Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
bhorrock
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:47 pm

RB2011L-IN not responding (DOA?)

Sun Jun 10, 2012 7:01 pm

Looking for suggestions since my new RB2011L-IN is basically non-responsive. An RB751G purchased at the same time works perfectly.

Power light - Solid
Link lights - flash once within 1s of power
FastEthernet ports do not show link (even when attached computer is forced to 100 or 10 Mbit)
Gigabit ports show link activity from attached PC and Mac computers
Connected systems go to zeroconf IPs (even when attached computer is forced to 100 or 10 Mbit)

Holding the RESET button during power up (for up to 5 minutes) does not cause the "LED to starts flashing" per the manual.

System does not show up in NetInstall. Although I suspect that I'd have to use the RESET button to force PXE but given it doesn't behave as documented I think this might be possible.

Suggestions?
 
LennonNZ
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:09 am

Re: RB2011L-IN not responding (DOA?)

Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:05 am

Looking for suggestions since my new RB2011L-IN is basically non-responsive. An RB751G purchased at the same time works perfectly.
I received a 2011L-IN with exactly the same problem as you described.

I had to reset it (with the little reset switch) before it started working.

Maybe a common problem???
 
bhorrock
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: RB2011L-IN not responding (DOA?)

Wed Jun 13, 2012 7:16 pm

The reset button didn't do it for me and the reseller asked that I return the unit for replacement.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB2011L-IN not responding (DOA?)

Thu Jun 14, 2012 8:48 am

Looking for suggestions since my new RB2011L-IN is basically non-responsive. An RB751G purchased at the same time works perfectly.
I received a 2011L-IN with exactly the same problem as you described.

I had to reset it (with the little reset switch) before it started working.

Maybe a common problem???
Are you sure you used port 2-10 to connect, not port 1, which is firewalled? Your problem sounds slightly different than in the original post, as bhorrock wasn't able to reset it.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
LennonNZ
just joined
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:09 am

Re: RB2011L-IN not responding (DOA?)

Sat Jun 16, 2012 3:09 pm


Are you sure you used port 2-10 to connect, not port 1, which is firewalled? Your problem sounds slightly different than in the original post, as bhorrock wasn't able to reset it.
I had no Link at all on the FE ports when anything was plugged in to when I got the Router . GE Ports came up but could not talk to the router in anyway until I hard reset it via the reset button inside.
 
User avatar
sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6624
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Riga, Latvia
Contact:

Re: RB2011L-IN not responding (DOA?)

Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:07 am

Holding the RESET button during power up (for up to 5 minutes) does not cause the "LED to starts flashing" per the manual.
System does not show up in NetInstall. Although I suspect that I'd have to use the RESET button to force PXE but given it doesn't behave as documented I think this might be possible.
Suggestions?
My suggestion is to hold reset button before power is applied.
Hold reset button and apply the power, hold for 5-20 seconds and release. There is no reason to hold reset button for 5 minutes.

Make sure Ethernet cable is connected to Ether1 of RB2011 and Netinstall uses correct configuration on computer (netbooting IP address, firewall, etc.).
 
bassist
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 4:33 pm

Re: RB2011L-IN not responding (DOA?)

Fri Jun 29, 2012 4:39 pm

Yeah, I had the exact same issue.

* Powered on the RB2011
* Plugged into Eth1 -> Eth5 = Port lit up (still cannot ping the default IP)
* Plugged into Eth6 -> Eth10 = Port did not light up

Tried cycling power, nothing.

* Powered down RB2011
* Plugged cable into Eth6
* All Port activity lights flashed twice
* Eth6 Port lit up properly
* Can ping default IP on Eth6 (any port works now)

I had the issue originally, but I upgraded the firmware to 5.18 and it didn't seem to come back, but it just did!

Seems to be a sporadic problem with the Fast Ethernet chip bugging out or something weird.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB2011L-IN not responding (DOA?)

Mon Jul 02, 2012 11:10 am

I had the issue originally, but I upgraded the firmware to 5.18 and it didn't seem to come back, but it just did!
Once it comes up, use the opportunity to upgrade to v5.19 which fixes the issue. Download link:
http://www.mikrotik.com/download/share/ ... .19rc1.npk
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
bassist
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 4:33 pm

Re: RB2011L-IN not responding (DOA?)

Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:51 pm

It looks like 5.19rc1 comes with routerboard firmware 2.41

Any word on what changes are in this over 2.40?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24608
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: RB2011L-IN not responding (DOA?)

Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:52 pm

The above mentioned bug fix where the RB2011 could not start in some cases.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
bassist
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 4:33 pm

Re: RB2011L-IN not responding (DOA?)

Tue Jul 03, 2012 3:13 pm

Awesome, thanks normis!
 
captainproton
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:01 pm

Re: RB2011L-IN not responding (DOA?)

Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:28 pm

I bought a RB2011L.
Turned it on, uploaded RouterOS 6.4 and found myself stuck in the same situation as described above.

Afer a reset I can access the router, but after a reboot it is dead again.

downgrading to RouterOS 5.26 has not made any difference.

What can I do? Request RMA?
 
captainproton
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 3:01 pm

Re: RB2011L-IN not responding (DOA?)

Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:45 pm

ohh... I just upgraded routerOS again from 5.26 to 6.4 and now it survives reboots or pulling the plug.

... and then I found the hint in the forum to also upgrade routerboot to 3.09.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests