Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

R52Hn antenna connectors

Thu Jan 28, 2010 10:47 pm

Just got my first R52Hn. The dealer says the ant-a connector is the inside connector, labeled J4, but is not 100% certain. I want to be certain before I power it up and blow out the transmitter.

I am using this card in b/g mode, and purchased this model for the MMCX connectors.

ADD: There is no 'main' or 'aux' labels. They are labeled J4 for the inside (center) connector, and J5 for the right (near the edge) connector.
 
xezen
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 10:23 am
Location: South Africa

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Fri Jan 29, 2010 6:48 am

http://www.routerboard.com/pricelist.php?showProduct=94


it is a mmcx connector know as the inner connection

in south africa


but here is a pic on the card and tail

http://thewifishop.net/images/uploads/m ... nector.JPG
If i dont No Ask someone That Does!
 
xezen
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 628
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 10:23 am
Location: South Africa

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Fri Jan 29, 2010 6:50 am

and i know on the r52n

j4 was like aux
If i dont No Ask someone That Does!
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:27 am

J4 is chain-0 and J5 is chain-1
 
aaa
Member
Member
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 11:54 am
Location: Latvia, Baltezers

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:31 am

This is n wireless card. J4 is chain0 and J5 is chain1. J4 and J5 is main output. Be safe both aux output is terminated with 50 ohm load.
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:03 pm

The docs say it will run in a,b,g,n modes. So what I hear on this forum now is it only works in n mode. Is that correct? Both transmit/receive no matter what the settings?

Looks like back to the R52H and little teenie tiny ufl connectors. :(
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24383
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:07 pm

no, it's not correct, it works in any of these modes. above posters probably assumed you will use it for N only

in other modes, use J4 connector. antenna setting (a/b connector) will be ignored. HT-chain 0 must be selected (even if you use 802.11b/g)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
SurferTim
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 4637
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Fri Jan 29, 2010 1:10 pm

Thank you normis. I knew you would come through with the correct answer. :D
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Sat Jan 30, 2010 3:25 am

Guess I was right. :)

Please let us know how it works for you in a/b/g mode.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
lekozs
newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 12:49 pm

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Sun Feb 21, 2010 7:31 pm

J4 is chain-0 and J5 is chain-1
Hello!

Is it safe to assume then, that on the R52N card J2 is chain0 and j3 is chain1 ...?

Regards!
 
angboontiong
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1115
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 9:59 am

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Mon Jun 14, 2010 11:48 am

no, it's not correct, it works in any of these modes. above posters probably assumed you will use it for N only

in other modes, use J4 connector. antenna setting (a/b connector) will be ignored. HT-chain 1 must be selected (even if you use 802.11b/g)

Normis...
How come janisk said - "J4 is chain-0 and J5 is chain-1" and you say that the J4 is chain 1? i have confused on this.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24383
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Mon Jun 14, 2010 11:56 am

j4=chain0
j5=chain1
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
ronniee
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2006 9:32 pm

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:55 am

I have a little question.

R52n card has 2 u.fl connectors: J2 and J3

if I use a/b/g mode witch antenna connector does use? I suppose J2
 
User avatar
siscom
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:37 pm
Location: Malta, EU.
Contact:

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Fri Feb 04, 2011 1:33 pm

Hi,

Just to clarify - If we use an R52Hn card to replace an R5H card, can we just utilise chain 0 and connect the antenna to MMCX connector J4?
This means that the MMCX connector J5 shall be open. Can this be done safely?

Rgds,
Mark.
 
juanez
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 12:56 pm

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Mon Feb 14, 2011 1:11 pm

I replaced an R52 by one R52hn whith one antenna connected to J4 at the R52hn, the antenna was the same as R52. In a RB600 whith routerOS 4.11

But whith R52 i scanned over 100 ssids
whith R52HN i scanned over 20 ssids

what is the problem?
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3428
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Mon Feb 14, 2011 1:23 pm

check what country settings you have and what band settings and as well the scan-list.
 
juanez
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 12:56 pm

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Mon Feb 14, 2011 2:58 pm

Country - Spain
Band 2,4Ghz-B/G
 
User avatar
mramos
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 1:05 am
Location: S. B do Campo - SP - Brazil

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:17 am

I plugged a R52Hn on a 433UAH (where there's already a R52n and a XR9) and when I tried the bandscan it detects only 2 or 3 APs on neighborhood. On the other side the R52n detects more than 50 (I use 2.4-G only).

