Page 1 of 1

Pl guide me on the basic set up

Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:18 am
by JohnWifispots
Hi,
I am a newbie to Mikrotik.
Bear with me if I am asking fundamental question.

I am trying to get the below set up for some testing environment.

PC#1 --> RB411A (Station) ------ Wireless ---> RB433 (AP-bridge) --> PC#2.
I am using R52 Radio Modules.

I can associate with the AP.
More over, when I log in through Win Box from RB411 side , I can see both the MAC IDs of the miniPCI connected to RB411 & RB433.This means that they are wire lessly connected?
Below is the IP schema I had followed.

RB411 side (Station)
*****************
PC IP Address : 192.168.0.10
Mask 255.255.255.0
Gateway 192.168.0.1

RB411 ether1 192.168.0.225
RB411 wlan1 192.168.0.1

RB433 side (AP)
PC IP Address : 192.168.0.20
Mask 255.255.255.0
Gateway 192.168.0.100

RB433 ether1 192.168.0.100
RB433 wlan1 192.168.0.1

*******************
My objective here is to run the Bandwidth test from the PC #1 to PC#2 & vice versa.
Currently I can not even ping the units from the PC behind.

I am sure I am missing something here.
Any hint would be of great help.

Thanks,

Re: Pl guide me on the basic set up

Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 9:35 am
by normis
either you need some routes, or you need to add some masquerade rules. I suggest this:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Making_a_ ... ireless_AP

and this
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/MikroTik_ ... _Questions

Re: Pl guide me on the basic set up

Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 11:50 am
by JohnWifispots
Thanks Normis,

I tried the follg as route

RB433 side
Destination = 0.0.0.0/0
Gateway WLAN
Gateway interface WLAN1
Preferred source address 192.168.0.225

RB411 side
Destination = 0.0.0.0/0
Gateway WLAN
Gateway interface WLAN1
Preferred source address 192.168.0.100

Also, tried the masqurading, no effect..

From the AP side, I can also the client's MAC ID in the registration page, which means , the wireless connection is OK.

Any idea, what I am missing here?
Or can you suggest what routes I need to follow exactly for this requirement?

Thanks,

Re: Pl guide me on the basic set up

Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:52 pm
by JohnWifispots
Normis,
You have any suggestion to try out?

Thanks,

Re: Pl guide me on the basic set up

Posted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 4:23 pm
by JohnWifispots
Looks like the default route added by the router is causing this problem.
Is there any way to remove it ?
I tried by removing it through IP--> Route menu, but I get the message
Can't remove Route <....> - can remove only static routes [6]
Any thoughts?
Thanks,

Re: Pl guide me on the basic set up

Posted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 4:53 pm
by poli5681
Hello,

You don need to use routes for this. Just configure one device as ap-bridge (or simply bridge) and the other as "station wds".
Add a bridge and add the ether and wlan ports to that bridge on both devices. As long as your PCs are in the same subnet you should be able to do bandwidth tests, or whatever, over the wireless bridge.

Hope that helps.

Re: Pl guide me on the basic set up

Posted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 6:44 pm
by JohnWifispots
Thanks Poli,

1. I restored to defaults all the settings, configured as you have suggested.
2. Added Route in RB433 for the network of PC behind RB411.

It finally worked .

Adding the Route was necessary to ping from the PCs..

Thanks again..