Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
User avatar
SamCurtis
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 2:23 am

Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Fri Dec 24, 2010 9:27 am

Ok I know Atheros is superior, allright.

But many broadcom chipsets also support the same modes as atheros, master, managed, and monitor.

So why not guys? Is it because Mikrotik doesnt sell broadcom based wireless cards?
 
User avatar
promind
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:26 am
Location: Rousse, Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Fri Dec 24, 2010 2:38 pm

Because Broadcom modules require external firmware to function properly.
 
User avatar
SamCurtis
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 2:23 am

Re: Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:58 am

And why is that not possible to do? Every other linux platform seems to have no issue with master mode on broadcom. Why not mikrotik?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24383
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Tue Jan 11, 2011 8:28 am

Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?
Why does it need to?

Do you find it cheaper, easy to buy, some other personal reason, some technical reason ?
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
SamCurtis
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 2:23 am

Re: Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:36 am

I fail to see the logic in your response to my question.

There is just as much MiniPCI wireless devices out there that are broadcom as there are atheros. I just happen to have a pile of Broadcom cards here I could be using in those empty pci slots, the hardware is there, but I cannot use them because you have choosen to neglect supporting this standard hardware. So I guess I will just go to mikrotik.com and purchase some r52 cards instead of saving my money because I am "cheap".

I know that Mikrotik is a business, and must cater to its overwhelming customer base, which is commercial consumers that know what they want, and dont mind spending a generous amount of money on multiple devices. But that does not mean you should neglect supporting perfectly usable hardware on your wonderful platform. I also know that the majority of mikrotik customer purchase your equipment and do not mind a lack of support for retail class wireless cards because they , by in large, require high powered solutions for long range deployment.

But those 400mw and 600mw cards are not neccesary for all deployments. There is still a viable use for sub 100mw cards.
 
User avatar
jwcn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1501
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:49 am
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:14 am

There is very little demand for support of Broadcom. Better to spend time on other things i.e. gps sync
 
Beccara
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 3:13 am

Re: Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:25 am

Gonna take a stab in the dark here and say that things like NV2/Nstream wouldn't be able to be used on BC cards because of the level of driver access it requires and supporting them without these features would cause problems and confusion in the client base of MT?
 
User avatar
SamCurtis
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 2:23 am

Re: Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Thu Jan 13, 2011 4:19 am

Simple solution, automatic disable of those options when a broadcom card is used.
 
Beccara
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 3:13 am

Re: Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Thu Jan 13, 2011 5:20 am

You missed the point, it creates confusion in the userbase about it. I dont wanna buy 20 units of a CPE from a vendor to find out they cheaped out and got BC cards and I cant use them on my NStream network.

Whats the point of needing BC cards? The MT ones are good, If you need low power either turn it down or goto something like a CM9. I wouldn't want to be the tech trying to fix a problem because a CPE is BC and a AP is Atheros and its not working right
 
MyThoughts
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 9:07 pm

Re: Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:38 pm

The only reason I am repying to this is to keep Mikrotik informed of what their users want.

Mikrotik has been very good in adding features that users request (within reason of course). I myself have made requests for features that were not feasible for various reasons. I have also made feature requests that did get implemented (eg. Atheros small channel support).

At this time many Mikrotik customers are pushing to get some type of GPS sync in place. This is very important to me, and for obvious reason don't want any development time wasted on unneeded features (ie. Broadcom support).

Broadcom support adds nothing 'better' to the RouterOS platform it simply allows the few people that have the cards lying around to use them. I run a business, I don't fool around when it comes to building a fast and reliable network. If the Broadcom cards were superioir in some tangible useful manner I may have chosen to support the OP, but since they are not superior in any way I can't.

Cheers.
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1825
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Thu Jan 27, 2011 11:13 pm

because Broadcom is s##t, and Mikrotik have plenty of other more important features to add *cough* DHCPv6
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
gcs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 10:06 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas USA

Re: Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Thu Mar 03, 2011 10:39 pm

I have a similar question. I have a bunch of NL-2511MP Plus cards and I loved them. But since I upreaded to OS 4.11 they no longer work. I don't want to have to buy R52H cards. I was wondering why they stopped supporting them?

david
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24383
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Fri Mar 04, 2011 7:31 am

I have a similar question. I have a bunch of NL-2511MP Plus cards and I loved them. But since I upreaded to OS 4.11 they no longer work. I don't want to have to buy R52H cards. I was wondering why they stopped supporting them?

david
email supout.rif file to support and we will check
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
gcs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 10:06 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas USA

Re: Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Tue Mar 15, 2011 12:11 am

I just email the supout.rif to support

thanks

david
 
gcs
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 10:06 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas USA

Re: Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Tue Mar 15, 2011 12:12 am

it failed to send


support@mikrotik.com.php
SMTP error from remote mail server after RCPT TO:<support@mikrotik.com.php>:
host 74.113.208.200 [74.113.208.200]: 550 Rejected:
NAME-ERROR mikrotik.com.php. IN MX
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Tue Mar 15, 2011 1:24 am

Email support@mikrotik.com, not support@mikrotik.com.php. Read the error message you posted.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
Docteh
newbie
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 6:57 pm

Re: Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Tue Mar 15, 2011 3:28 am

What does GPS sync accomplish? Like other than time sync without having to fiddle around with ntp settings.
 
Beccara
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 3:13 am

Re: Why doesnt RouterOS support Broadcom Wireless?

Tue Mar 15, 2011 4:22 am

GPS Sync has nothing at all to do with NTP, search the forums

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gfucka, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 7 guests