Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
mahnet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:11 pm

Confused about 711 and 711A

Fri Nov 12, 2010 7:53 pm

I purchased some RB711 recently and my vendor tells me he has given a rb711A and all other RB711. However my check on the resources are as per the snapshots attached. Routerboard website tells that RB711A has 64MB RAM but my board doesnt have 64 MB. Although one of my board i checked does run on AP Bridge and has Level 4 license and the rest run as bridge and r with Level 3 license.
The pricing is huge different between the RB711A and RB711. I am confused because my board at no place shows RB711A
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24420
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Confused about 711 and 711A

Fri Nov 12, 2010 10:01 pm

you should email support with the supout.rif file from the board with Level4 license. support will verify if you have RB711A with smaller RAM than normal, or RB711 with beter license than normal (two possibilities)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
saintofinternet
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 3:52 am

Re: Confused about 711 and 711A

Sun Jan 02, 2011 3:00 am

i think i am facing a similar problem with the RB711
by professionals, for professionals....
Don't forget to give KARMA!!!
 
User avatar
mahnet
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 654
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: Confused about 711 and 711A

Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:14 am

i found that many distributors r installing level 4 license on the 711 and distributing it for use as AP mode. whereas i actually asked my distributor for a 711A and not a 711 with l4 license.
 
wireless12
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 10:49 am

Re: Confused about 711 and 711A

Sun Jan 02, 2011 7:13 pm

this is rate race, we people are crazy to earn money by any means we can, even by befooling our frds, we hav lost honesty completely, off course we are civilized and living in scientific age. no space for truth. u have been cheated by ur disributor, my dear frd.

Regards.
 
jcremin
Member
Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 7:57 am

Re: Confused about 711 and 711A

Mon Jan 03, 2011 8:22 am

Look on the sticker that has the mac addresses on it. If it doesn't say 711A, it is probably just a regular 711.

I know the first shipments of a new router sometimes have come with a better license on them. Maybe you just got one 711 from the first batch.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mauricioisp and 17 guests