Page 1 of 1

RB1200 Deception

Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2011 1:45 am
by jackwisp
Very happy bot an RB1200 to use as PPPoE terminator.
200 sessions and CPU get 100%.

I'm wrong or I can't get more than 150 PPPoE's sessions with decent cpu usage on this hardware ?

Unhappy jack,
Regards.

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2011 2:26 am
by fewi
Not enough information to go on. CPU utilization depends on lots of factors.

Look at Tool > Profiler - what process is consuming CPU?

Do you have lots of firewall rules to process? Some dynamic routing protocol flapping?

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2011 5:12 pm
by jackwisp
40 mangle routes, one simple queue per each PPP session, OSPF publishing 7 routes.
I'mm investigating about Profiler, It's not installed now.
Regards.

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2011 6:02 pm
by yogii
hello, i suggest you see profiler!.

as fewi said, many factor why the router heavy load. otherwise, without profiler we are not able see the cpu usage for each process running in RouterOS.

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2011 7:13 pm
by fewi
40 mangle routes, one simple queue per each PPP session, OSPF publishing 7 routes.
I'mm investigating about Profiler, It's not installed now.
Regards.
It is part of the systems package in 5.x since b7. It must be installed already.
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Tools/Profiler

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2011 10:17 pm
by jackwisp
I have tunned some mangle rules and get 15% cpu down.
But heavy cpu usage with 200's ppp sessions still happening and porfiler show me that the most cpu usage is in the "unclassified" proccess.

I don't know how to deal with this issue if porfiler show me that most cpu is used by an "unclassified"proccess ...

any ideas?

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Sun Jul 03, 2011 10:39 pm
by fewi
Take a supout.rif and send it to support@mikrotik.com to open a case with the vendor. They have requested that anyone that finds an unclassified process taking more than 5 or 10% should email them that information. They can then include that process by name, and also tell you what is going on with your router.

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 1:42 am
by technalogic
Same here brother i also have rb1200 with same issue :?

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:20 am
by normis
unclassified means some uncommon process we haven't given a name to. email a supout.rif file to support and we will see what is this process, and why is it eating your resources

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:46 am
by technalogic
i email you at support@mikrotik.com from info@webxs.net.pk
kindly see the support file

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Sat Jul 30, 2011 11:19 am
by technalogic
ANY Update Normis ???????

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:54 am
by normis
there was a bug, "idle" (unused) was called "unclassified".

basically this means your processor usage was near zero all the time. the bugfix will be in v5.6

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 12:53 am
by technalogic
waiting for 5.6

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 1:25 am
by technalogic
when i stop my dns service my cpu usage in my control...... 40 t0 60%

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 11:30 pm
by tamahome
I'm using RouterOS 5.6 but I am having the same issue. Almost 250 active ppp session and CPU usage is at 66% in the graphs.

The LAN interfaces is at 22mb. The CPU usage increase with more bandwidth.

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2011 2:03 am
by technalogic
waiting for solution.....

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2011 7:56 am
by normis
solution for what? did you upgrade to v5.6 and check the "/tool profiler" menu? which process consumes the CPU? you didn't say

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 12:47 am
by tamahome
241 PPP sessions consume 60% of the CPU, Is this normal? the LOCAL throughput is 16mb.

Thank you.

Re: RB1200 Deception

Posted: Fri Sep 09, 2011 10:16 pm
by jo2jo
I also have a RB1200 I just put into service and i'm very supprised at the poor CPU preformance thus far.

I have only one firewall rule, accept all

router does masquerading for a private IP server that is running a web hosting server (streams videos). Bandwidth is ~150mbit, 150 out uplink ethernet port and 150mbit in server ethernet port. 10-13k PP/s out 3-4k PP/s In.

No Mangle rules, ip connection tracking is on (obviously, masq)

ROS 5.2:
Cpu usage is 45-55 %
profile shows 15% Firewall (even if i remove that one rule)
12% idle
4% ethernet
58% un classified

I will upgrade to 5.6 in a few hours and will report back if that resolves the issues.

anyone have any info on overclocking these units like the RB450g? The only one i have is critical at a datacenter so i cant test or try to OC on it, but under settings in winbox i see SEVERAL overclock and underclock options (nice mt! thanks) but i have yet to try any.