Community discussions

 
amadeus
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:08 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Jul 08, 2010 9:57 am

Hi,

I'm sorry to report that my RB450G died today - looks like faulty capacitors :(
This unit was purchased on March 2009.
rb450g_capacitor.JPG
--
Morten
Who did you buy your RB450 from?
roc-noc.com, this is the RB450G though.

--
Morten
 
mcb
newbie
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 1:24 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Jul 08, 2010 7:55 pm

Took 1000 microfarads from dead motherboard, soldered in. Works fine.
Another problem is the heat. Found 2 HDD fans, they fit fine as 1 part of the 450s box, but there is no place to connect them on the board! Some old boards have 3V pins for fans, this one doesn't :(
Now i need another socket for another power supply (7,5V from dead D-Links will do fine) for the fan... f0ck!nk shait :evil:
 
zanetti
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 6:23 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Jul 08, 2010 8:27 pm

Hi,

I'm sorry to report that my RB450G died today - looks like faulty capacitors :(
This unit was purchased on March 2009.
rb450g_capacitor.JPG
--
Morten
Who did you buy your RB450 from?
roc-noc.com, this is the RB450G though.

--
Morten
Roc-noc is where I received my bad 20+ RB450s. I wonder if they received most of the bad shipment. Unfortunately Tom has 6 of my defective RB450s and wont return them either fixed or for me to solder myself. Hopefully Tom can advocate for us with Mikrotik since he's been left holding the bag.
 
icefred
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 3:12 pm
Location: Vienna/Austria

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Jul 13, 2010 3:30 pm

We've also have about 50 RB450 and changed nearly all of them.
At Some I must resolder new Capacitors (I've took 1000uF 16V, the last one who fits into), cause of unavailability for spare Boards and the RB750 I've ordered instead are still not arrived (our internal Spare Parts already used at customer side :-( cause we never had so much Spare Units for so much dead ones)

Also someone wrote to Power just with 12V instead the default MT PS with 24V cause then the are cooler.

So the Question is, does it also make sense to set the RB cpu-frequency and cpu-mode? so instead of the default 300Mhz just 200, 150 or 100Mhz?
 
aaa
Member
Member
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 11:54 am
Location: Latvia, Baltezers

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Jul 14, 2010 9:35 am

Of course CPU freq. is directly related with CPU heat disapation but in this case use 12V PSU make greater sense.
 
icefred
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 3:12 pm
Location: Vienna/Austria

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Jul 14, 2010 5:43 pm

I've tried this one day but couldn't say that there's much difference. It's all time hot just in a RB450Case on the desk.
Let's look how long it would work with new capacitors.
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Jul 14, 2010 7:39 pm

Roc-noc is where I received my bad 20+ RB450s. I wonder if they received most of the bad shipment. Unfortunately Tom has 6 of my defective RB450s and wont return them either fixed or for me to solder myself. Hopefully Tom can advocate for us with Mikrotik since he's been left holding the bag.
Let me know off-line if you have not received them yet. We worked like crazy through a bunch of RB450 cap repairs over the past few weeks and finally got caught up. They should have all been returned by now. I strongly recommend 12vdc on all RB450 and RB450G.

We have sold many RB450s but I don't believe we received all the bad ones. I know this because we have fixed some that were sold by other distributors.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
it9mbz
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:52 pm
Location: Palermo Italy

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Aug 04, 2010 6:06 pm

HI to everyone,

I had the same problem with the caps.

I changed the 3 green one caps with other, but with different value: 470uF 16V

Now the Router boots, with green led blinking and beep, but the 5 ports are already down.
I have the led on the ports lighted very weakly, in decrescent order from tha fifth to the first.

If I connect a computer at any port, the criteria doesn't come up.

Any idea about the causes?

Thank's in advance
 
aaa
Member
Member
Posts: 458
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 11:54 am
Location: Latvia, Baltezers

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Aug 05, 2010 9:12 am

470uF@16V is OK. Check again your soldering carefully that you not make any shorts. Else try replace that one cap. what located nearly from swich chip.
 
it9mbz
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:52 pm
Location: Palermo Italy

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Aug 05, 2010 10:06 am

Effectively, after the replacement,the RB worked fine.
All orange led in the port socket blinked and connected with the WinBox.

But now, after about 2 weeks from replacement where the RB was powered off, the problem with the ethernet port is yet the same.

About the soldering, I had some difficult to remove the old ones. The last problem was cleaning up the holes.
At the end I used the SMD plots for solder the folded reophores of new caps

At the moment I'm not able to try to change the caps near switch chip, because I'm out for job.
I will do it when back at home.

Many thanks for support.

Cheerio, Sergio.
 
icefred
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 3:12 pm
Location: Vienna/Austria

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?http://forum.mikrotik.com/posti

Fri Aug 06, 2010 9:12 am

We've also changed the 3 capacitors at about 10 boards last 2 weeks, hoping the'll work fine :-)

Capacitors I used is some posts above, changing was not the easiest, but also not a too hard work, we made this in field in the car.

I think some capacitors may have a little bit thicker pin, and therefore it's hard to clean the hole good enough.
Unsoldering with a very thin soldering iron at 450C worked fine.
 
it9mbz
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:52 pm
Location: Palermo Italy

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sun Aug 08, 2010 1:29 am

Hi to all,

during a series of voltage measurements, perahps i touched more pins together.
The RB turned off. I unpluged and plugged the power socket, and the RB this time reboot fully. From this time the RB works fine.
I will be out for job for a week. During this time the RB will be powered off.
When I will be back at home, I will try to turn on, and hope that it work fine again.

Cheerio.
 
User avatar
Letni
Member
Member
Posts: 375
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 5:16 am
Location: South Carolina

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sun Aug 08, 2010 3:03 am

We just replaced bad caps on 3 RB450's. Found a bad motherboard with comparable caps that we could re-use.
It wasn't to bad to do just a PITA that we have to do it.... Seems as though there was some power hack for the RB100's as well?
I really wish the RB line was a bit more hardened for longer MTBF.

-Louis
 
csickles
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 8:46 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sun Aug 08, 2010 7:59 am

I use Pace desoldering and soldering tools...

http://www.pacedirect.com/product.php?id=543

Makes life MUCH better !!

Makes quick work of bad caps...
Things that make you go "Hmmmmmmmm"...

Craig
 
msorensen
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 11:47 pm
Location: California

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Aug 10, 2010 8:31 pm

Thanks for the posts on this subject.....

We had placed (4) RB450's into seemingly light duty on a shelf, in a rack with other computer equipment, in an air conditioned area.

In about 18 months we had 3 out of the 4 RB450's fail..... Not good.



QUESTION for Mikrotik.... has the reliability issue been resolved in new production??


.
.....
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23259
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:25 am

Yes, of course
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
carl0s
newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 7:18 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sun Sep 26, 2010 2:17 pm

Same problem on two green capacitors of RB450G bought about a year ago from Lin-ITX.
 
Breza
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 8:36 am
Location: Hobart, Australia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Fri Oct 01, 2010 8:39 am

Same here!

Two bulging green capacitors on a couple of (now dead) RB450G bought from Duxtel in Australia, October last year.

Cheers

Chris
 
reverged
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:30 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sat Oct 02, 2010 10:41 am

yes, that's what we did
Put on solid state caps?
Got a picture of one of the newer boards?
Are the newer boards made with solid state caps?
I have a 450 in front of me that came from Streakwave last week and it clearly has rolled electrolytics.
Su'scon MG series.

2 450's are on their way to me. Both will not power up. I suspect this problem.

There are 2 things in electronics you don't try to pinch pennies with: electrolytics and magnetics.

It takes a strong engineer to stand up to the purchasing department.
 
reverged
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:30 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sun Oct 03, 2010 7:04 am

Is there a date code or serial number list for product affected by the faulty caps?
I would much rather gear up a field retrofit than deal with outages.

Has distribution been instructed to purge stock and return any product affected?

In addition to the RB450 mention above, I also have an RB450G in my hand that was purchased about 5 months ago and it has 2 of the green SJ series caps C826 & C830.
How could that be if MT changed components?
Is it possible it came from the affected lot and why was sold?

This is starting to worry me.
I'd rather know where the time bombs are than watch them go off one by one.
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Mon Oct 04, 2010 7:48 pm

Oh great.

Just had my first 450 die with this problem.

Am now waiting for more to die and more unhappy customers as a result.

Great.
Nicholas Barnes BSc(hons)
Certified Mikrotik Consultant
Certified Mikrotik Trainer

Vitell - Asterisk, Linux and network consultants
Unofficial IRC channel: #routerboard on irc.z.je
 
reverged
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:30 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Mon Oct 04, 2010 11:04 pm

I just sent an email to MT support asking clarification on warranty period.

One of the RB450's that failed for this capacitor problem is "out of warranty".

According to Streakwave, the warranty is 15 months and it starts from the time THEY receive the product, not when I receive it.

In the case of the RB450, it's a difference of 7 months.

So, effectively, an 8 month warranty.

This is like a Cracker Jack box.

You don't know the prize until you open it - you don't know the warranty until you RMA it.

I cannot imagine MT intended it this way.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23259
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Oct 05, 2010 9:07 am

normally the warranty is one year, so the extra 3 months are given for the reseller to deliver the product to you.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
reverged
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:30 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Oct 05, 2010 7:40 pm

OK, I understand the intent and I actually did something similar in a previous life.

However, we forced the distributor to warrant for 12 months.
It then fell on the distributor to rotate and move product.

As it stands, I, the end user, have no idea what my warranty is when I receive MT product!!

That is completely unacceptable in any business.

In reference to my earlier post, has all stock been purged of affected product?

If not, why?
 
User avatar
NAB
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 4:08 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:48 pm

In the UK, the Sale of Goods Act pretty much covers you (see http://www.berr.gov.uk/whatwedo/consume ... 38311.html for a reasonable summary). The problem as I see it is that it's the reseller which is going to take the hit for this and since MT's liability has ended.

It seems to me that MT have admitted that there was a manufacturing defect and that MT should, in some way, compensate their users for this.
Nicholas Barnes BSc(hons)
Certified Mikrotik Consultant
Certified Mikrotik Trainer

Vitell - Asterisk, Linux and network consultants
Unofficial IRC channel: #routerboard on irc.z.je
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23259
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:57 am

Mikrotik sells the device to the distributors. We have informed them what do do if the devices are defective. We can't make them check the devices sooner, or make them sell the devices sooner.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
rmichael
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 718
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Oct 07, 2010 9:44 am

Mikrotik sells the device to the distributors. We have informed them what do do if the devices are defective. We can't make them check the devices sooner, or make them sell the devices sooner.
Surely there are things you can do, if you want to to help the customer. Few things come to mind:

Publish when warranty expires for each serial number.
Put manufacturing date on the product.
Put a sticker "warranty expires on xx/xx/xxxx", or freshness guaranteed until XX/XX/XXXX...


Btw, it looks like it's much better to purchase from balticnetworks than streakwave:

Streakwave:
"Warranty returns are subject to the individual manufacturers warranty return policy." [which means 15mths from manufacture date]

Balticnetworks:
"MikroTik, MaxxWave, Ubiquiti, Laird/PacWireless and Kam-Fab equipment is warranted for 1 year from the date of purchase."
 
reverged
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:30 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Fri Oct 08, 2010 6:56 am

Streakwave is terrible. Terrible sales, terrible service and an attitude to go with it.

I once bought a PoE adapter from them and it was DOA. They wouldn't take it back!

Thank goodness VISA allows disputing charges.

Sounds like Baltic is a good alternative. I'll tell my buyer.

I second the motion for some kind of datecode. I don't trust the distributor as it is in their best interest not to handle a return.

Is there a way to know the mfg date by serial number?

======================================
Also, an earlier question was never answered.

Are newer production units built with solid state caps?
======================================
 
reverged
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:30 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:28 am

Another 450 dead of capacitor attack today.

I really, really, really wish MT would publish a serial number or mac list of affected production so I/we can be proactive about fixing this.

This is ridiculous.

MT cannot grow up until it figures out how to respond to issues like this.

You cannot simply hide and ignore it.

Step up, take your licks and get on with it!
 
User avatar
congo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:40 am
Location: Hungary

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Fri Jul 01, 2011 11:18 pm

I have some news. The first three RB450s that we changed caps in, around Oct. 2009, died this week, almost at the same time. They were running with different power supplies (I do not have the type or voltage with me now), and with the same replacement caps, which we bought at the local hobby electronic store (not the cheapest ones of course).

Because they were the first ones, we used them for some testing, and then deployed to some VIPs... :D

The first one that bit the dust was at my colleague's friend. On the same day my colleague's own one died, with not just the three changed caps bulging, but the fourth original one also. These two boards were running on UPS. Today my girlfriend's parents complained about their router hanging every two or three hours, and after getting them to open the case, they told me that one of the small black items inside was leaking some stuff.

My colleague was planning to replace the board to a 493G in a few weeks, but not anymore.

As we have several repaired items in production, we are getting ready for another capacitor change wave... Getting soldering irons started... :?
 
lazerusrm
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:56 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sat Jul 02, 2011 8:21 am

dont solder in just any old cap...

buy a good quality one.

I can recommend either some Rubycon Nichicon Chemi-Con.

you can buy from digikey, or badcaps.net or most electronics retailers.

No, all caps are not created equal. :)
 
RK
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 560
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada and Central America

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sat Jul 02, 2011 12:45 pm

dont solder in just any old cap...

buy a good quality one.

I can recommend either some Rubycon Nichicon Chemi-Con.

you can buy from digikey, or badcaps.net or most electronics retailers.
The board should not be putting so much demand on the capacitors that only the very best top of the line caps survive.
This kind of behavior seems to suggest a design flaw.
 
User avatar
congo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:40 am
Location: Hungary

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sat Jul 02, 2011 6:47 pm

dont solder in just any old cap...

buy a good quality one.
We are using YAGEO, because they are easily available locally. I don't know if they are really so bad.
However, in one of the mentioned units, the only unchanged SU'SCON bulged, and our YAGEOs were intact.
Nota bene: next time changing all the SU'SCONs will be the better decision.
I can't understand why MikroTik is using such crap quality parts for RouterBoards.
 
soooc
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:51 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:03 pm

Not only RB450 have this problem. Today I replaced two RB433 with bad capacitors ... Normis - do you want photo?
 
lazerusrm
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:56 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sun Jul 03, 2011 2:51 am

Electrolytic Capacitors in general are just crap :)

high temperatures will kill them fast as well..

many manufacturers of parts have problems with caps.... very common.
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sun Jul 03, 2011 3:33 am

dont solder in just any old cap...

buy a good quality one.

I can recommend either some Rubycon Nichicon Chemi-Con.

you can buy from digikey, or badcaps.net or most electronics retailers.
The board should not be putting so much demand on the capacitors that only the very best top of the line caps survive.
This kind of behavior seems to suggest a design flaw.
Yes! And that is why we switched from 24vdc to 12vdc power supplies for indoor RouterBoards.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
User avatar
congo
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:40 am
Location: Hungary

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sun Jul 03, 2011 11:02 am

Electrolytic Capacitors in general are just crap :)

high temperatures will kill them fast as well..

many manufacturers of parts have problems with caps.... very common.
Conspiration theories rock :) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitor_plague
 
lazerusrm
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:56 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Mon Jul 04, 2011 7:14 am

Electrolytic Capacitors in general are just crap :)

high temperatures will kill them fast as well..

many manufacturers of parts have problems with caps.... very common.
Conspiration theories rock :) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitor_plague

So we're going to wikipedia now are we?

Here is some good reads that is directly applicable to this thread.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electrolytic_capacitor Esp. last paragraph.

and

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arrhenius_equation
 
DBob
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 4:13 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Jul 05, 2011 7:24 am

I've got my RB450G second handly. The one from I bought it said, this one is brand new, he just got this as a replacement, because his unit has failed, probably with this bad capacitor problem.

This was two mounts ago. From this and this post for me it seems, that in production the capacitors had been changed, with a layout modification of course. But the replacement unit is still not equipped with solid state capacitors, and these posts are more then 1 year olds.

What is the current situation then?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23259
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Jul 05, 2011 8:09 am

the problem was not with capacitors in general, but with a specific bad batch. we have changed the supplier, and there is no more problem. they look very similar to the previous ones, I think only the color and manufacturer info is different
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
reverged
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:30 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Tue Jul 05, 2011 8:30 pm

the problem was not with capacitors in general, but with a specific bad batch. we have changed the supplier, and there is no more problem. they look very similar to the previous ones, I think only the color and manufacturer info is different
I think it is important to present accurate and complete information.
We have seen written here multiple times by MT that the "supplier" has been changed.
e.g.
...we have changed the supplier...
new batches are already made with different parts and will not have this issue. as soon as we got first problems, we switched supplier immediately
A very small number, we found the problem and changed supplier immediately
The "new supplier" is the same supplier: Su'scon

The "new" capacitors are brown. The old capacitors are green. But they both have "Su'scon" printed on them.
The new capacitors are MG series, 680uF/6.3V; the old capacitors are SJ series, 560uF/6.3V.
Both are aluminum electrolytic. MG series is rated longer at high temperature.
http://www.su-scon.com.tw/products_li.html
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23259
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:36 am

the word "supplier" has a different meaning than "manufacturer". the previous supplier had included bad/fake/DOA capacitors together with normal ones (some percent of them were bad). this had nothing to do with Suscon being bad in general.

If the specs of the capacitor would have been at fault like you think, we would have seen much larger numbers of problematic devices, yet they say low even after such long time.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
reverged
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 270
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:30 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:46 pm

I, for one, never said the specs of the capacitor where to blame. I simply pointed out that not only did the manufacturer not change, the part number and series did change. Perhaps that was to make it easy to identify new vs. old.

So now, many months and posts later, we have what appears to be an accurate and complete story:

There is no design problem.
A bad batch of caps - from a previous supplier - not a bad batch from the manufacturer.
DOA, defective and fake caps were mixed with good caps.
The supplier has been changed, the manufacturer has not been changed.
The value, series (and color) and part number has been changed.
The previous supplier has been nailed to a tree. (That part is fiction, yes?)

If someone wants to repair a unit, it would be better to match the specs of the new parts, no?
 
lazerusrm
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 7:56 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Jul 07, 2011 4:24 am

Replace With os-con's like the new rb units :)

solid state = much better
 
roadracer96
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 714
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 12:01 am

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Wed Aug 31, 2011 5:57 am

I really hope I dont start seeing this problem. I have about 80 450Gs I rolled out in the last 6 months.
I don't think you will. This is the first RB450G that we have seen with bulging caps. I am hoping this is an anomaly.

The 450G power circuit design is much different from the older RB450 power circuit where we have seen all the cap problems.

Tom
Well. I've seen it. About 160 rb450gs in field, 15 493ahs, and a handful of 433ahs. Maybe 50 rb411s. At least dozen 450gs have failed as well as a few 411ars and 3 433ahs. The 493ahs were under warranty still. The others are just out.
 
gafriedman
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 4:16 am
Location: Pinal County, AZ
Contact:

RB450G Capacitors problem

Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:22 am

We have approx 60 450Gs in operation. Those purchased after January, 2011 are blowing the 6.3v 560uF CAPs. So far, 4 450Gs blown. We're replacing the caps with:

Mouser #: 647-UPW0J561MPD
Mfr. #: UPW0J561MPD
Manufacturer: Nichicon
Desc.: Aluminum Electrolytic Capacitors - Leaded 6.3volts 560uF 8x11.5 20% 3.5LS
RoHS: RoHS Compliant

0.177 each/100 Mouser Electronics.
GAF
AireBeam Broadband

Mikrotik: How about posting a MAC LIST of all of the 450Gs with this batch of Jiffypop Caps!!!
GAF
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sun Sep 11, 2011 3:26 am

I really hope I dont start seeing this problem. I have about 80 450Gs I rolled out in the last 6 months.
I don't think you will. This is the first RB450G that we have seen with bulging caps. I am hoping this is an anomaly.

The 450G power circuit design is much different from the older RB450 power circuit where we have seen all the cap problems.

Tom
Well. I've seen it. About 160 rb450gs in field, 15 493ahs, and a handful of 433ahs. Maybe 50 rb411s. At least dozen 450gs have failed as well as a few 411ars and 3 433ahs. The 493ahs were under warranty still. The others are just out.
And what power supplies were you running on these? 24vdc or 12vdc?

We switched to 12vdc for most of the RB4xx family over a year ago and have seen much less cap failure.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
wifi442
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:01 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Thu Oct 06, 2011 9:32 pm

Just had the same thing happen to one of my 450g's this morning. Made it all through the heat of summer and died on a cool morning at 3:50AM :(

It was powered with 24v. Going to drop to 12v now.

Made for an early start to the day and some angry customers. Not sure when I got this one. It's prob year and a half old. Gonna replace the caps and dump it in a less critical part of the network that has redundancy. So the green capacitors are the older versions?

Image
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 23259
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Fri Oct 07, 2011 7:59 am

Yes, brown ones from the Suscon MG series are the new ones.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
wifi442
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:01 pm

Re: RB450 Capacitors problem?

Sat Oct 15, 2011 11:59 pm

Caps replaced board lives again :) Even bough extras in case other fail

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests