Community discussions

 
marklodge
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 6:15 pm

Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS or a Routerboard?

Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:48 am

I require someone to clear something for me please.
Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS installed or a Routerboard for handling Usermanager and Bandwidth Queues etc?
The PC would have much more RAM available than most RB's. So will it work faster?
Or am i missing something?
Secondly, what do you think of the setup below:
3 x AirMax 120 degree sectors, each with a RocketM5. All connected to an RB 750, or should we use a pc with mikrotikos ?
 
fewi
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7734
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 3:19 am

Re: Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS or a Routerboa

Mon Mar 14, 2011 2:05 am

Depends on what you're doing with it. Your question is way to generic for a serious answer. How many users? How many packets per second? What will the router be doing, and to what degree (Queuing? How many queues? Firewall filters? How many rules?) will it be doing those tasks?
Specific answers require specific questions. When in doubt, post the output of "/ip address print detail", "/ip route print detail", "/interface print detail", "/ip firewall export", and an accurate network diagram.
 
jadu
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 9:22 am
Location: Bucharest - Constanta

Re: Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS or a Routerboa

Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:30 pm

The PC would have much more RAM available than most RB's. So will it work faster?
The ram is not responsible for the speed. The CPU is.
------------------------
Don't give thanks, give karma instead!
 
defekt
just joined
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 4:43 pm
Location: Bulgaria

Re: Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS or a Routerboa

Mon Mar 14, 2011 5:25 pm

@marklodge

1. How many users you expect to be connected ?
2. What is expected amount of traffic ?
3. There will be only 1 place with 3 sectors or many places with 3 sectors ?
 
gmsmstr
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 940
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:22 am
Location: St. Louis, MO
Contact:

Re: Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS or a Routerboa

Wed Mar 23, 2011 7:57 pm

The simple answer is yes/yes. lol The RouterBOARD product family simply can't be beat for price/performance. If your needs are that where a RouterBOARD product will work perfectly, then you don't need to invest in a x86 box! However, once you go beyond their capabilities then you will need to go with some kind of supported solution like www.mikrotikrouter.com, etc.

So, is your bandwidth under 50 meg, heck ,you can use a 200 board like the 493G! When you need multiple GigE BGP feeds etc, or 10GigE support, then mikrotikrouter.com can fix ya up!

They are all great products, you just need the one right for you!
Dennis Burgess, MCTCE, MTCNA, MCTCTE, MTCWE, MTCNIE, A+, N+, MCP, MTCSE Mikrotik Certified Consultant / Trainer
Need Mikrotik Support: http://www.linktechs.net -- Link Technologies, Inc.
-- Author of "Learn RouterOS: Second Edition"
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24077
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS or a Routerboa

Thu Mar 24, 2011 7:51 am

RouterBOARD devices will always be fully compatible with RouterOS. It's hard to find completely compatible PC. They are all slightly different, and each has their own ethernet, motherboard etc.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
marklodge
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 6:15 pm

Re: Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS or a Routerboa

Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:26 pm

RouterBOARD devices will always be fully compatible with RouterOS. It's hard to find completely compatible PC. They are all slightly different, and each has their own ethernet, motherboard etc.
ah that is very useful info. i thought just any pc will work with routeros installed.
thank you for all the answers guys!
i'm just starting up, so for the first few months i'll have about 30-40 clients online, and the bandwidth speed is no more than 4mbs. so will a RB 750 work just for the userman and the pppoe authentication?
 
0ldman
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1445
Joined: Thu Jul 27, 2006 5:01 am

Re: Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS or a Routerboa

Sun Mar 27, 2011 4:50 pm

Oh yea, you'll be fine.

I've got just over 100 on my network, 10mb shared, and my first hop/router/AP is an RB600, routing, QoS, clients, etc, hardly ever gets loaded up, 25% CPU load on average.

My second hop, another RB600, has 39 clients attached over various interfaces and a few others on a switch attached to the ethernet port. It averages 50% CPU load, working on taking the load off of it soon.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests