Community discussions

 
User avatar
mramos
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 1:05 am
Location: S. B do Campo - SP - Brazil

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Oct 19, 2011 9:54 pm

Hi ...

Does MT have something like board serial numbers range that was filled with this bad batch? Not only 450s but 411ARs, 433UAHs, 433AHs & 433?

Regards;
Marcus Ramos
Electronics Technician
(Microwave HW, RF, antennas, propagation)
S.Paulo - Brazil
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23180
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Oct 20, 2011 8:44 am

I'm sorry but it's not possible to tell an exact range.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
mramos
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 1:05 am
Location: S. B do Campo - SP - Brazil

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Oct 20, 2011 3:12 pm

I'm sorry but it's not possible to tell an exact range.
Hi.

I see. Well, as soon as I receive a recently ordered 433UAH I'll inspect a production one that since last november is showing some strange behaviour. Once or twice a day it reboots and alarm says "cause 1".

I already swaped power supplies (UBNT 24V 1A, a 19V 5A notebook power supply, POE x power jack, used both ways isolated or at the same time, rebuilt cables, etc).

PCI cards are R52nM (2) and a XR9.

It's not related with CPU load nor online users (peak 70 CPEs divided by 2 R52nM) / heavy traffic.

A RB450 that shares the same nobreak shows an uptime of 144 days.

Regards;
Marcus Ramos
Electronics Technician
(Microwave HW, RF, antennas, propagation)
S.Paulo - Brazil
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23180
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Oct 20, 2011 3:15 pm

cause1 sounds like a kernel panic, send to support a supout.rif file, so we can see what caused it.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
mramos
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 1:05 am
Location: S. B do Campo - SP - Brazil

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Oct 20, 2011 3:25 pm

cause1 sounds like a kernel panic, send to support a supout.rif file, so we can see what caused it.
Is autosupout.rif ok? Every reboot like that there is a new one of course.

Regars;
Last edited by mramos on Thu Oct 20, 2011 3:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Marcus Ramos
Electronics Technician
(Microwave HW, RF, antennas, propagation)
S.Paulo - Brazil
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23180
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Oct 20, 2011 3:26 pm

yes please
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
mramos
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 1:05 am
Location: S. B do Campo - SP - Brazil

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Oct 20, 2011 3:41 pm

Done.

Anyway, the new 433UAH will arrive next week. Actual uses a plastic MT box and the new one will be assembled in an aluminum weatherproof box. RF poluted area (cell tower 300m away, airplanes crossing above this place around 1000 feet with their transponders spittin' some Kw at 1050MHz besides the ground radar etc).

Regards;
Marcus Ramos
Electronics Technician
(Microwave HW, RF, antennas, propagation)
S.Paulo - Brazil
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6238
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Fri Oct 21, 2011 9:08 am

you can also check power budget of board and combined power consumption of the board (on routerboard.com for max power output to extension cards) as that also can be a problem, that with worse conditions, cards go into lower data rates for more TX power - result, not enough power to power card and crash.
 
User avatar
mramos
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 230
Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 1:05 am
Location: S. B do Campo - SP - Brazil

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Mon Oct 24, 2011 2:50 pm

you can also check power budget of board and combined power consumption of the board
Well:

R52nM = 1,95W (2W)
R52n = 2,40W (2,5W)
XR9 = 3.3V @ 1.2A = 3,96W (4W)

2+2,5+4 = 8.5W

RB433UAH = 16W to cards.

This is valid to a healthy onboard power supply. But if some bad electrolitic capacitors are there, who knows?

Anyway, a 433AH in a couple of days will replace this 433UAH. Then I'll have chance to search for hw failures at the bench.

Regards;
Marcus Ramos
Electronics Technician
(Microwave HW, RF, antennas, propagation)
S.Paulo - Brazil
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6238
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed May 23, 2012 10:25 am

load seems to be reasonable, check PSU and caps, maybe there is the problem.
 
OrCAD
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2005 12:37 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sat May 26, 2012 10:50 pm

MikroTik use capacitor with low peak voltage.
Is crazy to use 6,3v in line of 5v.
I've benn replaced all the capacitors in my RB in high tower with 560uF 10v (doubled than 5v)
and all works ok from 12v to 48v of power supply.
My RB damaged is: RB800, RB450, RB433AH and many RB411AH supplyed at 24v or 48v.

I hope MikroTik engineers change the capacitors and increase flash disk in future RB's (see RB1100AHx2)

OrCAD (master designers)
MTCNA - MTCRE - MTCTCE - MTCINE
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23180
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue May 29, 2012 9:14 am

MikroTik use capacitor with low peak voltage.
Is crazy to use 6,3v in line of 5v.
I've benn replaced all the capacitors in my RB in high tower with 560uF 10v (doubled than 5v)
and all works ok from 12v to 48v of power supply.
My RB damaged is: RB800, RB450, RB433AH and many RB411AH supplyed at 24v or 48v.

I hope MikroTik engineers change the capacitors and increase flash disk in future RB's (see RB1100AHx2)

OrCAD (master designers)
Can you specify exactly on what RB you see 6,3V capacitors in 5V line?
Can you tell more what happens with your RB800, RB450, RB433AH and RB411AH ? What is the problem symptoms or what parts was broken?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
buecker133
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:27 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Fri Sep 21, 2012 7:19 am

:) My RB450G failed on Sunday. I purchased it in July of 2011. No longer under warranty.
The capacitors are bad. The Nichicon UPW series or the new Polymer capacitors are my two choices.
The board made a sizzling noise before it failed.
Mike
 
subq
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 5:56 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Nov 06, 2012 12:56 am

:) My RB450G failed on Sunday. I purchased it in July of 2011. No longer under warranty.
The capacitors are bad. The Nichicon UPW series or the new Polymer capacitors are my two choices.
The board made a sizzling noise before it failed.
Mike
you like these? http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Nic ... 9k%252bUHZ

actually, scratch that, I think those are too long, going back through thread to find exact model microtik uses so I can see length/width

the suscon looks to be 8x12mm and earlier the post said 3.5 lead spacing
http://www.su-scon.com.tw/en/product/Lo ... 5C/MG.html
there isn't going to be a lot of head room in standard case so going over 12mm probably not good
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23180
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Nov 06, 2012 10:12 am

:) My RB450G failed on Sunday. I purchased it in July of 2011. No longer under warranty.
The capacitors are bad. The Nichicon UPW series or the new Polymer capacitors are my two choices.
The board made a sizzling noise before it failed.
Mike
buecker133, can you email support with your serial number, and a photo of the bad caps? Just want to make sure these are the same old caps, not some newer ones.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
buecker133
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:27 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Nov 07, 2012 5:07 pm

:) Also, there is a super tiny 10 ohm 1/100 watt resistor that feeds 24vdc to pin 2 of the power supply control chip.
It read 4300 ohms. I removed one from a control pcb from an old broken hard drive and tacked it into the circuit.
It boots up and works fine now.
This resistor is near the power supply control chip, right near pin 2, connects to a 1uf chip cap right there too.
Hope this helps anyone who has a power supply problem that is not bad caps. I would think that this
tiny tiny resistor is too small of wattage value for the application.
MIke
 
Discus
newbie
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 1:55 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Dec 04, 2012 9:55 am

Not sure exactly when I bought this RB750, but it's the second one to fail (at around 6am yesterday) in the exact same place in the network.
On reading this thread, I've swapped out the 24V adaptor that was powering it to a 12V for the replacement RB750. Fun start to a Monday morning...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
dmitrik
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:37 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:41 pm

RB450G just stopped working. Bought on Jul 9, 2010 from rOc-nOc.com. 560uf caps poped and leaked.
Last edited by dmitrik on Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23180
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:58 pm

Capacitor lifetime shortens in high temperatures. Different capacitor types have different lifetimes, if yours has come to an end, and you want to replace it, I recommend you use a higher grade type, for example the suscon MG series, which we use in newer models.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
Basiley
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:42 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Fri Jan 11, 2013 5:16 am

try instlall solid state caps instead.
preferably - not oxide caps with polymer dielectric, but tantal, palladium caps and etc kinda expensive stuff.
but thats about [amount of]money[you want invest into improving/modding you unit/router].
 
anaktos
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:55 pm
Location: Rosario - Argentina

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu May 30, 2013 8:51 pm

Unfortunately reported two RB450G with 2 capacitors burned

Buy 3 in November 2010, 2 were burned in 15 days, as a precaution I'll change the capacitors that still works.

:?
______
MTCNA

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests