Page 1 of 1

RB1200 PPPoE Server

Posted: Mon Oct 24, 2011 7:39 pm
by lllsergeyv
Sorry for my english 8)
RouterOS 5.7
I use RB1200 as BRAS(PPPoE server). Users authenticatet RADIUS server. Tarminated 40 vlan's in single ethernet port.
use 3 firewall rules.
use 1 simple queue per pppoe connection from shaping.
NAT - not used, contrack - disabled.
40-50 pppoe connection on-line
When network traffic is 80-100 Mbit/s and ~20k packets/s, the "cpu-used" is 90-100%.

>tool profile
NAME CPU USAGE
pppoe all 2.5%
ppp all 3.5%
ethernet all 6.5%
console all 0%
firewall all 29%
radius all 0%
management all 0.5%
idle all 1%
profiling all 0%
queuing all 56.5%
ppp all 0.5%
unclassified all 0%

This is normal? How to achieve higher performance?

Re: RB1200 PPPoE Server

Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 11:26 am
by sergejs
56.5% for queuing, sounds much enough.
What is the 1 queue?

Re: RB1200 PPPoE Server

Posted: Tue Oct 25, 2011 12:53 pm
by lllsergeyv
56.5% for queuing, sounds much enough.
What is the 1 queue?
1 simple queue per pppoe user created automaticaly. Used RADIUS attribute "Mikrotik-Rate-Limit".