Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
pech
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 11:40 pm

RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Thu Sep 15, 2011 11:58 pm

Hello,
I try upgrade firmware via windows in WinBox and via Terminal but unsuccessfully i have always old version:

> system routerboard print
routerboard: yes
model: 750G
serial-number: 228E01AEDC76
current-firmware: 2.23
upgrade-firmware: 2.36

I try method from this forum:
> /system routerboard settings set force-backup-booter=no;
> /system routerboard upgrade
Do you really want to upgrade firmware? [y/n]
y
firmware upgraded successfully, please reboot for changes to take effect!
> system reboot
Reboot, yes? [y/N]:
y

But after reboot i have always old firmware 2.23.

Please help me!
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6624
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Fri Sep 16, 2011 10:48 am

Check the following option,
/system routerboard settings set force-backup-booter=no 
and after this command try to upgrade firmware one more time.
 
User avatar
honzam
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2315
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:27 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Fri Sep 16, 2011 11:18 am

He wrote:

I try method from this forum:
> /system routerboard settings set force-backup-booter=no;
> /system routerboard upgrade
LAN, FTTx, Wireless. ISP operator
 
pech
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 11:40 pm

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:30 pm

I try:
/system routerboard settings set force-backup-booter=no 
/system routerboard upgrade
But without success. After reboot i have always:
current-firmware: 2.23
upgrade-firmware: 2.36
 
tjc
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 279
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 3:08 am

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Sat Sep 17, 2011 5:06 am

You might try going step wise. I just did this last night going from 5.6 with boot loader version 2.29 to 5.7 with version 2.36 without any problems. The big difference seems to that I'd already upgraded from 5.5 to 5.6. No idea why it might make a difference, but it's certainly worth a shot.

I just uploaded the packages (routeros-mipsbe-5.7.npk combined core, and ntp-5.7-mipsbe.npk optional), rebooted, then after that settled used the webconfig UI to update the firmware and rebooted again when it said to.
 
pech
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 11:40 pm

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Sat Sep 17, 2011 5:43 pm

OK, firmware was successfully upgraded.

First I downgraded OS to 4.17 there was possible upgrade firmware to 2.29 and after upgrade OS to 5.7, firmware was successfully upgraded to 2.36 .

Thank you for your help!
 
User avatar
LeChat
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 11:23 am

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Mon Sep 19, 2011 7:10 pm

OK, firmware was successfully upgraded.

First I downgraded OS to 4.17 there was possible upgrade firmware to 2.29 and after upgrade OS to 5.7, firmware was successfully upgraded to 2.36 .

Thank you for your help!

I've tried this too, still stuck on 2.23 :/

Le Chat
---

¿sɯǝןqoɹd ʎɹǝʌıןǝp ʇɐɥʍ ¿sɯǝןqoɹd ʎɹǝʌıןǝp
 
tjc
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 279
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 3:08 am

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Tue Sep 20, 2011 4:53 am

What packages did you install for 5.7?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24642
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Tue Sep 20, 2011 9:05 am

OK, firmware was successfully upgraded.

First I downgraded OS to 4.17 there was possible upgrade firmware to 2.29 and after upgrade OS to 5.7, firmware was successfully upgraded to 2.36 .

Thank you for your help!

I've tried this too, still stuck on 2.23 :/

Le Chat
did you also do:
/system routerboard settings set force-backup-booter=no 
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
LeChat
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 11:23 am

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Tue Sep 20, 2011 11:02 am


did you also do:
/system routerboard settings set force-backup-booter=no 
Yes, tried that. Even rolled back to 4.17 and tried an upgrade from there..

Le Chat
---

¿sɯǝןqoɹd ʎɹǝʌıןǝp ʇɐɥʍ ¿sɯǝןqoɹd ʎɹǝʌıןǝp
 
tjc
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 279
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 3:08 am

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Tue Sep 20, 2011 5:50 pm

What packages did you install for 5.7?
What I'm wondering here is if you might get different results using the combined .npk package versus the separate ones...
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Wed Sep 21, 2011 9:29 am

should not be the case, as combine package is made out of separate ones, just easier way to upgrade router with one package.
 
User avatar
LeChat
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 11:23 am

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Wed Sep 21, 2011 10:04 am

What packages did you install for 5.7?
What I'm wondering here is if you might get different results using the combined .npk package versus the separate ones...
I've only installed

routeros-mipsbe-5.7.npk
ntp-5.7-mipsbe.npk
---

¿sɯǝןqoɹd ʎɹǝʌıןǝp ʇɐɥʍ ¿sɯǝןqoɹd ʎɹǝʌıןǝp
 
User avatar
nickshore
Member
Member
Posts: 486
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK.
Contact:

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:06 pm

is there any logging which can be enabled to show a routerboot upgrade and/or failure ???

this is where the 750s with no serial can be a real pain.
Nick Shore MTCNA MTCWE MTCRE MTCINE MTCTCE
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/brand/mikrotik
Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC chan: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4 and IPv6)
 
User avatar
nickshore
Member
Member
Posts: 486
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK.
Contact:

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Wed Oct 05, 2011 6:09 pm

any update on how to fix stuck firmware upgrades ?
Nick Shore MTCNA MTCWE MTCRE MTCINE MTCTCE
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/brand/mikrotik
Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC chan: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4 and IPv6)
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24642
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Thu Oct 06, 2011 8:37 am

any update on how to fix stuck firmware upgrades ?
use the button to load backup bootloader.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
nickshore
Member
Member
Posts: 486
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK.
Contact:

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Thu Oct 06, 2011 11:32 am

any update on how to fix stuck firmware upgrades ?
use the button to load backup bootloader.
Any chance you could actual explain it so that we can understand it ?

Which button ?

One in winbox ? The reset button ?

Did you read the thread, we have tried all kinds of things as suggested and its still stuck, and won't upgrade

NIck.
Nick Shore MTCNA MTCWE MTCRE MTCINE MTCTCE
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/brand/mikrotik
Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC chan: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4 and IPv6)
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24642
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Thu Oct 06, 2011 11:45 am


Did you read the thread, we have tried all kinds of things as suggested and its still stuck, and won't upgrade

NIck.
which thread? this is your first post in this thread
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
nickshore
Member
Member
Posts: 486
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK.
Contact:

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Thu Oct 06, 2011 11:49 am

The whole thread LeChat is one of our customers.
Nick Shore MTCNA MTCWE MTCRE MTCINE MTCTCE
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/brand/mikrotik
Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC chan: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4 and IPv6)
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24642
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:00 pm

I did not know that.

1. Type "/system routerboard upgrade" and then make a supout.rif file without rebooting. Send the file to us
2. Organize remote access to this device, so we can connect and see what's going on (email support for this, and also attach that file)
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
LeChat
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 11:23 am

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:59 pm

I did not know that.

1. Type "/system routerboard upgrade" and then make a supout.rif file without rebooting. Send the file to us
2. Organize remote access to this device, so we can connect and see what's going on (email support for this, and also attach that file)

I've sent the file and email to support.

Le Chat
---

¿sɯǝןqoɹd ʎɹǝʌıןǝp ʇɐɥʍ ¿sɯǝןqoɹd ʎɹǝʌıןǝp
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24642
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:13 pm

You did not follow the advice you were given several times! Your router has this line:

force-backup-booter: yes
See above how many times you were told to set this to "NO". Also manually set the CPU frequency to 400MHz, then power cycle with unplug/plug power cable. Check if CPU is now set to 400MHz and then check if you can set the mentioned value to NO! After that is set to NO, check if upgrade works.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
LeChat
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 11:23 am

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:26 pm

You did not follow the advice you were given several times! Your router has this line:

force-backup-booter: yes
Yes I did, you just made an assumption that I didn't


See above how many times you were told to set this to "NO". Also manually set the CPU frequency to 400MHz, then power cycle with unplug/plug power cable. Check if CPU is now set to 400MHz and then check if you can set the mentioned value to NO! After that is set to NO, check if upgrade works.
That's what it is NOW - I had changed it when I was attempting to fix the issue, but since I wasn't getting anywhere fast I changed it back to what it was for normal running of the router. Since you didn't actually ask me to do what I did during the upgrade attempts for the supout generation I did just what you asked for.

I'll try the cpu fix later..

Le Chat
---

¿sɯǝןqoɹd ʎɹǝʌıןǝp ʇɐɥʍ ¿sɯǝןqoɹd ʎɹǝʌıןǝp
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24642
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:34 pm

Yes, of course! To give you next advice, we need to assume you followed previous advice, not reverted back. If you are on backup bootloader, any other advice will not have effect.

Steps:

1. Backup loader = no
2. Change CPU to 400 and make sure it sticks after power cycle
3. Attempt to make upgrade then
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
User avatar
LeChat
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 11:23 am

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Thu Oct 06, 2011 4:56 pm

Yes, of course! To give you next advice, we need to assume you followed previous advice, not reverted back.
Right, so I'm supposed to sit around and not try anything else in the 2 weeks between your responses?


*edit*

That worked.
/system  routerboard print
routerboard: yes
model: 750G
serial-number: xxxxxxxxxxxx
current-firmware: 2.36
upgrade-firmware: 2.36
Does raise some interesting points

1) Why does it matter what speed the CPU is running at
2) Why a full power-off is required to change cpu speed


Le Chat
---

¿sɯǝןqoɹd ʎɹǝʌıןǝp ʇɐɥʍ ¿sɯǝןqoɹd ʎɹǝʌıןǝp
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Fri Oct 07, 2011 2:32 pm

there is no good reason why to run RB750G at lower frequency :) since changing that has very little impact on power usage, since 1Gbps interfaces are the watt hogs on the board

usually is not required to power-cycle the board. In your case changing from backup booter to primary and changing frequency - to be on the safe size - just do the power-cycle.

also, do not sit around doing nothing - if you ask for help then try out things other people are suggesting (several times) to set that setting to no. :)
 
User avatar
LeChat
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 11:23 am

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Fri Oct 07, 2011 4:45 pm

there is no good reason why to run RB750G at lower frequency :) since changing that has very little impact on power usage, since 1Gbps interfaces are the watt hogs on the board
Didn't know that it would have no effect. Good to know. It does seem odd that having the frequency lower than 400 made a difference to the bootloader update - which is what this looks like. Given that it's a 680Mhz chip now running at 400Mhz should I push it back up 680?
also, do not sit around doing nothing - if you ask for help then try out things other people are suggesting (several times) to set that setting to no. :)
You seem to be missing the point - I did do the change when asked before trying the other settings - it made no difference so I put it back and tried a number of other things.

I can say with pretty much 100% certainty that the force-bootloader on its own did not help fix the issue and that the issue must be related to the cpu speed setting. Not having access to the bootloader, I can't say why - it's just very obvious that there's something related there.

Le Chat
---

¿sɯǝןqoɹd ʎɹǝʌıןǝp ʇɐɥʍ ¿sɯǝןqoɹd ʎɹǝʌıןǝp
 
abucan
just joined
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 10:09 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Tue Oct 11, 2011 10:31 pm

Now that you mentioned CPU frequency change, I had to register and write what happened to me.

I also had RB750G upgrade problem, but didn't really care so much because some people reported that they couldn't upgrade with "force-backup-booter=no" switch and with version downgrade.

But one time I got bored and decided to try:

> /system routerboard settings set force-backup-booter=no;
> /system routerboard upgrade

Upgrade was a success, but rebooting and logging into router become slow as hell. Then I realized that the CPU was running at 100 MHz. First thing I tried is to revert to an earlier version. Firmware and booter downgrade was a success, but the slowness was still there. Then i googled that you can choose your CPU frequency, so I reverted to 680 MHz, upgraded the router to 5.7 and the booter upgraded without any problems.

That was that. I don't know why the CPU frequency has anything to do with the upgrade process.

Just a question: Do I need to revert to "set force-backup-booter=yes"?
 
wirelessguy1
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:43 pm

Re: RB750G firmware upgrade problem

Sun Oct 23, 2011 2:39 am

Hi..
Tried to upgrade to 5.7 thru winbox. After power cycle, LAN LED keeps on flashing every 30 seconds.
Tried to use RESET button or the hidden reset hole) then power up to load defaults but still the same issue.

How did I upgrade?
1. Load npk file on the FIles root menu and then power up.
2. Wait to reboot
All ports CAN"T be accessed after and the symptom above just keeps on cycling.

Question.
1. The test point near the Samsung FLash is for JTAG?
2. Can I copy the ROM files of a good FLASH and transfer it ?( I know this requires a de-soldering and its better to buy new RB).If you're talking of 20unit of such bad upgrade..it would make sense.

Thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: timotei and 36 guests