Community discussions

 
snajpa
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 11:18 pm

Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Sun Sep 12, 2010 11:39 pm

Hello,

I've recently bought two of these 1U hardware platforms and I plan to use them as main routers
http://www.supermicro.com/products/syst ... 5A-PHF.cfm
(+ WDC RE3 HDD, 2x1GB DDR2 667MHz)

I have 2 questions:

- is this hardware fully supported by RouterOS?

- what about actual throughput?
(I would really appreciate if it could make about 1.5Gbit)
 
snajpa
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 11:18 pm

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Thu Oct 14, 2010 10:29 pm

Since nobody has replied to my post and I have finally tested it on my own (decided to just risk few CZKs even it it won't work),

I definitely confirm, that RouterOS 5.0rc1 works on this platform.

Nice to have Supermicro board with IPMI just in case I accidentaly cut myself off the access to the router.

About the troughput - I didn't have time to test it yet, but if there's somebody interested, I can post some results later.
 
changeip
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 3803
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 5:22 pm

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Fri Oct 15, 2010 6:56 am

definately interested in performance, memory leaks?, and multicpu compatibility...
Colo and Wholesale Bandwidth Available! Sales at SanDiegoBroadband dot com
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:55 am

to test new hardware you do not have to buy the license, you can install RouterOS with demo key that is up for 24 hours. plenty of time to test, if it is working. That is, since you already owned the hardware.
 
leO
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:09 am

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Wed Oct 20, 2010 6:11 am

where to buy??
 
blake
Member
Member
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 10:46 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Wed Oct 20, 2010 9:14 am

Signup for an account then purchase at least a Level 4 license through the site.
IT consultant. Network manager. Packet junkie.
1-928-328-1509
 
freethought
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:54 am
Location: Lincoln, England
Contact:

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Sun Oct 24, 2010 12:25 am

Since nobody has replied to my post and I have finally tested it on my own (decided to just risk few CZKs even it it won't work),

I definitely confirm, that RouterOS 5.0rc1 works on this platform.

Nice to have Supermicro board with IPMI just in case I accidentaly cut myself off the access to the router.

About the troughput - I didn't have time to test it yet, but if there's somebody interested, I can post some results later.
I would be really interested in throughput and PPS performance numbers as a nice low power alternative to the unavailable RB1100.

Does RouterOS 4.11 work, or does it have to be 5.0?
Freethought Internet Limited - Hosting and communications
Freethought Internet Limited registered in London No. 5862996. Registered office: The Old Church Hall, 2A Cromwell Street, Lincoln, LN2 5LP. VAT number GB 987 0952 66.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Mon Oct 25, 2010 2:48 pm

as i wrote before - if you have hardware on your hands you can try either of versions, when you are content with how version works purchase license for the key and apply license. So you avoid all the guesswork and headache :)

For most purposes L4 is enough. If you want a lot of tunnels you should look at what limitations each license has, also note, that that limit is for active tunnels.
 
freethought
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 12:54 am
Location: Lincoln, England
Contact:

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Mon Oct 25, 2010 2:53 pm

as i wrote before - if you have hardware on your hands you can try either of versions, when you are content with how version works purchase license for the key and apply license. So you avoid all the guesswork and headache :)

For most purposes L4 is enough. If you want a lot of tunnels you should look at what limitations each license has, also note, that that limit is for active tunnels.
We haven't got the hardware though ;)
Freethought Internet Limited - Hosting and communications
Freethought Internet Limited registered in London No. 5862996. Registered office: The Old Church Hall, 2A Cromwell Street, Lincoln, LN2 5LP. VAT number GB 987 0952 66.
 
ekaiser
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:13 am

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Sat Oct 30, 2010 5:49 pm

We have tested the D510 in production and it works great with latest Version 5 release. If you are looking for a d510 based router go to balticnetworks.com, they have them available.

We have also used the Atom330 Supermicro board which also works well. If you put that together with HP NC364T, you have a powerful router.

The testing we did was with real traffic around 150Mbps/50Mbps 24k pps
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:11 pm

If you are interested in a stable platform that you don't have to worry about, hit http://www.mikrotkrouter.com. Plenty of options including SFP interfaces as well, and performance testing. Plus you can run v2-v5 on it, so you don't have to run bata software if you do not wish too.
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
snajpa
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 12, 2010 11:18 pm

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Wed Nov 17, 2010 10:04 pm

I'm using 5.0rc3 (started on 5.0rc1).

It does about 1-1.5 gigabit through, although balancing between cores isn't perfect yet.

If there's anybody looking for a relatively cheap way to route gigabit, I'd recommend this Supermicro.

But what gives me a headache is - maybe I could have just bought RB1100 and would have fully supported platform.
Hmmm. So next time it would be at least core2duo or simply RB1100.
 
legba
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:59 am

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Thu Feb 10, 2011 7:48 pm

What about MT 3.30 or 4.16 ?
Does it work on this hardware?
Are network cards OK?
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Sat Feb 12, 2011 6:56 am

What about MT 3.30 or 4.16 ?
Does it work on this hardware?
Are network cards OK?
No, it needs the newer Linux kernel (in RouterOS 5.x) for support.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
legba
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:59 am

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Sat Feb 12, 2011 11:30 am


No, it needs the newer Linux kernel (in RouterOS 5.x) for support.

Tom
Thanks Tom for answer.

That is shitty - because 5.x is not stable to put it on box that would be responsible for pppoe for 1k or 2k sessions.


Is that 100% sure that Intel 82574L NIC will not work ? I see some e1000 changes in 4.x changelog..
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:11 pm


No, it needs the newer Linux kernel (in RouterOS 5.x) for support.

Tom
Thanks Tom for answer.

That is shitty - because 5.x is not stable to put it on box that would be responsible for pppoe for 1k or 2k sessions.


Is that 100% sure that Intel 82574L NIC will not work ? I see some e1000 changes in 4.x changelog..
Not 100% sure but in my tests on the Atom D510 and D525, 4.x didn't work and 5.x does. I have not tried the latest 4.x but it was not mentioned in the 4.x changelogs and Mikrotik does not usually go out of their way to add new support to the current stable when the beta is close to becoming the new stable.

Here are the pertinent lines from the 5.x changelogs...

What's new in 5.0rc2 (2010-Oct-27 16:20):
*) added support for more Intel 82575/82576 PCI-Express Gigabit Ethernet cards;

What's new in 5.0beta1 (2010-Mar-31 09:17):
*) updated drivers and kernel (to linux-2.6.32.5);
*) added support for multiple Intel Ethernet cards;

And 5.x is just about ready for stable so you don't have too long to wait.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
User avatar
roc-noc.com
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 869
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:27 am
Location: Rockford, IL USA
Contact:

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Mon Feb 14, 2011 4:40 pm

Just to make this 100% certain, after further testing I verified that ROS 4.16 does not support our Atom D510 router hardware using the Intel 82574L/82583V chip sets. ROS 5.0rc9 works great with all the ports.

The CPU works fine with both ROS versions. The Ethernet ports do not work with ROS 4.16.

Tom
-----------------------------------------------
http://www.roc-noc.com
Tom, CCNA, ISP, USA Mikrotik Distributor
888-762-5662
-----------------------------------------------
 
legba
just joined
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:59 am

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Mon Feb 14, 2011 10:29 pm

Thanks Tom for testing this hardware.
I appreciate it a lot.

Anyway - we upgraded one of our BRAS serwers terminating 350 PPPoE sessions by mistake :) to version ROS 5.0rc7.
It was a disaster. CPU was 100% almost all the time. All interfaces were disappearing and appearing .
So i think we will wait for stable ROS 5 or just buy another NIC.

Anyway :) THX for testing.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24137
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Supermicro Atom D510 Compatibility, performance

Tue Feb 15, 2011 10:30 am

if you find _anything_ like this, ever, immediately make supout.rif file and only then downgrade
No answer to your question? How to write posts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests