byte packets)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2314
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB450G is here!

Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:24 pm

Where is on the board temperature sensor? How reads the temperature via SNMP? Thanks
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
interlink
newbie
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 5:18 am
Location: Ar Ros

Re: RB450G is here!

Wed Apr 08, 2009 9:25 pm

Not available yet, as you can see on ROS 3.22

[xxx@Ric-rtr] > system health
[xxx@Ric-rtr] /system health> print
fan-mode: auto
use-fan: main
active-fan: main
voltage: 11.9
temperature: 49
[xxx@Ric-rtr] /system health> print oid
voltage: .1.3.6.1.4.1.14988.1.1.3.8.0
[xxx@Ric-rtr] /system health>
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450G is here!

Thu Apr 09, 2009 8:56 am

we will make it also available over SNMP
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2314
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB450G is here!

Thu Apr 09, 2009 1:00 pm

we will make it also available over SNMP
In 3.23? :) Yes or No?
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2314
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB450G is here!

Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:41 pm

please when?
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2314
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB450G is here!

Tue Apr 21, 2009 11:38 am

SNMP Temerature OID in 3.24?
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2314
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB450G is here!

Thu May 28, 2009 1:46 pm

When we can monitor Temperature over SNMP?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450G is here!

Thu May 28, 2009 1:49 pm

you can only monitor information that's possible to read. if there is no temperature sensor, you can't monitor ir.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2314
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB450G is here!

Thu May 28, 2009 5:26 pm

You write on routerboard.com
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450G is here!

Fri May 29, 2009 8:41 am

My mistake, sorry. Apparently winbox doesn't show it, but terminal must have it. I will also check about SNMP
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2314
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB450G is here!

Fri May 29, 2009 9:13 am

I will also check about SNMP
In 3.25 or later? :)
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
savage
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1220
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 12:07 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Contact:

Re: RB450G is here!

Fri May 29, 2009 9:28 am

Hmmm Normis,

As I plan to throw 200+ of these babies out in the field inside a bunch of manholes pretty soon, I would love a reliable voltage and temp sensor ;)

This thread is a good find, I look forward to getting my first 450G for some testing.
Regards,
Chris
 
QpoX
Member
Member
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:42 pm
Location: Lemvig, Denmark

Re: RB450G is here!

Fri May 29, 2009 1:26 pm

Hmmm Normis,

As I plan to throw 200+ of these babies out in the field inside a bunch of manholes pretty soon, I would love a reliable voltage and temp sensor ;)

This thread is a good find, I look forward to getting my first 450G for some testing.
In manholes??? what is the function there?
 
meno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:45 am

Re: RB450G is here!

Fri May 29, 2009 8:04 pm

do u guy tried to overclock at 800 Mhz?
 
ianek
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 5:53 pm

Re: RB450G is here!

Wed Jul 15, 2009 9:59 am

I will also check about SNMP
In 3.25 or later? :)
Not yet in 3.26 :(, id like to graph my temp status :((


Jan
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2314
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB450G is here!

Wed Jul 15, 2009 2:02 pm

I too :?
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
rkj
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 7:38 pm

Re: RB450G is here!

Sun Jul 19, 2009 9:44 pm

Any information on what MTU Size is supported by the Ethernet Ports?
1500 is the default. 1520 is the max mtu that you can set.

Tom
roc-noc, is 1520 the max IP MTU or L2 MTU ? Using VLANs ? Port 1 or other ports ?

May I suggest Mikrotik to update http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Maximum_T ... uterBoards with RB-450G specs ?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450G is here!

Mon Jul 20, 2009 12:45 pm


May I suggest Mikrotik to update http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Maximum_T ... uterBoards with RB-450G specs ?
list updated
 
wimaxbuea
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:52 am

Re: RB450G is here!

Fri Oct 07, 2011 11:24 pm

hi i wish to fine out if some one can help me solve this problem, am using mitrokik router RB450G to run a small hotspot, my internet provider gives me connection throught ppoe i.e just with a user name and password but am on able to link the connection with the user name and password to the router, can some one help me out to link this connection to the router without and ip address?
thanks waiting for a solution
 
jtroybailey
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 10:24 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: RB450G is here!

Sat Oct 08, 2011 1:37 am

hi i wish to fine out if some one can help me solve this problem, am using mitrokik router RB450G to run a small hotspot, my internet provider gives me connection throught ppoe i.e just with a user name and password but am on able to link the connection with the user name and password to the router, can some one help me out to link this connection to the router without and ip address?
thanks waiting for a solution
Why dont you start a new topic, this one is 3 years old. PS we need more info.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests