Community discussions

 
liteforce
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:06 pm

RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Thu May 06, 2010 4:18 pm

Normis,

Can we assume that any RAM which works perfectly in an RB1000's DIMM slot will also work perfectly in the RB1100's DIMM slot ?

If it does not, please advise as to the RAM specs the RB1100 requires.

I asked our friendly MikrotTik distributor but they did not have an answer.

Regards,
Terry Froy
Spilsby Internet Solutions
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24186
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Fri May 07, 2010 9:01 am

it's the same as on RB1000
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Fri May 21, 2010 1:37 am

it's the same as on RB1000
One can only wish but that is not the case.

The Crucial (Micron) 2GB modules that I found as reliable on RB1000 do not work reliably on the RB1100.

I tested 3 known good modules yesterday. Two of them caused the RB1100 not to post. The third module seemed to behave well.

I tested two of the bad Crucial modules that would not allow the RB1000 to reboot. Both seemed to work fine with the RB1100.

I had two Kingston modules that would not reboot with the RB1000 but otherwise worked fine. One seemed to work with the RB1100. The other would not allow the RB1100 to post.

Because of these uncertain results, I made the decision to ship all my RB1100 stock without RAM upgrades even though many of my customers wanted them.

I am going to wait until the next production RB1100 is available and we can buy as many as we want. At that point, I'll start testing RAM again.

It would have been real nice if Mikrotik engineers would have tested some modules and given a list of approved RAM, rather than leaving it up to the users to figure out.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
liteforce
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:06 pm

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Sat May 22, 2010 2:45 pm

Tom,

Any chance you can disclose what particular Kingston module worked in your test RB1100 ?

The silence from MikroTik on this topic is deafening and as I have to deploy a RB1100 on the 28th which will require three full IPv4 route tables, I need something in it other than the stock 512MB DIMM.

Regards,
Terry Froy
Spilsby Internet Solutions
 
liteforce
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:06 pm

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Wed May 26, 2010 1:27 pm

Any chance you can disclose what particular Kingston module worked in your test RB1100 ?
Replying to my own post...

A single module of Kingston 2GB (Kingston Part No: KVR667D2S5/2G) has been through three consecutive runs of the RouterBOARD memory test (hit 't' at the serial console menu) on one of our RB1100 without errors.

Tom: Hope this helps!

Regards,
Terry Froy
Spilsby Internet Solutions
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24186
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Mon May 31, 2010 7:48 am

we have made some changes in v4.10 that could improve the situation in this regard.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
liteforce
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:06 pm

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Mon May 31, 2010 3:42 pm

we have made some changes in v4.10 that could improve the situation in this regard.
Normis,

I am already in contact with Janis concerning this issue [Ticket#2010052666000416] and RouterBOOT 2.27beta2 appears to have solved the problem - running it in on a production router but it certainly seems stable.

Regards,
Terry Froy
Spilsby Internet Solutions
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Tue Jun 01, 2010 10:12 am

4.10 have 2.27 stable in it, better use that version.
 
Solaris
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 5:05 pm

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Tue Jun 01, 2010 6:08 pm

upgraded into 4.10 but the firmware still 2.26 :(,do i need to netinstall to update it?
 
freethought
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:54 am
Location: Lincoln, England
Contact:

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Tue Jun 01, 2010 6:48 pm

upgraded into 4.10 but the firmware still 2.26 :(,do i need to netinstall to update it?
From one of our routers:

/system routerboard print
       routerboard: yes
             model: "433AH"
     serial-number: "xxxxxx"
  current-firmware: "2.23"
  upgrade-firmware: "2.26"
/system routerboard upgrade
Do you really want to upgrade firmware? [y/n] 
n
action cancelled
Upgrading the version of RouterOS doesn't upgrade the firmware (RouterBOOT), it just makes it available to the system for installation.
Freethought Internet Limited - Hosting and communications
Freethought Internet Limited registered in London No. 5862996. Registered office: The Old Church Hall, 2A Cromwell Street, Lincoln, LN2 5LP. VAT number GB 987 0952 66.
 
Solaris
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 5:05 pm

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Tue Jun 01, 2010 8:34 pm

fixed with
/system routerboard settings set force-backup-booter=no
drag the 4.10 into the winbox files list,

then
/system routerboard upgrade
make sure to backup first.
routerboard: yes
model: "1100"
serial-number: "xxxxx"
current-firmware: "2.27"
upgrade-firmware: "2.27"
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:49 am

Tom,

Any chance you can disclose what particular Kingston module worked in your test RB1100 ?

The silence from MikroTik on this topic is deafening and as I have to deploy a RB1100 on the 28th which will require three full IPv4 route tables, I need something in it other than the stock 512MB DIMM.

Regards,
Terry Froy
Spilsby Internet Solutions
I would rather not report my results yet.

I am starting over on the RAM testing since MT has declined the responsibility. I bought 2 each of 6 different modules last week and tested them on a single RB1100. Two of the six failed immediately. Another had problems. The other three tested fine.

Since then, I bought another 25 of the modules that I considered the most likely to remain stable.

I have 50 more RB1100 arriving this weekend. I'll be upgrading about 25 and thoroughly testing them all.

If they all test good, I'll report my findings.

Many thanks,

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24186
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:38 am

Tom, did you test with the new firmware that was released to address the memory issues (2.27)?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:23 pm

Tom, did you test with the new firmware that was released to address the memory issues (2.27)?
That is great news! I was running RouterBoot 2.26. I shipped the last RB1100 a week ago.

I will retest all RAM modules with 2.27 when this next batch of RB1100 boards arrives on Saturday or Sunday.

I'll report all my RAM test results next week.

Many thanks,

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
Solaris
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 5:05 pm

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:25 pm

Tom, did you test with the new firmware that was released to address the memory issues (2.27)?
That is great news! I was running RouterBoot 2.26. I shipped the last RB1100 a week ago.

I will retest all RAM modules with 2.27 when this next batch of RB1100 boards arrives on Saturday or Sunday.

I'll report all my RAM test results next week.

Many thanks,

Tom
Will wait for test report,thanks a lot dude...
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:53 pm

any results with new firmware, beta tests of this bootloader version looked promising.
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Tue Jun 08, 2010 6:49 pm

RB/1100 RAM tests by tom @ roc-noc.com June 8, 2010
---------------------------------------------------------

Tests were made with RouterOS 4.9 using RouterBOOT 2.26
and then RouterOS 4.10 using RouterBOOT 2.27

All memory is 2GB 200-Pin SO-DIMM DDR2 667 (5300)

9 different memory modules were tested:
-----------------------------------------


1) WINTEC AMPO Model 3AMD2667N-2G-R

passed with both ROS and RouterBOOT versions

2) Rendition by Crucial Model RM25664AC667

passed with both ROS and RouterBOOT versions

3) Crucial CT25664AC667.16FE

failed to post with ROS 4.9 and RouterBOOT 2.26
passed with ROS 4.10 and RouterBOOT 2.27

4) Crucial CT25664AC667.M16FJ3

failed to reboot with both versions

5) G.SKILL Model F2-5300CL5S-2GBSQ

failed to reboot with both versions

6) Patriot Model PSD22G6672S

passed with both ROS and RouterBOOT versions
but occasionally failed to reboot both versions

7) PNY Optima Model MN2048SD2-667 PO:142106.1

passed with both ROS and RouterBOOT versions

8) PNY Optima Model MN2048SD2-667 PO:140373.R1005

failed to reboot with both versions

9) Kingston KVR667D2SO/2GR

failed to post with ROS 4.9 and RouterBOOT 2.26
failed to reboot with ROS 4.10 and RouterBOOT 2.27


NOTES: Most of the RAM tested came from Newegg.com. Two pieces of every module were purchased and tested with consistent results. The one exception was PNY Optima which delivered two different RAM modules under the same part number and packaging (different PCB layout, different RAM ICs, different results).

Conclusion: The lack of compatibility with RAM modules is quite disappointing. RouterBOOT 2.27 has made some improvements in this. The initial post problems have disappeared. We ended up buying 20 more of the WINTEC AMPO Model 3AMD2667N-2G-R and installed, tested and shipped in 20 RB/1100 on June 8th. All tested fine for boot and reboot. We ran full memory tests on all of the above RAM and they all passed all memory tests. The only remaining problem with some RAM modules is when the RB/1100 hangs on reboot. We now test all RB/1100 boards for reboot after any memory upgrade. We hope this helps others. We will continue working with Mikrotik to try and improve RB/1100 RAM compatibility.
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
liteforce
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:06 pm

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Tue Jun 08, 2010 11:11 pm

Tom,

Our memory passed multiple memory tests with RouterBOOT 2.26, however, it still caused the RB1100 to reboot approximately 10 seconds after starting a format of a 2GB MicroSD card.

This may be something you want to add to your test suite before determining 100% compatibility with a certain type of module.

Regards,
Terry Froy
Spilsby Internet Solutions
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Tue Jun 08, 2010 11:22 pm

Tom,

Our memory passed multiple memory tests with RouterBOOT 2.26, however, it still caused the RB1100 to reboot approximately 10 seconds after starting a format of a 2GB MicroSD card.

This may be something you want to add to your test suite before determining 100% compatibility with a certain type of module.

Regards,
Terry Froy
Spilsby Internet Solutions
Thanks but how do you know that your memory caused the reboot? And what brand and model of memory was it?

I found similar problems when formatting large microSD cards on the RB450G. It seemed like they were assigning all CPU resources to the format instead of making it a well behaved lower priority task.

One thing that I found was that all of the tested memory passed the MT memory tests found in the RouterBOOT menu. But many of them still hang during a reboot. I still suspect that it is a code (timing) problem in RouterBOOT rather than a memory module problem.

We had similar problems and issues with the RB1000 and RAM upgrades.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
freethought
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:54 am
Location: Lincoln, England
Contact:

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Tue Jun 08, 2010 11:41 pm

Tom,

Our memory passed multiple memory tests with RouterBOOT 2.26, however, it still caused the RB1100 to reboot approximately 10 seconds after starting a format of a 2GB MicroSD card.

This may be something you want to add to your test suite before determining 100% compatibility with a certain type of module.

Regards,
Terry Froy
Spilsby Internet Solutions
Thanks but how do you know that your memory caused the reboot? And what brand and model of memory was it?
From talking to Terry, it'sKingston KVR667D2S5/2G and the same MicroSD card formats fine with the stock 512MB of RAM that Mikrotik provide.
Freethought Internet Limited - Hosting and communications
Freethought Internet Limited registered in London No. 5862996. Registered office: The Old Church Hall, 2A Cromwell Street, Lincoln, LN2 5LP. VAT number GB 987 0952 66.
 
liteforce
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 8:06 pm

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Wed Jun 09, 2010 1:14 am

Tom,

Exactly as freethought said.

As we do full memory tests on anything we deploy (due to datacentre being 150 miles from our base), I did a full memory test on our RB1100 with the Kingston 2GB DIMM (same part number as freethought already quoted) installed and it passed no problems.

It was only when I attempted to format the microSD card that I had installed did I hear the familiar 'beep beep' from the RB1100 which indicated a reboot of RouterOS.

Two more attempts yielded the exact same results.

Tried the same thing on the second RB1100 we had bought as a spare - which hadn't yet had its' memory upgraded - formatted just fine.

So, on a whim, I upgraded it with the second Kingston 2GB DIMM I had bought for this purpose and it suffered from the exact same problem - the router simply rebooted when attempting to format the microSD card.

Replacing the memory with the stock MikroTik DIMM allowed the format to complete without any errors or rebooting.

Hope that clears things up!

Regards,
Terry Froy
Spilsby Internet Solutions
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Wed Jun 09, 2010 5:22 am

So I need to test a RB1100 formatting a 2GB microSD card with 512MB and then try to format with my nine different 2GB RAM modules.

I'll try to fit it in tomorrow. If they all fail then I believe the formatting code has a problem with RAM expansion.

Has anyone successfully formatted a microSD card with any upgraded RAM on the RB1100?

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
w0lt
Member
Member
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:12 pm
Location: Minnesota USA

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Wed Jun 09, 2010 9:11 pm

Can anyone share any tests revealing any advantage of having 1.5Gb of ram versus the stock 512Mb? Any specifics?

-tp
MTCNA - 2011

" The Bitterness of Poor Quality Remains Long After the Sweetness of Low Price is Forgotten "

Image
 
freethought
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:54 am
Location: Lincoln, England
Contact:

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Wed Jun 09, 2010 9:23 pm

Can anyone share any tests revealing any advantage of having 1.5Gb of ram versus the stock 512Mb? Any specifics?

-tp
If you have multiple full IPv4 and/or IPv6 tables from your upstream providers via eBGP as well as inter-router connectivity within your AS via iBGP then you really will need more than 512MB of RAM - the IPv4 table is over 330,000 routes now IIRC
Freethought Internet Limited - Hosting and communications
Freethought Internet Limited registered in London No. 5862996. Registered office: The Old Church Hall, 2A Cromwell Street, Lincoln, LN2 5LP. VAT number GB 987 0952 66.
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Thu Jun 10, 2010 3:28 am

Tom,

Exactly as freethought said.

As we do full memory tests on anything we deploy (due to datacentre being 150 miles from our base), I did a full memory test on our RB1100 with the Kingston 2GB DIMM (same part number as freethought already quoted) installed and it passed no problems.

It was only when I attempted to format the microSD card that I had installed did I hear the familiar 'beep beep' from the RB1100 which indicated a reboot of RouterOS.

Two more attempts yielded the exact same results.

Tried the same thing on the second RB1100 we had bought as a spare - which hadn't yet had its' memory upgraded - formatted just fine.

So, on a whim, I upgraded it with the second Kingston 2GB DIMM I had bought for this purpose and it suffered from the exact same problem - the router simply rebooted when attempting to format the microSD card.

Replacing the memory with the stock MikroTik DIMM allowed the format to complete without any errors or rebooting.

Hope that clears things up!

Regards,
Terry Froy
Spilsby Internet Solutions
OK liteforce and freethought... as promised,

Today I looked around the office and couldn't find my 2GB Sandisk microSD card. But I did find my 16GB Sandisk microSD card so I hope you accept that as a good test subject.

I originally bought this card to test in the RB450G. While the 2GB card formatted quickly and easily in the RB450G, I could barely get the RB450G to format the 16GB card and I was trying to determine the RB450G maximum flash capacity. When I started formatting, I was immediately kicked out of Winbox. I could type things into the terminal and might see a character on the display in the next minute or two. It acted like it was crashed but instead, nearly all of its resources were devoted to formatting the flash card. Finally after about 30 minutes, the card was done.

So today, I took an RB1100 with 2GB RAM card installed and formatted the 16GB flash card. It had ROS 4.10 and RouterBOOT 2.27 installed. I saw similar results as with the RB450G but it completed the format in much shorter time. I suspect about 10 or 15 minutes but didn't have the available time to time it.

Then I changed to a different brand 2GB RAM card and repeated.

I verified that the RB1100 with either the Winpro RAM or the Crucial Rendition RAM from my earlier tests, formatted the 16GB flash card just fine without crashing.

Don't format a flash card while routing traffic though.. as I said earlier, I think there are way too many resources devoted to this formatting and nothing left for more general tasks.

I did prove that I could format a large flash card without crashing a 1.5GB RB1100. Now I think that we have thoroughly tested the two types of RAM that we are using for memory upgrades.

Many thanks,

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Thu Jun 10, 2010 3:33 am

Can anyone share any tests revealing any advantage of having 1.5Gb of ram versus the stock 512Mb? Any specifics?

-tp
512MB is already a huge amount of RAM. Extra RAM is always needed for tables and processes. In the router world large RAM is usually needed for BGP running full Internet routes as freethought has already pointed out.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
disca
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:04 pm

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:10 pm

Crucial 2GB 200-Pin DDR2 CT25664AC667.M16FJ1 - works fine on reboot at stock frequencies. If DDR frequency is raised to 533 regardless as to change of CPU frequency it hangs on reboot. You can use the 400DDR/1000CPU frequency though.
 
disca
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:04 pm

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Mon Dec 27, 2010 1:13 pm

Just to correct my last post - that ram will only run at 400Mhz, so 400Mhz/800Mhz CPU fine - 400Mhz/1000MhzCPU fine etc etc. 533mhz results in a hang on reboot. This is with either v4 or v5 software and 2.28 or 2.29 bootloaders.

I'm going to try and get some hynix 2GB modules to test.

I've sent the support file to mikrotik incase they can add support for the modules.
 
freethought
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:54 am
Location: Lincoln, England
Contact:

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Mon Dec 27, 2010 1:17 pm

Eh, where has the part of disca's post about the RB110A hardware revision as well as my reply gone? Are Mikrotik busy censoring the forums without explanation again...
Freethought Internet Limited - Hosting and communications
Freethought Internet Limited registered in London No. 5862996. Registered office: The Old Church Hall, 2A Cromwell Street, Lincoln, LN2 5LP. VAT number GB 987 0952 66.
 
disca
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:04 pm

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Mon Dec 27, 2010 1:20 pm

freethought: I noticed that too? What's the problem mentioning a hardware revision mentioned in their own specification document on their website! crazy.

Have ordered a 2GB hynix module (hynix was manufacturer of RAM that came with this model) so hoping for more luck with that!
 
freethought
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:54 am
Location: Lincoln, England
Contact:

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Mon Dec 27, 2010 1:27 pm

Is it just me, or does the RB1100 User Manual (http://www.routerboard.com/pricelist/do ... ile_id=260) with the offending details about the RB1100A no longer load?
Freethought Internet Limited - Hosting and communications
Freethought Internet Limited registered in London No. 5862996. Registered office: The Old Church Hall, 2A Cromwell Street, Lincoln, LN2 5LP. VAT number GB 987 0952 66.
 
disca
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:04 pm

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Mon Dec 27, 2010 1:30 pm

freethought: It's not you -- it doesnt load here now either - obviously an error on Mikrotiks part. Must have put a pre-release user manual online by mistake :-(

Does everyone have to go through this order and hope for the best process with memory upgrades for the RB1100 - such a waste of time and money!
 
freethought
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:54 am
Location: Lincoln, England
Contact:

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Mon Dec 27, 2010 1:43 pm

*sigh*, why go for all out censorship rather than admitting your mistake? What's the betting that these posts mysteriously disappear without explanation soon?

Luckily, the part number that Terry (liteforce) recommended worked for us with our RB/1100 units.
Freethought Internet Limited - Hosting and communications
Freethought Internet Limited registered in London No. 5862996. Registered office: The Old Church Hall, 2A Cromwell Street, Lincoln, LN2 5LP. VAT number GB 987 0952 66.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24186
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Mon Dec 27, 2010 1:47 pm

It was a mistake on our part. Such product does not exist. We will fix the link.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
disca
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 2:04 pm

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Tue Jan 04, 2011 1:11 pm

The hynix memory I got works fine at all frequencies (no hang on reboot) with 4.16 and bootloader 2.29 -

Hynix PC2-5300-1288 256Mx64 200 So Dimm 2gb DDR2 667Mhz CL5

Format of microSD works with that module - although network connectivity (via winbox) gets dropped while it takes place...
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: RB1100 RAM Compatibility

Sun Feb 27, 2011 1:09 pm

Crucial 2GB 200-Pin DDR2 CT25664AC667.M16FJ1 - works fine on reboot at stock frequencies. If DDR frequency is raised to 533 regardless as to change of CPU frequency it hangs on reboot. You can use the 400DDR/1000CPU frequency though.
We have not had good luck with Crucial RAM and RouterBoards. I ended up sending a bunch back and paying a restocking fee. A few months ago I tested memory modules from about 8 different makers. Only 2 failed and 4 worked at all frequencies. RAM compatibility has improved with the current RB1100 when compared to the old RB1000.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests