Community discussions

 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

RB750G revealed!

Sun Nov 08, 2009 7:14 pm

What's inside the brand new RB750G.
rb750g_top_naked_small.jpg
For a larger top and bottom image...

http://www.roc-noc.com/rb750g_top_naked_large.jpg
http://www.roc-noc.com/rb750g_bottom_naked_large.jpg

Tom
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24127
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750G revealed!

Mon Nov 09, 2009 12:43 pm

teardown fun :D
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
QpoX
Member
Member
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:42 pm
Location: Lemvig, Denmark

Re: RB750G revealed!

Tue Nov 10, 2009 1:20 am

What's inside the brand new RB750G.
rb750g_top_naked_small.jpg
For a larger top and bottom image...

http://www.roc-noc.com/rb750g_top_naked_large.jpg
http://www.roc-noc.com/rb750g_bottom_naked_large.jpg

Tom
*mmm* naked hardware... Thx!
 
meno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:45 am

Re: RB750G revealed!

Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:04 pm

sweeeeeeet haha
XD
 
meno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:45 am

Re: RB750G revealed!

Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:08 pm

the PCB is the same cpu and switch chip than the RB450G, so why is it so lower (performance) than RB450G?

it uses AR7161 (680Mhz) and switch chip AR8613 (gigabit)

??
 
User avatar
Ibersystems
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1681
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 12:29 am
Location: Cabrils, Barcelona - Spain
Contact:

Re: RB750G revealed!

Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:03 pm

the PCB is the same cpu and switch chip than the RB450G, so why is it so lower (performance) than RB450G?

it uses AR7161 (680Mhz) and switch chip AR8613 (gigabit)

??
I think it's 680 and Gb ethernet but with 32Mb : P!
Martín
martinruiz at ibersystems.es
Experto en redes WiFi y enlaces WiFi.

Facebook: @Ibersystems
Twitter: @Ibersystems

Certified in Traffic Shaping, Wireless, Internetworking, Routing and User Management.
MTCTCE - MTCWE - MTCINE - MTCUME - MTCRE
 
meno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:45 am

Re: RB750G revealed!

Sun Nov 15, 2009 2:03 am

the PCB is the same cpu and switch chip than the RB450G, so why is it so lower (performance) than RB450G?

it uses AR7161 (680Mhz) and switch chip AR8613 (gigabit)

??
I think it's 680 and Gb ethernet but with 32Mb : P!
Veo que eres de España, bueno la verdad comparando con el hardware del RB450G es la memoria y el puerto serial lo que varia mas la licencia, pero segun las especificaciones tecnicas que da mikrotik da un performance de hasta 580Mbps con paquetes grandes (1500) y con paquetes chicos 91500 pps que es aproximadamente 60 Mbps.
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB750G revealed!

Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:24 am

I just connected an RB750G up to my comcast cable connection with the stock config. Worked out of the box; only added a password and ntp server. 25Mbps down and 3Mbps up. Speedtest was slightly slower without a router (plugged directly into the modem). Go figure.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
User avatar
THG
Member
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:05 am

Re: RB750G revealed!

Sat Nov 21, 2009 11:15 pm

Where is the microSD card slot on this thing? :?
 
meno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:45 am

Re: RB750G revealed!

Sun Nov 22, 2009 12:12 am

it doesnt have this unit, just the RB450G and 433AH and 433UAH
 
User avatar
THG
Member
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:05 am

Re: RB750G revealed!

Sun Nov 22, 2009 12:39 am

it doesnt have this unit, just the RB450G and 433AH and 433UAH
How do you know that, do you have one? The product specification says it has one microSD card slot.

http://www.routerboard.com/pricelist.php?showProduct=90
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB750G revealed!

Sun Nov 22, 2009 1:27 am

it doesnt have this unit, just the RB450G and 433AH and 433UAH
How do you know that, do you have one? The product specification says it has one microSD card slot.

http://www.routerboard.com/pricelist.php?showProduct=90
Yes I have one a few feet away from me as my home cable network router and they do not have a microSD slot.

Look at the pictures. It is pretty obvious by the pictures posted that there is no place for a microSD card. (There are links to front and back PCB shots.)

Read the RB750G data sheet. It does not mention microSD. The only mention is on the routerboard.com site and I believe that Normis forgot to delete that from the RB450G information that he probably copied. Or perhaps Mikrotik is selling a different version from routerboard.com than they sold to their distributors (not likely).

Do you need more proof? :)

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
User avatar
THG
Member
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:05 am

Re: RB750G revealed!

Sun Nov 22, 2009 1:51 am

Do you need more proof? :)
Yes, please send one device to me so I can be sure that you are not bullshitting me. :D
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1813
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: RB750G revealed!

Sun Nov 22, 2009 11:28 am

rofl ;)
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
riptanto
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:30 pm

Re: RB750G revealed!

Sun Nov 22, 2009 2:10 pm

It doesn't have microSD card slot.
I got my RB750G yesterday, and mine is already installed with RouterOS 3.31 (which the latest legacy version at mikrotik.com is still 3.30).

ps:
And one more thing, my RB750G doesn't have any beeper as written in the brochure/data sheet.
Brochure says: "Extras : Reset switch, Beeper"
- sapto riptanto -
I love Indonesia
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24127
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750G revealed!

Mon Nov 23, 2009 8:46 am

datasheets fixed, sorry for that :(
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
adrianatkins
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:34 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: RB750G revealed!

Mon Nov 23, 2009 10:47 pm

So, i got to short out D806 now ....

Damn. It's a bridge rectifier.

I'd best whip round all four legs really fast with the soldering iron ....
Don't forget to give me at least a tenner a month, every month
 
adrianatkins
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 556
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2007 10:34 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: RB750G revealed!

Mon Nov 23, 2009 10:50 pm

Hey !

A bit off-topic, but could you let me know how to get banned please ?

Just that i'd like to get the full set this year.
Don't forget to give me at least a tenner a month, every month
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24127
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750G revealed!

Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:40 am

adrianatkins, maybe it's too early in the morning, but ... what ?

:)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
gcakici
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:44 am

Re: RB750G revealed!

Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:11 pm

I've received my RB750G and interestingly my RB750 configuration backup file did not worked on that.

It takes time me to understand that ethernet ports are in reverse order. Taking out ethernet cables and putting them in reverse places fixed issue.
 
gcakici
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:44 am

Re: RB750G revealed!

Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:12 pm

Another interesting thing about RB750G. It does have a default firmware numbered 3.31 which can not be seen on download site or release notes. Is it some syntax error or is it really exist?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24127
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750G revealed!

Thu Nov 26, 2009 9:20 am

the only difference from v3.31 is that it adds support for this RB model
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB750G revealed!

Thu Nov 26, 2009 3:36 pm

So why not release 3.31 for download?

That would allow someone with a 750G to downgrade from 4.x back to 3.x at a later date.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24127
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750G revealed!

Thu Nov 26, 2009 3:45 pm

We have no plans to do that. It's recommended to use v4.x instead
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
riptanto
just joined
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:30 pm

Re: RB750G revealed!

Thu Nov 26, 2009 5:02 pm

We have no plans to do that. It's recommended to use v4.x instead
When it's recommended to use v4.x instead, why it does came with RouterOS v3.31 instead of v4.x?
- sapto riptanto -
I love Indonesia
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1962
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: RB750G revealed!

Thu Nov 26, 2009 6:28 pm

anyone have idea why the leds don't blink at traffic and they are just ON?
 
RK
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada and Central America

Re: RB750G revealed!

Sun Nov 29, 2009 10:18 am

adrianatkins, maybe it's too early in the morning, but ... what ?

:)
Probably something to do with his status at the "other" forum.
 
meno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:45 am

Re: RB750G revealed!

Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:51 pm

im understanding now, according to the PCB photos, I saw that one interface of the CPU AR7161 it is share with whole switch AR8316, thats why the throghput is upto 580Mbps beside the RB450G the 1st port is connected directly to the one of the 2 interface of AR7161 and the other is share with the switch chip AR8316, now everythig has more sense,
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Topic Author
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB750G revealed!

Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:02 am

im understanding now, according to the PCB photos, I saw that one interface of the CPU AR7161 it is share with whole switch AR8316, thats why the throghput is upto 580Mbps beside the RB450G the 1st port is connected directly to the one of the 2 interface of AR7161 and the other is share with the switch chip AR8316, now everythig has more sense,
Bingo! The same difference can be seen between the RB750 and the RB450.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
meno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:45 am

Re: RB750G revealed!

Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:59 pm

im understanding now, according to the PCB photos, I saw that one interface of the CPU AR7161 it is share with whole switch AR8316, thats why the throghput is upto 580Mbps beside the RB450G the 1st port is connected directly to the one of the 2 interface of AR7161 and the other is share with the switch chip AR8316, now everythig has more sense,
Bingo! The same difference can be seen between the RB750 and the RB450.

Tom
maybe but its weird why mk is not making it with whole the potential
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750G revealed!

Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:03 am

on RB450G ether1 can be set as part of switch chip and also, it can be set as standalone port. In one case, it works as usual switch port or it works as standalone port.
 
jcrites2008
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 10:53 pm

Re: RB750G revealed!

Mon Apr 12, 2010 10:31 pm

I'm not quite sure what this discussion is about. Can someone explain it to me in simple terms?

Thank you,

Jason
 
meno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:45 am

Re: RB750G revealed!

Tue Apr 13, 2010 8:30 am

I'm not quite sure what this discussion is about. Can someone explain it to me in simple terms?

Thank you,

Jason
let me see, we are questioning why the RB750G doesnt have similar throghtput than the RB450G, because each one has the same componets like CPU, switch chip. only the ram size is different

This is a benchmark test of rb450g
Image

this one is of rb750g

Image

as u can see with larger packet (1500bytes) is for a half

so we look inside each PCB

according to the datasheet of the CPU (AR7161)
Image

as you can see the CPU as 2 RGMIII means (Reduced Gigabit Media Independent Interface), so in the rb450g one of these rgmii is connected directly to ether1, and the other one share with switch chip (AR8316)

but in the RB750G only 1 of RGMII is used and share with whole switch chip, so we just have the half of routing speed.

the PCB photos are the evidence, and also each brouche
RB450G
Image
RB750G
Image

and thats it.
 
jcrites2008
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 10:53 pm

Re: RB750G revealed!

Tue Apr 13, 2010 8:09 pm

Wow!! Thanks a million for the awesome explanation. That is one of the most helpful posts I have ever received. Now, question is, why did they do this? How much could it have saved them to not run a connection from one of the rgmii interfaces to ether1? Or perhaps this is more of a marketing strategy since if the 750G was as good as the 450G, not nearly as many of the 450G's would be sold.

I have one other question. Do you think a 750G would be good enough for me to use as a home router? Do you think there would ever be a time where the 450G would work better for me in this situation?

Thank you very much,

Jason
 
meno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:45 am

Re: RB750G revealed!

Tue Apr 13, 2010 8:20 pm

yes I guess is a marketing strategy, if you a vendor never u cant sell a substitute product as same time, only when is EOL, I dont know if u get my point.

according to your home router
yes if you need internet speed more upto 60 Mbps RB450G is the best choice. look at the benchmark test, generally internet traffic uses smaller packets so goto 64bytes packets
 
jcrites2008
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 10:53 pm

Re: RB750G revealed!

Tue Apr 13, 2010 8:40 pm

I won't have Internet anywhere near that fast. I will mainly be transferring files and streaming hi-def movies. I plan on using Cat6 cable.
 
User avatar
THG
Member
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:05 am

Re: RB750G revealed!

Mon Dec 20, 2010 4:35 pm

What is the function of jumper "JP803" on the PCB? Reset?
 
morseman21
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 4:52 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: RB750G revealed!

Mon Jan 28, 2013 2:49 pm

What is the function of jumper "JP803" on the PCB? Reset?
I had the same question when I saw it on my RB450G and I found the following text on page 9 of the RG450G User Manual:

"J801/J803 Power jack (12..28 V DC, positive contact is the central pin)"

Seems that you may be able to power a fan but it seems to lack a third control contact to regulate speed. I'm researching options to increase the cooling capacity for the AR7161 CPU.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests