Page 1 of 1

Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS or a Routerboard?

Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:48 am
by marklodge
I require someone to clear something for me please.
Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS installed or a Routerboard for handling Usermanager and Bandwidth Queues etc?
The PC would have much more RAM available than most RB's. So will it work faster?
Or am i missing something?
Secondly, what do you think of the setup below:
3 x AirMax 120 degree sectors, each with a RocketM5. All connected to an RB 750, or should we use a pc with mikrotikos ?

Re: Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS or a Routerboa

Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 2:05 am
by fewi
Depends on what you're doing with it. Your question is way to generic for a serious answer. How many users? How many packets per second? What will the router be doing, and to what degree (Queuing? How many queues? Firewall filters? How many rules?) will it be doing those tasks?

Re: Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS or a Routerboa

Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 1:30 pm
by jadu
The PC would have much more RAM available than most RB's. So will it work faster?
The ram is not responsible for the speed. The CPU is.

Re: Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS or a Routerboa

Posted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 5:25 pm
by defekt
@marklodge

1. How many users you expect to be connected ?
2. What is expected amount of traffic ?
3. There will be only 1 place with 3 sectors or many places with 3 sectors ?

Re: Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS or a Routerboa

Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 7:57 pm
by gmsmstr
The simple answer is yes/yes. lol The RouterBOARD product family simply can't be beat for price/performance. If your needs are that where a RouterBOARD product will work perfectly, then you don't need to invest in a x86 box! However, once you go beyond their capabilities then you will need to go with some kind of supported solution like www.mikrotikrouter.com, etc.

So, is your bandwidth under 50 meg, heck ,you can use a 200 board like the 493G! When you need multiple GigE BGP feeds etc, or 10GigE support, then mikrotikrouter.com can fix ya up!

They are all great products, you just need the one right for you!

Re: Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS or a Routerboa

Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 7:51 am
by normis
RouterBOARD devices will always be fully compatible with RouterOS. It's hard to find completely compatible PC. They are all slightly different, and each has their own ethernet, motherboard etc.

Re: Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS or a Routerboa

Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 4:26 pm
by marklodge
RouterBOARD devices will always be fully compatible with RouterOS. It's hard to find completely compatible PC. They are all slightly different, and each has their own ethernet, motherboard etc.
ah that is very useful info. i thought just any pc will work with routeros installed.
thank you for all the answers guys!
i'm just starting up, so for the first few months i'll have about 30-40 clients online, and the bandwidth speed is no more than 4mbs. so will a RB 750 work just for the userman and the pppoe authentication?

Re: Is it better to use a PC with Mikrotik OS or a Routerboa

Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 4:50 pm
by 0ldman
Oh yea, you'll be fine.

I've got just over 100 on my network, 10mb shared, and my first hop/router/AP is an RB600, routing, QoS, clients, etc, hardly ever gets loaded up, 25% CPU load on average.

My second hop, another RB600, has 39 clients attached over various interfaces and a few others on a switch attached to the ethernet port. It averages 50% CPU load, working on taking the load off of it soon.