Looking at the noise floor reading on status tab, R52n shows -107dBm and R52Hn alternate from -115dBm to 75dBm.

RB433UAH is using ROS 4.16.

I read somewhere on the forum about software version X noise floor readings on R52hn.

So I build up a X86 running RC 5.10 and then noise floor was -115dBm all the time, with antenna or dummy load on chain 0.

I have other R52hn on old WRAP boards (X86 so) running 4.16 and the same -115dBm there, even after exchanging R52n cards to compare.

I don't want to run this 433 with RC 5.10 for now. When I tried RC 5.09 the R52n interface hangs 4 or 5 times for 15min period each outage in one day. Note that with the 4.X versions this system was up and healthy for 14 monts, no failures.

BTW, all clients (50) are NS2 Loco, 20dBm and the R52n is running at its default power. Most of the TX/RX signals have 6 ... 10dB diference and I guess R52n is roughly 20dBm. Just measurements glitches? Two sides 20dBm must have more or less the same signals both sides. I don't know if it's UBNT RSL mistake or what.

Anyway, this NF readings (-75/-115) are software issue or what?

Regards
Marcus Ramos
Electronics Technician
(Microwave HW, RF, antennas, propagation)
S.Paulo - Brazil
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3428
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:09 pm

noise floor is recalculated each time when the periodic calibration takes place.
Please do not power the unit if you don't have antenna connector to the antenna connector as you might damage the power amp of the card. Check if you card doesn't heat up too much.
Here is the instructions how you can check the card:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Wi ... iagnostics

Please tell us more about hose interface hangs with v5.x - we are not aware of that issue.
 
User avatar
mramos
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 1:05 am
Location: S. B do Campo - SP - Brazil

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Thu Feb 24, 2011 6:09 pm

noise floor is recalculated each time when the periodic calibration takes place.
To be honnest I don't remember If I enabled the periodic cal on such trial. But I remember that this changes on NF readings was noticed every couple of seconds, back and forth. May be turnin' it on make it to settle down to the real value instead of keeping such initial values (eg digital AGC, if any, with 50% range, driving RSL ckt/routines and this initial value will only be changed when periodic cal takes place).

I even tried to decrease R52Hn power to 5dBm and for a minute (as AP Bridge) and switched to 5GHz band, cos I want to see if there was some out of band signal overloading the LNA. Other noise sources may be 433UAH clocks and data lines, the XR9 and R52n sourrouding it & etc but they can't affect its IF because I guess it is a zero-IF transceiver.

But: I don't believe R52Hn could be more sucetible to such out of band noise sources than R52n.
Please do not power the unit if you don't have antenna connector to the antenna connector as you might damage the power amp of the card. Check if you card doesn't heat up too much. Here is the instructions how you can check the card:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Wi ... iagnostics
All this tests was using or sector antenna or terminating the MMCX to N pigtail with Hewlett Packard 50 ohm loads (good to 26GHz).

I guess the same terminator may be left at chain 1 if not in use because those RF switches have 20 to 30dB isolation only when properly terminated.

The bench tests later show a healthy R52Hn when connected to a probe antenna aimed to an AP abt 300m, the same tx/rx signals than a 411AR client.
Please tell us more about hose interface hangs with v5.x - we are not aware of that issue.
Well, I'll try this again next days despite this 433UAH is a production unit. I say abt v5.x on it. There is 60 possible clients with NS2 Loco except one (that uses a temporary CPE with Engenius ESR1221). May be this ESR is messing things up.

There was 4 freezes, spaced an hour or so, not the router itself, all clients still connected but the traffic at this WLAN interface dropped to zero for 10 ... 15 min and went up again alone. Nothing hapened on XR9 or ETHs, all up and runnin'.

The regular log was full of messages related to this ESR CPE. I did not enabled the debug because this ESR is temporary.

I saw this once when I decided to allow a single client notebook to have access to a remote AP (WRAP, X86, R52n & R52Hn fitted on it). After 30 minutes the AP freezes. I repeated this 4 or 5 times to be shure and to avoid this I needed to hide SSID and delete the correspondig network profile on such mobile device. Up to now 120 days without problems.

Neither NF issue nor hangs was noticed on a X86 with v5.10.

Regards
Marcus Ramos
Electronics Technician
(Microwave HW, RF, antennas, propagation)
S.Paulo - Brazil
 
el berto
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 10:53 am

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Mon May 26, 2014 11:38 am

So, for single antenna, "main" is J4?
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2301
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: R52Hn antenna connectors

Mon May 26, 2014 12:10 pm

Yes
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests