Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
medube
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 2:50 pm

Time keeps resetting

Thu Jul 21, 2005 2:59 am

Hi all,

I have 2 routerboards in one pop which have their times reset to 00:00:00 Jan 01 1970 everytime they are rebooted. I have nearly 10 routerboards running MT for over 1 year, but haven't seen such problem before.

Does it have anything to do with CMOS battery? Anyone got suggestions pls?

Thanks.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24824
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:15 am

use NTP and synchronise the time with a reliable time server
 
sten
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 922
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 12:10 pm

Re: Time keeps resetting

Thu Jul 21, 2005 12:09 pm

Does it have anything to do with CMOS battery? Anyone got suggestions pls
That would be what the battery was there for. Try replacing them.
 
jonbrewer
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 5:56 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Sun Oct 23, 2005 8:29 am

use NTP and synchronise the time with a reliable time server
Clock doesn't work with any of our 12 RB532 units deployed - and NTP doesn't work either. This is a serious bug.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6630
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Sun Oct 23, 2005 3:33 pm

if you have correct NTP client configuration, clock works fine in RB500.
 
jonbrewer
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 5:56 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Tue Oct 25, 2005 11:04 am

if you have correct NTP client configuration, clock works fine in RB500.
Yes, the NTP server works. It is the national NTP server for New Zealand. All our Debian boxes use it. No, it doesn't respond to ping.

[admin@ara-imperial] > /system resource print
uptime: 1w7h32m33s
free-memory: 18936kB
total-memory: 30384kB
cpu: "MIPS 4Kc V0.10"
cpu-frequency: 266MHz
cpu-load: 7
free-hdd-space: 98976kB
total-hdd-space: 126976kB
write-sect-since-reboot: 0
write-sect-total: 0
[admin@ara-imperial] > /system ntp client print
enabled: yes
mode: unicast
primary-ntp: 131.203.16.6
secondary-ntp: 0.0.0.0
status: started
[admin@ara-imperial] > /system clock print
time: 07:32:03
date: jan/08/2000
time-zone: +12:00
[admin@ara-imperial] >
 
kenk
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 7:22 am
Location: Tumbi Umbi, Australia

Tue Oct 25, 2005 12:30 pm

Johnbrewer,
Are you in the Chathams or somewhere in Year 2000. Your NTP server has started, but time has not been set. It should be saying
status: synchronized and correct time and year.. Maybe it hadnt had time.

KenK
Ken Kirkby
 
jonbrewer
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2004 5:56 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:02 am

Johnbrewer,
Are you in the Chathams or somewhere in Year 2000. Your NTP server has started, but time has not been set. It should be saying
status: synchronized and correct time and year.. Maybe it hadnt had time.

KenK
Nope, just in NZ. GMT +12.

Clocks on our 12 RB532 boxes still don't work. Can anyone help?
 
REDTDI
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 9:41 pm

Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:52 pm

There are no batteries on RB500 series routers. You have to use NTP servers or else the clock is reset after every reboot.

Ken
 
astanley
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 5:17 pm

Wed Jan 18, 2006 8:48 pm

Johnbrewer,
Are you in the Chathams or somewhere in Year 2000. Your NTP server has started, but time has not been set. It should be saying
status: synchronized and correct time and year.. Maybe it hadnt had time.

KenK
Nope, just in NZ. GMT +12.

Clocks on our 12 RB532 boxes still don't work. Can anyone help?
Maybe.

If you use Winbox, using "Tools" ping your NTP server.

If you get "no route to host" or "timeout", using "IP" "Routes" add a static route to 0.0.0.0 using your default gateway.

I just came across your post, hope this helps.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: morgot999 and 37 guests