Page 1 of 1

Do the RB's work.

Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 2:58 pm
by Rafaela
Hi, i'm from Brazil, and I fix Rb's(I try).
I have some PDF with repair instructions.
We could trade ideias for RB's with NON WARRANTY.

A picture with the faulty components that i've seen.

The blue components are changed to do the RB turn on.
The Red components are changed to me connect to Ethers.
The green components are changed to do the board boot.
->In the CPU just was made reflowed.

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 10:43 pm
by GuJack20
Hello Rafaela.

Nice idea to discuss.
I also (try to) repair RBs.

For the Ethernet connectors part. I haven't ever changed them (if they weren't mecanically damaged of course). Except the Ether1, that has the PoE pins, i don't see how the others can affect the turning on of the RB.

Also. I wanted to ask. How do you test and measure the components in blue??

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:44 pm
by Rafaela
Also. I wanted to ask. How do you test and measure the components in blue??
The Ether ports, I tested but don't find nothing of different. So I knew that C826(3,3V) was short circuited with GND. I removed component by component and tested if fade the short. If you will try to repair a board that don't turn on, I advise change first the J603.

In the other cases, I check the voltage of the pin 7 of U803 and isn't 3,3V(like another that I was comparing).

The D801 and the Q801 I found easily the datasheet, and tested.

And the L801 was with a resistence diferent than 0 Ohms.

More any question? :D

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 3:13 pm
by janisk
you can try to ask your distributor for available repair manuals.

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 3:23 pm
by Rafaela
you can try to ask your distributor for available repair manuals.
I have this manuals. But have other problens.
I would like of know, what happen, and where is the defect, of the board that turn on, connect by the ether, and don't appear nothing in winbox.

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 3:33 pm
by janisk
there can be number of problems - starting from hardware problems with damaged port controllers ending with damaged RouterOS installation that can be bought back with simple netinstall.

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:08 pm
by Rafaela
there can be number of problems - starting from hardware problems with damaged port controllers ending with damaged RouterOS installation that can be bought back with simple netinstall.
Could you help me to find at least one hardware problem? *-*

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:57 pm
by honzam

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 8:30 pm
by Rafaela

I have this manuals, and others. But have some problems that have another solution.
Sometimes I tested until the 'The board is unrepairable' and after I find the solution.
I wanna know about the hardware problens that are out of this repair manual.

:D

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Fri Feb 11, 2011 8:24 pm
by Rafaela
Any ideia for when the RB is on, and after a time the RB shutdown? And don't turn on more?

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:39 pm
by GuJack20
Yeah Rafaela. You are right. There are plenty of problems i run into that are not covered on the repair manuals of the distributors.

The question you are asking (about nothing showing in winbox) has happened to me many times with the new version of the RB411. I solved it by changing the ether chip. Even if it connects (green led on ether connector turns on), it doesn't really work.
Mostly of the times is a damaged ether chip that looses packets in rx, tx or both ways.
The simplest test i do about the state of the ether chip is trying to boot the routerboard via ethernet with netinstall. If it doesn't connect, even if the led is lit, i proceed on changing the ethernet chip..

After repairing i test with speedtest of MT and see if there is any packet loss.
Do you know a better way??

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 3:32 pm
by Rafaela
Yeah Rafaela. You are right. There are plenty of problems i run into that are not covered on the repair manuals of the distributors.

The question you are asking (about nothing showing in winbox) has happened to me many times with the new version of the RB411. I solved it by changing the ether chip. Even if it connects (green led on ether connector turns on), it doesn't really work.
Mostly of the times is a damaged ether chip that looses packets in rx, tx or both ways.
The simplest test i do about the state of the ether chip is trying to boot the routerboard via ethernet with netinstall. If it doesn't connect, even if the led is lit, i proceed on changing the ethernet chip..

After repairing i test with speedtest of MT and see if there is any packet loss.
Do you know a better way??

No... in the mostly of times, the buzzer(B1) of the board don't honk. So I can't boot the RB via ether with netinstall. :(
Do you have any ideia? *-*

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Tue Feb 15, 2011 3:10 am
by FIPTech
No boot is often a power problem. Check chemical capacitors. 90 % of problems do come from them.


Dissolder and check the value. 1/2 original value is generaly ok. 1/5 or 1/10 is not ok...

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:19 pm
by Rafaela
No boot is often a power problem. Check chemical capacitors. 90 % of problems do come from them.


Dissolder and check the value. 1/2 original value is generaly ok. 1/5 or 1/10 is not ok...

In my city I don't find any capacimeter. So I'm buying by a store in anothe city.
When the capacimeter arrive, I'll test and post here.

More any help?

:D

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 10:15 pm
by FIPTech
If you want more help, you need to remove the bra :=)

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 11:53 pm
by Ibersystems
If you want more help, you need to remove the bra :=)
xDDDD

man..

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 10:42 am
by FIPTech
Generally bad capacitors have a curved top, or they can even explode. This is why there are small breaking marks on the top, to avoid too powerful explosions.

If electronic circuits didn't had chemical capacitors, they would be at least ten times more reliable in the long term.

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 8:26 pm
by Rafaela
If you want more help, you need to remove the bra :=)

Remove the Bra of Brazilian?
rsrs

sorry, but why?

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:12 pm
by Ibersystems
Fiptec, I can show you my nipples if you want to... xD

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:16 pm
by Rafaela
Fiptec, I can show you my nipples if you want to... xD

Ow.. now I understand, bra (sutiĆ£ in portuguese), rsrs.
If someone help, who knows.


rsrsrsrs

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:22 pm
by Rafaela
Generally bad capacitors have a curved top, or they can even explode. This is why there are small breaking marks on the top, to avoid too powerful explosions.

If electronic circuits didn't had chemical capacitors, they would be at least ten times more reliable in the long term.

I've found some bad capacitors that explode. But I never found in a RB433.

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:19 pm
by GuJack20
I have repaired "no boot" RB450 by changing the capacitors. I think that series had this problem quite often

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:53 pm
by Ibersystems
I hve a rb1000 that don't boot.. What can I do?

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:56 pm
by FIPTech
I've changed recently capacitors on a RB750G. Capacitors did not resist to the last summer where we had about 35 degrees during one week.

The client site was hot. I suspect about 38-40 degrees.

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 11:18 pm
by GuJack20
I hve a rb1000 that don't boot.. What can I do?
The same for me :(:(:(
Any solutions on this??

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 11:55 am
by FIPTech
Rafaela, wich equipment do you have to change Red and Green components ?

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 5:08 pm
by GuJack20
For the red ones i use
http://www.collectibles-articles.com/an ... 29465.html

Something more professional though would be really nice :):)

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 5:49 pm
by trk40
I have RB433 flooded by water, there is a little marks of corrosion.
Of course when I connect power plug nothing happens.
I checked by meter capacitors and none seems to have short-circuit to gnd.
Q801 have short circuit between 3 and 4 pins which are connected together.
U803 - according to data sheet I have 1,5V between Vdd and gnd pins.

Any ideas what else I can check ?

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:05 pm
by Rafaela
Rafaela, wich equipment do you have to change Red and Green components ?
I use Hot Air and a Soldering Iron.

The red I remove with the hot air, and soldered a new component using the soldering iron.
The green(CPU) I just warmed the component.


I helped you with something? *-*

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:16 pm
by Rafaela
I have RB433 flooded by water, there is a little marks of corrosion.
Of course when I connect power plug nothing happens.
I checked by meter capacitors and none seems to have short-circuit to gnd.
Q801 have short circuit between 3 and 4 pins which are connected together.
U803 - according to data sheet I have 1,5V between Vdd and gnd pins.

Any ideas what else I can check ?

They aren't connected together.
Q801 have pins 1, 2 and 3 together, and they are connected in katodo of the zener diode D803, and the pin 4 is connected to anodo.
:?

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:30 pm
by trk40
They aren't connected together.
Q801 have pins 1, 2 and 3 together, and they are connected in katodo of the zener diode D803, and the pin 4 is connected to anodo.
:?
I know, I meant short-circuit between pins 1-2-3 and 5-6-7-8
Image

but know I see that 1-3 and 5-8 are connected together when I plug power jack and later without external power until 811 have electrical charge left. Is is correct?

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Mon Feb 28, 2011 10:47 pm
by Rafaela
They aren't connected together.
Q801 have pins 1, 2 and 3 together, and they are connected in katodo of the zener diode D803, and the pin 4 is connected to anodo.
:?
I know, I meant short-circuit between pins 1-2-3 and 5-6-7-8
Image

but know I see that 1-3 and 5-8 are connected together when I plug power jack and later without external power until 811 have electrical charge left. Is is correct?

I just know that in the output of Q801 need to be with 12V.
Less than this i change the faulty component.

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 2:27 pm
by Rafaela
Someone knows what do when the slot card don't work?
In some cases is just one slot, but when is the 4(for RB800)?
:?

Re: Do the RB's work.

Posted: Wed Jun 29, 2011 7:36 pm
by YuSHa
Hello! can you send me all repair manual? did you have a repair manual for ubnt devices?