Community discussions

 
User avatar
gustkiller
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 5:15 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:54 pm

Hi,

the last two months i had 5 rb450 with the same problem. It stops to work , and them the eth4 and eth5 leds turns on a very weak light. All these RB450 had been working for about 8 to 10 months.. :( when opened, i found ttwo capacitors leaked and blowed ( su'scom 560uf 6.3 volts..) I just bought about 50 rb450g and found out that they have the same capacitors... should i be worried?? is this a known issue? the problem is the lost of reliability :( .


There's anyway to fix the broken boards?
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
 
zanetti
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:23 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Feb 09, 2010 8:24 pm

Welcome to the world of Mikrotik.

I've had 20 RB450s with blown capacitors. The reseller has been successful in replacing some, the others I've just gone out and bought the 6.3v capacitor (I upgraded to 680uf) and soldered them in myself. You'll need 3 per board.
 
User avatar
gustkiller
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 5:15 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:00 pm

thanks!!

any problem with the 450G version?


i have some rb150 that's been working for years.. with out problems..
Mikrotik Certified Consultant
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23452
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:51 am

please post pictures of the bad capacitors
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
zanetti
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:23 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:54 am

I'll have to try to find a board that I haven't repaired yet. However I can point out the capacitors I had to replace in order to make the board operational again.

Thanks
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23452
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:00 am

the bad capacitors are always the same ones? post which ones, and a picture of the problem, if you find such board again
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
zanetti
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:23 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:40 am

I purchased 20 RB450s in 2008 from Tom at Roc-Noc. During 2009, each of the 20 failed. Tom mentioned that Mikrotik was aware of the capacitor issue and would offer a replacement of the 20 RB450s. In that time I've received a partial replacement. Sadly, due to the substantial delay in receiving the remainder of the RB450 replacements I've had to implement my own repairs, replacing the 3 capacitors in the picture below.

If your RB450 fails, you will see 3 bulging and brown capacitors in the areas I've pointed out below. Replace those and your RB450 will be functional again as well as not having the issue where a rapid power outage will cause the board not to reboot.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23452
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:44 am

We have seen only the Green one damaged. It would be great to see actual damaged ones ...
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
zanetti
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:23 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:47 am

The three brown capacitors in the picture I uploaded are the replacement caps I purchased locally. Tom at Roc Noc may be able to take a picture as he has several blown RB450s on his hands.
 
otcpdx
just joined
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 1:51 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:48 pm

I've got the same problem, here's some photos of the bad caps

My RB450 has been in continuous use for about 1.5 years now. It was also probably running a bit hotter than it should have been (sitting on top of a Linksys AP that throws of a lot of heat).

I'll probably just resolder some new caps, as I always like an opportunity to bust out my Weller. :)

Image

Image
 
dog
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 3:37 pm
Location: Germany

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Fri Feb 12, 2010 12:50 am

Now I'm curious.
We are using a RB450G as our main router.
Can we have an official statement on whether we should get it replaced by another model?

I found this post: http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread ... =su%27scon

Best regards

Max
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Fri Feb 12, 2010 5:31 am

We have seen only the Green one damaged. It would be great to see actual damaged ones ...
I have about 20 of these back from customers. Here is one of them. Notice the leaking electrolyte and the three bulging electrolytic caps.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
User avatar
DeVerm
just joined
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 2:49 am
Location: Panama
Contact:

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Fri Feb 12, 2010 6:47 am

If you can make it fit, try to get caps for a higher voltage instead of higher capacity. It could be that the original ones are a bad batch but so many?? may be at a higher voltage they never fail again.

The trouble is that for a higher voltage they are bigger, so take the board to the electronics shop to see if they fit before you buy.

EDIT: just to be sure, measure the voltage over the capacitors while the board is turned on... you should see a DC voltage. Check if the polarity is right and how high that voltage is. Now you know if the caps have a too low voltage rating and if they are mounted at the right polarity!!

cheers,
Nick.
 
jcremin
Member
Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 7:57 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sun Feb 14, 2010 8:47 am

any problem with the 450G version?
I'd also like to know if the "G" version has the same caps and potential for problems, or if this is limited to the plain 450.
 
User avatar
congo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:40 am
Location: Hungary

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sun Feb 14, 2010 1:44 pm

 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Mon Feb 15, 2010 7:29 am

any problem with the 450G version?
I'd also like to know if the "G" version has the same caps and potential for problems, or if this is limited to the plain 450.
So far I have only seen this on the RB450. The RB450G appears to be quite different in design.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
missinlnk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 8:10 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Mon Feb 15, 2010 6:12 pm

any problem with the 450G version?
I'd also like to know if the "G" version has the same caps and potential for problems, or if this is limited to the plain 450.
So far I have only seen this on the RB450. The RB450G appears to be quite different in design.

Tom
I'll second this. We have only seen RB450 units with this problem at this point.

Scott @ WISP-Router
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23452
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Feb 17, 2010 1:42 pm

new batches are already made with different parts and will not have this issue. as soon as we got first problems, we switched supplier immediately
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Feb 17, 2010 4:29 pm

Seen that problen MANY times on PC hardware..

Dell was FULL of them for a while...

They were swapping mail boards like crazy...
I had a pair of 270 small form factor units affected...

Intel, acer, and just about everyone has had there share of them...

We call them " Jiffypop " caps...

Swap them out with higher qualtiy caps and all is well.. ( If the unit hasent been run too long and damaged the power circuit..)

Keep the values the same ( Voltage can be a bit higher )..
Cap "values" "CAN" be critical... if it is a passive filter cap then not so much,,
If it is part of a "charge pump" circuit then it can be very critical... (Can affect output voltage or load on charge pump voltage controler)

Change out sould only take about 3 - 5 Min each... An experianced tech with a bit of practice can do them all in about 5 Min..
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig
 
dprus
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2009 6:57 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sat Mar 06, 2010 11:39 am

I just had this happen to a RB450G I own. Here are the pics:
pic1.jpg
pic2.jpg
I will have had the unit for a year next week. I bought it from rocnoc.com, so hopefully they can repair/replace it for me. Otherwise I'm going to have to learn to do some soldering I guess. I'm not very happy about this :(
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
Raf
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 4:26 pm
Location: Olesnica, Poland
Contact:

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sat Mar 06, 2010 12:24 pm

Wonder when MT will use solid capacitors just like Gigabyte on their motherboards. RouterBOARDs work 24/7 and they should have them. Maybe not in 750/G model (SOHO).
Rafał Wójcik from AWB-NET
High Definition enthusiast
 
roadracer96
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 714
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:01 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sun Mar 07, 2010 4:05 pm

I really hope I dont start seeing this problem. I have about 80 450Gs I rolled out in the last 6 months.
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sun Mar 07, 2010 5:37 pm

I really hope I dont start seeing this problem. I have about 80 450Gs I rolled out in the last 6 months.
I don't think you will. This is the first RB450G that we have seen with bulging caps. I am hoping this is an anomaly.

The 450G power circuit design is much different from the older RB450 power circuit where we have seen all the cap problems.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
rmichael
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:17 am

I really hope I dont start seeing this problem. I have about 80 450Gs I rolled out in the last 6 months.
I don't think you will. This is the first RB450G that we have seen with bulging caps. I am hoping this is an anomaly.

The 450G power circuit design is much different from the older RB450 power circuit where we have seen all the cap problems.

Tom
Normis wrote that remedy was to change the suplier indicating parts quality as the issue - not the design. Therefore it remains to be seen how many boards were made with low quality parts before problem was identified.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23452
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Mon Mar 08, 2010 8:37 am

A very small number, we found the problem and changed supplier immediately
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
petrik
newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 9:37 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Mar 09, 2010 12:48 pm

Why dont you start using solid state capacitors? Are they that much more expensive? I guess that for router HW, which can be easily in operation for more than 10 years customers would wish to see capacitors that will last that long.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23452
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Mar 09, 2010 12:50 pm

yes, that's what we did
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
Raf
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 4:26 pm
Location: Olesnica, Poland
Contact:

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Mar 09, 2010 12:50 pm

+1
Rafał Wójcik from AWB-NET
High Definition enthusiast
 
meno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 233
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:45 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:52 am

I also have the problem with a RB450G I replaced with another 630uF 16V and works fine yet..

an another things Im seeing the same capacito 6.3V 560uF with the same color, manufactor on RB750 and RB750G

Image

Image


please normis can you confirm that these lots of RB750/RB750G doesnt have that problem

thanks
 
User avatar
Eising
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:21 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:39 pm

I ran through all my faulty RB450's, and they all seem to originate from the same three shipments received in 2008. It would seem that the issue is not present in newer batches of RB450.
The road to hell is paved with good intentions.
 
risipetillo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 7:08 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed May 26, 2010 5:19 pm

My Main router which is an RB450 seems to be having the same problem. I opened up the case and noticed "brown" stuff leaking out of the 3 capacitors previously noted in previous posts.

I'm going down to Fry's to look for replacement capacitors.

What information should I give the guys at Fry's so that I get the right replacement capacitors?
 
User avatar
Eising
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 10:21 am
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed May 26, 2010 8:40 pm

I can't recall the exact component name, but write to support, they happily gave that information to me.
The road to hell is paved with good intentions.
 
risipetillo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 7:08 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu May 27, 2010 3:17 am

Would any of these capacitors work: http://www.alliedelec.com/passive-compo ... 7106&No=20

Additionally, why am I forced to buy capacitors if this was a known "bad" batch of capacitors which is causing this problem.

I called the Distributor who I bought my rb450 from, and they told me that I can't RMA the box. :shock:
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu May 27, 2010 3:25 am

We've had some RB450G's hit by power surges previously that I've fixed myself.

Had no problems replacing the 6.3v 560uF original capacitors with *similar* ones.
In this case the replacements are 10v 470uF and the 3 replaced are the ones in a line in the middle of the board.
105446760.jpg
Gives me a chance to practice my soldering skills and teaches people why they should invest in surge protectors hehe.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1165
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu May 27, 2010 7:10 am

yes, that's what we did
Put on solid state caps?
Got a picture of one of the newer boards?

I'm interested to see as if the mounts for the solid state caps are the ones I think they are I might replace the next one that comes across my desk with those instead.

Also tempted to try building my own RB compatible device using IC's from a broken one at some point.. just as a hobby :-D
 
User avatar
THG
Member
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:05 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu May 27, 2010 7:33 am

In this case the replacements are 10v 470uF and the 3 replaced are the ones in a line in the middle of the board.
Only 10 volt? How about this one? :)

400 Volt
-40/+105 °C
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
aaa
Member
Member
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 11:54 am
Location: Latvia, Baltezers

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu May 27, 2010 10:54 am

Lead spacing and package is too big. Use 470uF - 680uF and 6,3V - 16V capacitors with 3,5mm lead spacing.It's posible use 5mm lead spacing but need aditional lead forming. Don't forget about polarity.
 
User avatar
THG
Member
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:05 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Fri May 28, 2010 7:58 am

I know that lead spacing is too wide, the capacitor is 25mm in diameter. The type of capacitor in the picture is probably one of the best you can find, it'll last forever. I think the capacitors life time is 18 000 hours at the specified temperature (105°C).
 
aaa
Member
Member
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 11:54 am
Location: Latvia, Baltezers

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Fri May 28, 2010 9:44 am

No, just 4000h at 105C

Standards IEC 60384-4 Long Life Grade 40/105/56,
in accordance with CECC 30 301-809
Capacitance range 150–22000 μF
Capacitance tolerance –20 to +20%
Rated voltage 35–450 VDC
Temperature range –40 to +105°C
Leakage current, IRL (μA) 0.003 (μA) x CR (μF) x UR (V)
Operational life time 4000 hours at +105°C
Shelf life 4 years at 0 Volt and +40°C
Diameter range 25–35 mm
 
User avatar
THG
Member
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:05 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Fri May 28, 2010 11:37 am

You are right, I posted wrong picture, but 4000 hours at that temperature is not bad.
 
risipetillo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 7:08 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Fri May 28, 2010 5:59 pm

Found the Capacitors at Fry's. Replaced them on the board, and now I'm operational again.

Thanks to all for your assistance !!!

:D
 
erkel
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 12:04 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:49 pm

Have 4 x 450G's Anyone experienced the issue on the 450G's to any extent. I am sending some off to a site in China, so need to know asap, so I can swap the caps out now if need be.
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Jun 09, 2010 4:22 pm

Have 4 x 450G's Anyone experienced the issue on the 450G's to any extent. I am sending some off to a site in China, so need to know asap, so I can swap the caps out now if need be.
Power them with a 12vdc supply instead of the normal 24vdc supply. They run much cooler and the caps won't have to work as hard (should last much longer).

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
zanetti
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:23 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Jul 06, 2010 7:03 am

I just finished replacing the caps on 5 RB450's. Still no offers of compensation from Mikrotik or the reseller.
 
rmichael
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Jul 06, 2010 8:08 pm

I just finished replacing the caps on 5 RB450's. Still no offers of compensation from Mikrotik or the reseller.
I wonder how MT warranties their products in Europe. Europe has mandatory warranty period I believe.
 
missinlnk
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 8:10 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:22 pm

I just finished replacing the caps on 5 RB450's. Still no offers of compensation from Mikrotik or the reseller.
I wonder how MT warranties their products in Europe. Europe has mandatory warranty period I believe.
Mikrotik usually handles the warranties by repairing the equipment themselves, not by reimbursing someone else to repair the equipment. Not sure if that is allowed under the different EU countries laws, though.
 
User avatar
THG
Member
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:05 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:39 pm

I wonder how MT warranties their products in Europe. Europe has mandatory warranty period I believe.
Effective from 1st January 2002, the EU Directive to extend warranty on consumer products from 1- to 2- years, came into effect. This directive only impacts EU member state countries and will be phased in as the EU member states implement the directive. As of 1st January 2002 the following EU member states have implemented this EU Directive: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Germany The Netherlands, Norway, Italy and Sweden.

So the country you bought it in is very important, since a directive is merely an instruction to each government to implement a law, and has no meaning until they do.

Directive 1999/44/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 25 May 1999 on certain aspects of the sale of consumer goods and associated guarantees

http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/Lex ... 44:en:HTML
 
mcb
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 1:24 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Jul 07, 2010 12:11 am

Not in the home of Mikrotik. 1 year, bye-bye.
Offices answer on the phone was - "buy a new one!"
Yes I will, but why would I buy another Mikrotik?
Of course will try to solder new capacitators, but if that won't help - any working OpenWRT/DD-WRT solution or will use my Linux webserver as a router.
 
amadeus
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:08 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Jul 07, 2010 11:57 pm

Hi,

I'm sorry to report that my RB450G died today - looks like faulty capacitors :(
This unit was purchased on March 2009.
rb450g_capacitor.JPG
--
Morten
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
zanetti
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:23 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Jul 08, 2010 9:40 am

Hi,

I'm sorry to report that my RB450G died today - looks like faulty capacitors :(
This unit was purchased on March 2009.
rb450g_capacitor.JPG
--
Morten
Who did you buy your RB450 from?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests