Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
jober
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:16 pm
Location: Louisiana,USA

RB411 Capacitor replacement

Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:51 pm

I have around 30 bad RB411 boards. Some have bad Capacitors so I changed them out with 680 6.3v caps. The replaced caps were 560 6.3v.
Will this cause any damage or odd problems with the boards I have repaired with the 680 caps?
 
taduikis
Member
Member
Posts: 427
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 12:09 pm

Re: RB411 Capacitor replacement

Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:47 pm

Absolutely not at all.
 
guipoletto
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 5:31 am

Re: RB411 Capacitor replacement

Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:33 am

In fact, all the units with 560*6.3 caps will at some time stop working... new units ships with 680*6,3 caps, so it was certainly subdimensioned. when it becomes to PSU-filtering caps, the more the better...
 
frankie
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 9:45 pm

Re: RB411 Capacitor replacement

Thu Aug 30, 2012 1:04 am

I had replaced on 8 different boards (RB411, RB411AH, RB433, RB433AH, RB333, RB600, RB750, RB750G) the 560uF/6.3V capacitors by Rubycon MBZ 820uF/6.3V. All works more than 6-12 month without problems.
 
meshnet
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 6:57 pm

Re: RB411 Capacitor replacement

Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:58 pm

We are replacing these almost 10-20 a week these days.. Texas heat,
bad caps don't mix.. really costs me a lot of money. We just go ahead
and refurb them with all new caps (3-4 or so on the 411 )

Richard
 
User avatar
karina
Member
Member
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:18 am
Location: Spain

Re: RB411 Capacitor replacement

Mon Sep 10, 2012 4:37 am

I have successsfully reparied a faulty RB1000. the unit was locking up with no access. a power cycle fixed it for a day or two. I replaced the unit and was about to bin it when I read posts about the bad caps. Sure enough it had swollen caps of the green and gold type. Replaced all four caps on the board and is now running 100%
 
npyoung
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2004 2:40 am
Location: Applegate, OR, USA
Contact:

Re: RB411 Capacitor replacement

Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:32 am

So, what are the run times on these boards before problems emerge? I'm seeing boards fail right at 4 years in service...but I don't know that this is the problem. My RB411's fail but still power up as far as lights go, but no ethernet, no boot. Anyone know when MT changed the design and started using better/bigger caps? Or do I get to look forward to replacing all my MT stuff?
 
User avatar
karina
Member
Member
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 2:18 am
Location: Spain

Re: RB411 Capacitor replacement

Wed Sep 19, 2012 11:19 am

My RB 1000 worked for almost 3 years before the caps failed however I have had a RB333 fail within a week of service so there is no timescale. If your boards have these caps they will fail there is just no telling when. Hence I do not take the gamble and swap caps before deployment. It seems there are still a lot of Boards with these caps in circulation as I have just received another RB433 from my supplier with the them on board. Honestly, if you can use a soldering iron it takes minutes to swap them, replacement caps are only a few cents each. Much cheaper that returning them to the supplier.

I use Nippon Chemi-Con 820uf/6,3V 105ºC caps from http://www.diyaudio.es None of these have failed as yet.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests