Community discussions

 
remezen
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:12 am

RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:41 am

Here's my config.
RB750UP/5.12/2.38

Reset, accepting default cofiguration, I add only:
/interface ppp-client add apn=internet dial-on-demand=no disabled=no info-channel=2 name=ppp_3G_usb phone=*99***1# port=usb1
/ip dns set allow-remote-requests=yes
/ip firewall filter set 3 in-interface=ppp_3G_usb
/ip firewall nat set 0 out-interface=ppp_3G_usb
/system ntp client set enabled=yes mode=unicast primary-ntp=77.41.132.50 secondary-ntp=193.124.4.177
/system clock set time-zone-name=Europe/Moscow
It works, I surf internet and so on.

I've read a lot about modems hanging up, but in my case it's the RB750UP - sometimes runs into continuos reeboots, sometimes freezes completely (my pc LAN interface "identifying" and LAN led on RB750UP off)

I know, I have a poor GSM signal here (-85..-100 dbm), but I tried Huawei e171, e173, Nokia E52, Nokia 6700 Classic - all work for some time, then Mikrotik freezes (why doesn't watchdog reboot it?).

You know, I'm ready for a situation with locked up 3g Modem, but I need stable local network. What can I do with it?
 
remezen
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:12 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:58 am

It just rebooted itself (after just 5 min uptime)
Nothing in /files.
"router was reeboted without proper shutdown (cause 1)" in log... This time it came back to life, sometimes it doesn't...

Noticed, that it happened when modem switched from Blue led (High speed) to Green (EDGE)... Well, still can't get why RB750 crashes...
 
remezen
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:12 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:21 am

Well, it just froze completely 2 times in a row... nothing in logs, watchdog doesn't reboot it!
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Thu Feb 09, 2012 2:06 pm

please send supout.rif file to support@mikrotik.com
 
remezen
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:12 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:12 pm

When do I have to make it? After reboot / after freeze? Or it doesn't matter?
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:29 am

after the event is creation of the file is possible.
 
Bessia
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:06 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:43 am

after the event is creation of the file is possible.
Hi, dear friend,Once I have bought the GPS Antenna or any other 3G USB products. It really works well.If need later, you could visite their website. http://www.rfsupplier.com/ .Hope it can help you.

Good luck with you. :D
 
remezen
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:12 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:44 am

after the event is creation of the file is possible.
You see - the system reboots / or it hangs completely... If it reboots, i says "router was reeboted without proper shutdown (cause 1)" in logs. If it hangs, winbox is disconnected, PC NIC can't get ip address. The only way to get it alive again is power-cycle...
So, I can make supout only after power-cycle... Though I seriously doubt there's something useful in it...
Once I have bought... Antenna...
The problem is that Mikrotik freezes. This shouldn't happen, even on week 3g signal, even with mulfunctional 3g device

But. It happens with 2 rb750Up, with 4 different 3g modems (2xHuawei and 2xNokia) - so it's something with Mikrotik, something modem sends when changing 3g/EDGE speed or maybe some RX/TX errors, I don't know
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:02 am

so, it is not possible to create it when it freezes, so make rif after the reboot. If we will need some more information we will ask.
 
remezen
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:12 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Fri Feb 10, 2012 10:29 am

Just sent supout.rif made after router went into continuous reboot cycle - something new (started when modem went from blue led [hugh speed] to led one [edge]). I waited for 3 mins (many-many reboots) and made it.
 
spawnhell
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 11:52 pm

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:04 am

Do you rally need PoE at eth ports of router?
Why dont you use RB751 instead : http://routerboard.com/RB751U-2HnD
 
remezen
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:12 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:29 am

Hm, what does it have to do with my problem? Nothing, I think. PoE off on all ports.
 
spawnhell
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 11:52 pm

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Fri Feb 10, 2012 11:53 am

Well. I have tested E171 and E173 on RB751.
It worked well. Havent noticed such problems as yours.
I think there might be problem with power at USB port at this model.
So i'm just suggesting to test it on similar equipment.
 
remezen
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:12 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:07 pm

Well, to tell you the truth my initial idea was:
We take 2 rb750up, one is powered via another and handles 3G connection. When 3G modem hangs up (they do from time to time, according to forum), "master" rb750up reboots the other, with a simple scheduled script.
I know that the one with 3G can be Rb411/Rb751. but 750up is smallest and cheapest of those having USB port.

But it's a bad luck - I bricked one during firmware update...

That's how it was supposed to look like:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by remezen on Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.
 
User avatar
janisk
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6283
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:46 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:28 pm

well, in case you wonder if it is somehow connected to USB, then you can plug anything else in the port to see how it works. We have not seen any problems regarding USB port. it gives around 5V and definitely can supply 500mA required on USB 2.0 port

so send that supout rif, so we can see what we can uncover about the issue.
 
remezen
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:12 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Fri Feb 10, 2012 12:31 pm

so send that supout rif
I did! 2 hours ago, Ticket#2012021066000206.

UPD: it's been working for 2 hours since then... And now again - hung up... :(
 
spawnhell
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 11:52 pm

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:07 pm


UPD: it's been working for 2 hours since then... And now again - hung up... :(
What power supply do you use? Oryginal?
 
remezen
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:12 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Fri Feb 10, 2012 1:56 pm

Yes, but I tried 2 different (12v and 24v) - same thing
 
remezen
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:12 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Fri Feb 10, 2012 3:36 pm

Ha! Caught it on video, please, see if it can help understand something...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9xhtU40eWEQ
 
remezen
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:12 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:45 pm

Hello, janisk, any news on this?
 
remezen
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 7:12 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:25 am

5.13 did not fix it... :(
 
Begetan
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:49 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:09 pm

remezen

I've got stupid Megafon too :) But on completely different configuration RB411UAHR and PCI-e modem Sierra Wireles.
I found that all "freezing" problem is due to incorrect handling of 3G modem errors by ROS.
Mikrotik sent ATH command if caught en error in connection.
Modern 3G Modem do nothing when recieve ATH command, just reply OK.

For huawei modems works AT+CHUP

For Siera Wireless nor ATH, or AT+CHUP works, only AT!GRESET actualy restart connection, and sometimes interface enable only can helps.
Here is my script for check and restart 3G modem
/system script
add name=ppp-restart source=":local iface;\r\
    \n:foreach i in=[/interface find type=\"ppp-out\"]  do={\r\
    \n    :set iface [/interface get \$i name];\r\
    \n    /interface ppp-client monitor \$i once do={\r\
    \n        :if (\$status!=\"connected\") do={  \r\
    \n            /interface disable \$iface;\r\
    \n            :delay 5s;\r\
    \n            :log info \"ppp-watch status: \$status,  restarted: \$iface\";\r\
    \n            /interface enable  \$iface;\r\
    \n           }\r\
    \n    :log info \"ppp-watch status: \$status\";  \r\
    \n    }\r\
    \n}\r\
    \n"
 
MrYan
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 6:13 pm

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Wed May 09, 2012 11:25 am

I've had a similar problem for the first time with my RB750UP and 3G modem. All the Ethernet LEDs were out so I had no connectivity to the device and had to power cycle it. It's been running for a couple of months without issue before this.

No supout.rif file created automatically so I've generated one and sent to support.


Matt.
 
akkula
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:14 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Thu May 10, 2012 12:55 pm

Same problem with my RB751G when using 3G modem. But router not hang completely some function disappears, interface table is empty. Reboot, shutdown commands don't work. Only recycle power helped. I notice that problem occur when signal of modem is weak or lost.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3426
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Thu May 10, 2012 6:58 pm

could you check the datasheet of the usb modem, what is the power consumption for 3g and for 2g?
On the RB751G, does it happen the same problem if you disable the wireless interface on RB751G and use that 3g modem?
 
akkula
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:14 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Thu May 10, 2012 10:14 pm

Hmm, Yes, it happen frequently when i increase TX power to 25dbm. I shall try to find spec. I found the same problem if i connect with large usb cable to 3g, it always hang instantly, need to reconnect power to bring in working condition. I have maked supout.rif if needed...
 
MrYan
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 6:13 pm

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Fri May 11, 2012 9:54 am

The best information I can find on the 3G modem I have (ZTE MF626) is that it draws 100mA idle and maximum of 450mA however it doesn't break it down between 2G and 3G.

http://www.3gmodem.com.hk/ZTE/MF626.html


Matt.
 
akkula
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 3:14 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Sat May 12, 2012 1:03 am

I sure it is not power issue, i upgraded latest, and checkout "dial on demand" from PPP tab. Now if 3g signal lost, router not hang any more, but couldnot connect to modem, need to reconnect usb to work again.
 
kikirfsupplier
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:35 am

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:38 am

Very boring ,see all the connections are connected ,but it is very very slow to open the web page :(
 
adeelkml
just joined
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:27 pm

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Thu Jan 10, 2013 1:36 am

 
Ehman
Member
Member
Posts: 363
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 10:49 pm

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Sat Jun 28, 2014 10:35 pm

I've got the exact same issue with 3 of my RB750UP's, did anyone managed to fix this issue?

I've tested it on all versions of ros, no luck... the stuff is unstable

and I'm using K3772-Z dongles
 
solelunauno
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 7:00 pm
Location: Roseto Capo Spulico CS Italy
Contact:

Re: RB750UP + 3G USB = freezes completely

Sun Nov 02, 2014 7:20 pm

I had the same problem with 750UP and 3G modem. Does anyone find any solution or justification to this strange behavior? My 750UP put all leds on and lost any eth connection, but I lost it completely!
It doesn't restart with power cycle; always all leds on and no eth connection!
I'm able to do netinstall with success. However, when rebooting after netinstall, router returns in previous state (all leds lit and no eth). :(
SL1 Systems srl MTCNA MTCRE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests