Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
elidoni
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 11:29 pm

RouterBoard 1200

Tue Sep 13, 2011 11:16 pm

Hello everyone ! I am amazed of this routerboard ! It has 1 Ghz procesor Gigabit ports and 512 Ram !
Its data storage is only 64 MB .. If I buy this one do i have chances to make its data storage more then 64 MB ?
It damn better then 750
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24422
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterBoard 1200

Wed Sep 14, 2011 8:42 am

why do you need more storage? it's a router, not a server.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
zervan
Member
Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:43 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: RouterBoard 1200

Wed Sep 14, 2011 11:29 am

I think 64 MiB of data storage (disk) should be enough - but I don't know how many data uses each User Manager's user account in database.

But there is other thing: I don't know why, but RB1200 that I've bought in July has 1 GiB of RAM. Actually it seems that dealers are selling 512 MiB version and so do you have on website. I think 512 MiB is plenty of memory and my question is - how could somebody use it? :) My RB1200 has cca 970 MiB of free memory :) I've increased DNS cache a little but it will not use a lot. Maybe the memory could be used as proxy cache in some way? AFAIK it can use disk storage only. Maybe very big (old) log entries of User Manager may need it?
Dusan Zervan from Slovakia
MTCNA, MTCRE
 
elidoni
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 11:29 pm

Re: RouterBoard 1200

Wed Sep 14, 2011 9:58 pm

the one that i have right now has 61.4 MiB total hdd and only 14 MiB free . Everyday i have new users and im afraid
" if " this hdd after a few months goes low free space,what should i do ? Im asking cause its too expencise and I dont wanna a new one after 1 or 2 months !!!!! Do they have this product with more data storage at least 128 MiB ?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24422
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RouterBoard 1200

Fri Sep 16, 2011 8:52 am

"new users" will not take up any HDD space. HDD space only is affected by installed NPK packages
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
elidoni
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 11:29 pm

Re: RouterBoard 1200

Fri Sep 16, 2011 6:16 pm

"new users" will not take up any HDD space. HDD space only is affected by installed NPK packages
thank you so much for making me clear !
 
User avatar
zervan
Member
Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:43 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: RouterBoard 1200

Mon Sep 19, 2011 1:18 pm

I've installed Dude package (which is not working, but it doesn't matter now: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=55090) and now I have less than 7 MB free on disk :shock: I use User Manager as well. Is it possible to see how much space is taken by each store? Maybe it would be better to have more disk space, really :wink:
Dusan Zervan from Slovakia
MTCNA, MTCRE
 
elidoni
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 11:29 pm

Re: RouterBoard 1200

Mon Sep 19, 2011 7:23 pm

not Im stuck ! I use pppoe clients with usermanager ! And i dont want to see CPU over 40 %
I have rb 750 and sometimes it goes 100 % and im so angry ! I wanna buy this one and not to buy another one for at least 1 Year 1!!
 
User avatar
zervan
Member
Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:43 pm
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: RouterBoard 1200

Mon Sep 19, 2011 7:36 pm

Maybe it would be better to have more disk space, really :wink:
I had to change my opinion completely - now I am sure it would be better to have more disk space. Today I've got to less than 1 MB of free disk space! Here is my story: http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=55090
Dusan Zervan from Slovakia
MTCNA, MTCRE
 
elidoni
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 11:29 pm

Re: RouterBoard 1200

Fri Oct 28, 2011 1:51 am

I bought this product and normis has right !! Its so damn fast but i have some problems and i need to understand something
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=56201
 
nspotorno
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2007 7:50 pm

Re: RouterBoard 1200

Fri Sep 20, 2013 9:06 pm

why do you need more storage? it's a router, not a server.
Userman database? backups?
after dude is installed, you can't do much (in terms of disk space) such a waste...

I believe 64M is not enough, sorry Normis

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: clueluzz and 13 guests