Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
freeloader
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:45 pm

RB750GL Static DNS Entry Wont Delete

Tue Nov 01, 2011 9:25 am

Hi Everyone

I have recently got a RB750GL. I decided as a temporary measure to stop users in my network accessing facebook to set a static dns entry to 192.168.0.2. I have since removed that and setup web proxy.

When I try resolve www.facebook.com I still get 192.168.0.2 instead of its proper Ip address. I have tried rebooting / shutting down my mikrotik with no luck. It still keeps resolving to that old IP. Current ROS is 5.7 with firmware 2.36.

Anybody have any ideas how to fix this?

(sorry if this is in wrong section)
 
User avatar
sadeghrafie
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 515
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 11:28 am
Location: Bushehr, IRAN

Re: RB750GL Static DNS Entry Wont Delete

Tue Nov 01, 2011 9:59 am

What do you achieve while traceroute facebook.com in winbox ?
does it go to 192.168.0.2 ?

If you are using webproxy, try to claer cache content :D
Mikrotik Route My Life

Someone Says: Don't forget to give karma
 
freeloader
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:45 pm

Re: RB750GL Static DNS Entry Wont Delete

Tue Nov 01, 2011 10:07 am

What do you achieve while traceroute facebook.com in winbox ?
does it go to 192.168.0.2 ?

If you are using webproxy, try to claer cache content :D
If traceroute facebook.com it resolves to correct ip and routes. Only with www.facebook.com does it have issue. Just shows 0.0.0.0

Not using cache. But flushed it and dns cache several times. Also tryed different DNS providers (they resolve to correct address if use on my pc).
 
User avatar
jhheider
newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 5:04 pm

Re: RB750GL Static DNS Entry Wont Delete

Tue Nov 01, 2011 7:43 pm

Have you flushed the DNS cache on your computer, and restarted your browser? DNS caches everywhere.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests