Community discussions

 
raminux
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:48 am

RB450G: is it the right choice?

Mon Jan 31, 2011 5:55 am

We have about 10 network clients (desktops, laptops, smart phones, a printer, etc.) in our network (a simple home network shared among roommates). Two computers and one printer will be connected by wire and the rest wirelessly. I need Gigabit connection and it seems RB450G is the right choice if it had wireless connectivity or a mini-pci connector. Price-wise, it seems a good choice too.
So the solution can be connecting a wireless access point to one of its LAN connections. I am thinking to use my current router in access mode to provide internet connectivity to the wireless clients.

I am no expert by any means and I hope someone can confirm this will work. The reason we would like to go for a Routerband is to monitor and control bandwidth usage each client uses per a given time interval for example per day or in a month. My main question is with the wireless clients being connected to the network through an access point, would RB450G be still able to monitor and control how much each client is downloading/uploading based on its IP or MAC address?

I appreciate your comments.
 
User avatar
sariao
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:55 am
Location: Saudi Arabia

Re: RB450G: is it the right choice?

Mon Jan 31, 2011 9:46 am

if it was me. i would go for normal access point and Mikrotik RB750 or RB750G if you need gigabit.

Regards...
Sariman
 
User avatar
warwick09
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: The Bahamas / Florida

Re: RB450G: is it the right choice?

Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:54 am

The RB450G is more than adequate for your purposes, in fact maybe a bit too overpowered.
 
GuJack20
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:44 pm
Location: Tirana
Contact:

Re: RB450G: is it the right choice?

Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:25 am

If you were one of my clients, i would suggest the RB750 (max the 750G if the gigabit is really necessary), definitively not the RB450G (i would feel like stealing you).
Someone in this forum said: "..like buying a Mercedes 500sel, just for going to a 100m away store to buy a beer..." :):)
--Do you remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else!
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: RB450G: is it the right choice?

Mon Jan 31, 2011 3:59 pm

I would always get the 450G just for the RAM and the console port.
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
User avatar
Kunz
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:49 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: RB450G: is it the right choice?

Tue Feb 22, 2011 1:05 pm

raminux, you can control traffic on RB 750(G)/450(G) on that port where your AP is connected (ether2 to ether5) - you can do everything with traffic RB ROS can, but only with all trafic on selected port. To control each connection on your AP, use AP's software for that purposes. Or buy dedicated RB AP hardware.
Keep your own way
 
Steve0
newbie
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:34 pm
Location: Somewhere between the Bit and the Byte

Re: RB450G: is it the right choice?

Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:46 am

I had a simular need/want. I run 15 - 30 clients/devices. I have a RB450G (I did not want to upgrade if I needed more performance.) All wired connections are 1Gbps, and I use a well known rival to MikroTik for my Access Point(s) . Your off-the-shelf router, if conigured properly should suffice as an AP. With some modification to
http://mum.mikrotik.com/presentations/U ... is_qos.pdf You can monitor/control all clients (wired and wireless) via IP. Hope this helps.
 
User avatar
THG
Member
Member
Posts: 472
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2009 1:05 am

Re: RB450G: is it the right choice?

Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:54 pm

MikroTik SOHO AP Router might be what you need. I don't know the specifications, but I guess it has Gigabit ethernet.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests