Community discussions

 
syadnom
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 7:29 am

rb751u flash maxing out CPU help

Mon Sep 10, 2012 10:36 pm

I have a number of rb751u units acting as branch routers. Every now and then a unit will start hitting flash really hard and max the CPU. This continues until the unit is rebooted. This makes it very difficult to access the unit remotely and often requires on-site staff to unplug the unit.

There are no disk using services, no proxy, no graphing stored on disk, no logging to disk, nothing. The profiler only says 'flash'.

would be nice to have a profiler with more details to identify what is actually causing the issues.

any ideas?
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1821
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: rb751u flash maxing out CPU help

Tue Sep 11, 2012 4:51 am

This issue has been complained about in:

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=63537
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=65419
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=58926

and exists on at least RB750GL, RB750UP, RB751 and RB2011 from our experiences.

I am working with Mikrotik support on this, please log a ticket with them by emailing support@mikrotik.com and attach a supout.rif created around the time the problem is occurring.

The more people that provide them with supout.rif's the faster they should be able to find the problem.
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
User avatar
jhheider
newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 5:04 pm

Re: rb751u flash maxing out CPU help

Tue Sep 11, 2012 8:27 pm

This problem has existed for many months. Disabling SNMP obviates most of the problem. Sadly, that makes these routers not production-ready.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3425
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: rb751u flash maxing out CPU help

Wed Sep 12, 2012 1:39 pm

This problem has existed for many months. Disabling SNMP obviates most of the problem. Sadly, that makes these routers not production-ready.
disabling SNMP solves the flash process and reboot problem on RB751u?
 
User avatar
jhheider
newbie
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 5:04 pm

Re: rb751u flash maxing out CPU help

Wed Sep 12, 2012 4:09 pm

This problem has existed for many months. Disabling SNMP obviates most of the problem. Sadly, that makes these routers not production-ready.
disabling SNMP solves the flash process and reboot problem on RB751u?
Dramatically improves it, yes.

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 26&start=0

I have had many open tickets on these issues, going back over 9 months, most of which are listed in that thread. None of them has resolved, and I won't purchase or deploy any RB751* until they are. It's frustrating, after we waited on months of slipped deadlines, that a year after release these devices still don't work properly.
 
uldis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 3425
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:55 pm

Re: rb751u flash maxing out CPU help

Wed Sep 12, 2012 5:49 pm

we will try to check about the snmp problem on RB751. Are you monitoring your routers SNMP using the dude or any other tool?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests