Community discussions

 
flatbat
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:18 pm

Web Proxy on RB1100?

Thu Nov 25, 2010 8:11 pm

Is it a good idea to switch on Web Proxy on a RB1100?
Would it it that case be best to expand the RAM and use the system store, or to insert a SD card and use that as a separate store for the Web Proxy? Where is the NAND in the RB1100..? Is this the 512 MB built-in memory or something else..?

Thanks
 
blake
Member
Member
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon May 31, 2010 10:46 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Web Proxy on RB1100?

Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:18 pm

It would be best to add an SD card and use that as the proxy store. Adding more RAM may be valuable as your utilization may go up when enabling that feature. It should be the 512mb built-in memory. Not sure where its physically located. Its been a while since I've opened my 1100.
IT consultant. Network manager. Packet junkie.
1-928-328-1509
 
flatbat
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:18 pm

Re: Web Proxy on RB1100?

Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:30 pm

I'm a bit confused about the memory on the RB1100..
It should have 512 MB internal memory, but it some places it says it's SDRAM, and in others that this is a NAND (flash).


[admin@core1] > /ip proxy export
# nov/26/2010 02:27:18 by RouterOS 4.10
# software id = VWJR-1NLM
#
/ip proxy
set always-from-cache=no cache-administrator= cache-hit-dscp=4 cache-on-disk=no enabled=yes \
max-cache-size=unlimited max-client-connections=600 max-fresh-time=3d max-server-connections=600 parent-proxy=\
0.0.0.0 parent-proxy-port=0 port=8080 serialize-connections=no src-address=0.0.0.0


[admin@core1] > /store export
# nov/26/2010 02:25:49 by RouterOS 4.10
# software id = VWJR-1NLM
#
/store
add comment="" disabled=no disk=system name=web-proxy1 type=web-proxy


[admin@core1] > /store disk print
Flags: S - system
# NAME TOTAL-SPACE FREE-SPACE STATUS
0 S system 520192KiB 487164KiB ready



[admin@core1] > /ip proxy monitor
status: running
uptime: 5w2d1h42m2s
requests: 128537
hits: 949
cache-used: 213936KiB
total-ram-used: 6961KiB
received-from-servers: 1158502KiB
sent-to-clients: 1159442KiB
hits-sent-to-clients: 969KiB


How can it be that I use 213936 KB cache storage, but only use 6961 KB RAM, when RAM is all I've got...???
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24206
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Web Proxy on RB1100?

Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:35 am

don't confuse memory with storage!

- There is a SODIMM slot for changing the RAM module, by default it has 512MB, and you can upgrade up to 2GB.
- The storage is a NAND flash, and there is also a microSD slot.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
flatbat
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:18 pm

Re: Web Proxy on RB1100?

Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:05 am

Sorry.. still struggling..

Are you saying that the RB1100 has 512MB RAM when shipped, PLUS 512MB storage ('disk' in /store disk print) ?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24206
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Web Proxy on RB1100?

Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:06 am

Yes.

What do you mean by "plus"? They are different things. It's like saying you will get a PC + a keyboard.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
flatbat
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:18 pm

Re: Web Proxy on RB1100?

Fri Nov 26, 2010 11:50 am

Mmmm.. you're right. I should download the RB1100 user guide and read it myself, instead of asking silly questions..
In the wrong forum as well, apparently.. (no idea why I created this thread under Virtualization).

Anyway, I'll try to enable Web Proxy in one of our production RB1100 routers and see what happens then..

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests